We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed again in this hotel for 1 week - not because we like itso much but because the location is just fantastic. Together with the Riu Oliva Beach these two hotels are located directly on the Grandes Playas where the sea is beautiful and perfect to swim in and the beach simply perfect. Distance to Corralejo approx 7 km, bus station near by, by taxi approx 7-9 Euros.

The hotel is old and in urgent need for a thorough renovation. The elevators are small and rattly, WLAN was broken one day and on the others extremely slow. It is available only in the lobby, there it is free. The sliding door to the balcony in our room could not be locked, information to the reception brought no result. They charge 25 Euros per week for the safe in the room, which I find is outrageous, a deposit of valuables at reception is not possible. Breakfast and dinner buffet are good.

Riu is regularly increasing the prices and on the same time pushing down service features.
With the exception of 2 or 3 staff members at reception, staff in general is very friendly and really makes an effort.

Most of the guests are "regulars" and have long reached their pension age.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Very nice Hotel, right on the beach, great buffet breakfast & dinner, very friendly staff and left surprise birthday treats in the room for our daughter, she was wowed. On the negative we had very poor weather, first couple of days were ok but turned ugly and quite cold, wet and very windy, we expected the wind but not this strong, hired a car but nothing much to see, very desolate island, even with the rain nothing was blooming, the 'attractions' were very poor, local lave tube closed and looked like it had been for some time, the local Aqua 'Fun' Park was also closed and in a rusty state, the rest of the island is bare and bleak, not a lot to see or do, nearby town of Corralejo is probably the best place to visit, nice seafront bars and restaurants, you can walk from the hotel and when the weather is nice a pleasant walk, a bus ride back, great for kite surfers and the wind made it a joy for them, sadly not for us.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the beach.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Beautiful hotel in normal RIU Palace style rooms werte excellent and the whole place kept constantly spotless.
Helpful smiling faces on Reception which was the fastest I have experienced I had the keys and documentation before I had finished my Cava!!
Top Class food in an uncluttered and well set out restaurant which was run to a very high standard by Maitre'd Bernardo who checked with evereyone "every night"!! The atmousphere, food and service however in the Krystal Restaurant needs "a bit of work!" - it was nowhere near the standard of the same restaurants in Mexico and the Carribean.
Entertainment was to a good standard and the resident duo Paloma were very proficient and very entertaining.
The bar service was an excellent team effort led proficiently by Diego
The return taxi to Corralejo was around 12 euros and well worth a few trips to the shops, restaurants and bars - especially around the old harbour.
All in all a great holiday hotel and destination where I would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshburnStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The official rating for this hotel is 4 star and it's certainly a good quality one - not sure though how it rates the 5T given by Thomson Holidays. Lovely comfortable seating in the reception area which is popular due to the wi-fi access. Plenty of other seating around both inside and out of the building and we had no problems finding sunbeds by the pool. Couldn't always find a seat in the piano bar in the evenings however the bar in the entertainment room is also open most nights. Bedrooms are of a very good size and comfortable - we don't mind a firm mattress. We paid extra to have a sea view room and requested one with afternoon sun which is exactly what we got - thank you reception. Nice touch having bottle of wine and fruit in the bedroom on arrival. We were on half board and whilst there was a good variety of food options, the quality was not always the best. Some dishes were quite bland and items we had found previously in other similar 4 star hotels were missing e.g. mushrooms, hash browns from breakfast; potato and coleslaw type salads from the evening buffet. A couple of other minor points we noticed were the lack of little biscuits with coffees and bowl of nibbles with bar drinks. The hotel is a couple of miles from Corralejo (a rather commercial resort which is not to our taste) and there is a bus every half an hour from the end of the access road which costs 1.40 euros per person. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel in a quiet spot with access to beautiful beaches then this may well suit your requirements.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rossian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed for two weeks, being Riu members for twenty years, surprised at the naf room we were allocated initially, overlooking wasteland and sewerage station at front. We were asked for 500 Euros to upgrade, dug our heels in, and threatened to write to Riu upon our return, ended up with better room overlooking island of Lobos. All meat meals were usually second class, until we complained again, next day suckling pig. Being an avid swimmer, suprised at how cold the 'heated' pool was, which sadly I only used three times, very quickly. Mad when you think how easily it would be to solar heat. Pool sparsly used by residents. All in all; O K, but sadly could not help but get the feeling, not as good as it used to be !!??

Room Tip: It depends if you like sun in your room or not. The hotel is an L shape, and depending on the time o...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Stayed for a week late Jan. early Feb. Every thing excellent. Buffet, had a wide choice of food at breakfast and at evening meal. Drinks at the bar and at the table were good & not over priced. Bathroom had a combined shower & bath this was ok as the bath sides were not too high so was not difficult to climb in & out of. This has been a problem in other hotels.
The hotel has lots of sun loungers round the pools. No difficulty getting a few rays.
The hotel is several kilometres from Corralejo but has a regular bus service. The surrounding area is made up of an extensive stretch of sand dunes.
Corralejo is a pleasant town with lots of bars & restaurants.
All in all an excellent stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed for a week half board late Jan early Feb. booked a sea view room which was worth it, but would also suggest asking for a room on a high floor. The hotel sits like a ship in terms of its shape and is surrounded by a beautiful beach and sand dunes. It really is stunning. Sitting alongside another Riu hotel there is nothing for miles around which makes it idyllic and was just what we needed. It is a 90 minute walk around the beach to Corralejo or 8 Euros in a cab. We went in once but were disappointed as it looked a bit tired and tacky, what with piles of bars, restaurants and cheap gift shops. The Hotel had everything we needed. The food was excellent, the pools and availability of loungers first class and there was pretty standard entertainment and a cocktail bar. The rooms and balconies were nice and the service around the hotel first class. We used the Fusion restaurant one night which was free for guests and really nice. There are 2 sittings for dinner which I was a bit disappointed with but it seemed to work and we changed our times on 2 occasions. If you are looking for a bit of beach, lounging, eating and drinking in a nice setting then this is it. Came home very chilled indeed and would recommend

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jimjackie1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
957 reviews
2.4 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,367 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#8 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: £153 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing