We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hotel, but needs a facelift” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but needs a facelift”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Whilst over the water in Playa Blanca last September, a friend of mine, i met there suggested that the hotel you can see in Correlejo was a definite notch up on the Timanfaya Palace. So with that in mind Bartdog & Wife booked up the Riu Tres Islas. We got back yesterday after a 7 day stay at this 4 star Palace hotel. Its really a tough one to sum up, but i agree with so many comments from the Tres Islas reviews. Our first impressions (after a really poor arrival transfer from Thomsons - more on that later) were really positive, good welcome at the hotel, a little surprised at the chargeable safe (20 Euros a week) but the welcoming glass of bubbly seemed to make amends!! in line with all our stays i contacted the hotel by email to request a high floor with a good sea view as paid for. - must admit, i didn't get a reply. Heres the first mistake, as we arrived late on Saturday night, we only realised at the end of Day 2 that rooms with a Sea View (towards Los lobos & Lanzarote) have a fantastic sea view, but absolutely no sunshine all day. Best rooms for sun & sea view overlook the pool & sunbed areas.
I agree, some of the corridor carpets leave a lot to be desired, but in our opinion the hotel is spotlessly clean. True the hotel is a bit tired, but its maintained well & we had no complaints with any maintenance issues.
I have to admit, I'm just over 60, but this hotel seems to attract many much older German guests (the majority) no problem here, because many German guests always indicate a good hotel. But the entertainment is really caught in a time warp, Chinese acrobats, and a really poor Piano Bar singer, who wouldn't last 5 mins in the UK, are really poor in a hotel of this class.
Pool areas were spotlessly clean, and so many sun beds available, your spoilt for choice. The food in the restaurant is very good quality, and i must say the restaurant staff, waiters, waitresses were the most polite we have ever met. Its been reported of weak wifi, but i think this may had been fixed, as i was able to get wifi internet radio on my phone in the pool / sunbed areas with no problem.
In conclusion, its a excellent hotel, but i think Riu need to consider giving it facelift - location is stunning - would we go back again? probably, but i'll keep an eye on these reviews before making a decision>>
ps - Thomsons transfer arrangements leave a lot to be desired. We were put on 2 different coaches (ending up in a German coach, with no English commentary) Real issues here ,as UK guests on the buses, had no safety issues explained to them on the journey to the hotel.
Bartdog

Room Tip: Rooms facing north - towards Lanzarote have no sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bartdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    466
    118
    23
    15
See reviews for
296
932
72
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We booked this hotel specifically for its isolated location and star rating and were not disappointed with either.
Isolated in the sense that it is not surrounded by bars and souvenir shops, those are easily accessed via the No.6 bus to Corralejo for 1.40 euros, get off at the watermark stop and stroll down the main shopping street to the harbour. The beaches on either side of the hotel are idyllic and in one case naturist (so beware if you are easily offended my ancient Europeans exposing their assets).
The 4 star rating of the hotel is justified by the accommodation standards, restaurant food choice and service and the overall presentation of the hotels facilities.
The rooms are airy and have balconies, we did pay extra for a sea view, have all the in room facilities that you would expect, minibar, room safe (at an extra charge), well appointed bathroom, balcony furniture etc. My wife asked for a mattress topper as the beds are quite hard, this was supplied immediately and with a smile. The room servicing department cannot be praised highly enough, our room was serviced very efficiently.
The main restaurant has a lovely terrace on which you can enjoy an extensive buffet breakfast. Unfortunately the German guests who smoke, and there seem to be quite umber of them, all congregate here for breakfast too which means you can find yourself downwind of fag smoke which is awful and I am surprised the hotel tolerates.
The restaurant divides up the dinner service into 2 “sittings” in the winter at 6pm and 8 pm (6.30 pm and 8.30pm in the summer). You are assigned a table for the duration of your stay and drinks are charged to your room account. The selection, quality and quantity of food available was very good and the buffet style service is good once you get the hang of it.
The pool areas is extensive, clean and well furnished with sun beds. Despite the hotel rules, which are clearly marked both around the pool and in the rooms, the old spectre of reserving sun beds by draping towels over them at dawn still goes on. There is a new twist to this old habit in that nowadays small plastic tables are also placed on the sun beds to reserve them as well!
I suppose you cannot change a national trait just by posting a rule against it but it can be annoying and does lose the hotel a point or two for not enforcing their own rules. There is a perfect little area behind the Wellness Centre which has a dozen sun beds around a Jacuzzi with windows overlooking the sea and the beach. Perfect if you can get there and grab a space, see picture.
We travelled with Thomson Holidays and the flights and transfers all worked well, despite being very cramped on a full return flight. The in hotel representative adopted indifference attitude to information that didn’t earn any commission, perhaps Thomson should consider having these reps available on arrival at the hotel to explain things that you have to find out for yourself before the “welcome meeting” which seems to be no more than an excursion selling opportunity.
We knew what we wanted from the holiday and so the tour operator was no more than a means to an end.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable holiday in a very good hotel that does exactly what it says on it’s website.
It was my wife’s birthday during our stay and the hotel had arranged flowers in our room at my request but also presented her with a bottle of Cava on the day from their own initiative, impressive and thoughtful.

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for a guaranteed sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank montysbestmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We just returned from a week in 'The Tres'. The location is idyllic. The hotel is set right on the beach in the sweeping dunes of the Parc natural. It's a quick bus ride or a longish walk into the tourist port of Corralejo for excursions and shopping. FV has beautiful volcanic landscapes and it's worth exploring.
The hotel is a good 4 star establishment. It has a 5 Thompson 'T' rating but shouldn't be confused with 5 stars. The rooms are large and comfortable and each has a private balcony. The decor is a little dated, but the rooms are scrupulously clean. The staff are always efficient and friendly. The hotel has a spa, a small gym and 2 large outside pools (one's heated, one's not) with ample seating around them. We had our pick of the place, but I Imagine it would be much more crowded in peak season.
The buffet style breakfasts & dinner services are always plentiful & varied. There is fresh local produce alongside some of the more traditional pasta / pizza buffet choices. The staff in the restaurants are always very attentive and friendly. I would agree with other reviewers that the fine dining restaurant downstairs is not worth paying for, but as you get a free visit included in your stay it's worth checking out.
The Thompson rep was available but not pushy. The airport transfers were all stress free. It was a lovely stay in a well appointed establishment.
The only negatives I would comment on are that WiFi is only available in the hotel lobby, and is very slow and patchy. I really think WiFi should be available in the rooms in a hotel of this calibre. The evening entertainment in the bars was on the Stilton side of cheesy, but the older patrons were up and waltzing away, so perhaps they know their audience! You can always hop a cab into Corralejo if you want better bars & clubs.
We had a great time here and would not hesitate to recommend it. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, but I think the sea view would be nice (however, we were told this would cost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We enjoyed a week's stay in this luxuriously appointed hotel which enjoys a stunning location in the beautiful parque natural near Corralejo. It is a short distance from the town and port, easily reachable by bus or even walking across the sands (good exercise). Much about this hotel justifies the 5 star designation given to it by the tour operators, but the hotel has managed to disappoint in a few areas. Reluctantly we mark it down for setting 5 star expectations and then failing to meet them in a few key areas. If you choose to see this as a very good 4 star and have paid 4 star prices you should not be disappointed.

Rooms are nicely furnished and to a good standard. All have a private balcony and most offer an excellent view of the surrounding beaches. There are many areas for relaxation inside and out, all very comfortable, and with prompt and friendly service from staff. The hotel has a separate nightclub for evening entertainment which varied from interesting and novel to a bit pedestrian. There is a spa, and the extensive sandy beaches are a few steps away. The main restaurant works on the usual buffet style and there is also an a la carte restuarant that can be pre-booked at no extra charge. The food in the main restaurant is excellent with a wide choice and good quality ingredients.

There are a few issues where the hotel does not meet 5 star standards. For the buffet restaurant you must choose between a 6pm or 8pm sitting and an assigned table. In this class of hotel we expect (within reason) to eat dinner when we like, and sit where we like. We do not expect the hotel to decide this for us (presumably to suit the management's convenience). The a la carte restaurant operates a similar system of sittings - although having arrived on time, 20 minutes passed before our order was taken. Unfortunately the food did not match up to the fine dining expectation the restaurant sets: overcooked fish, odd menu combinations, etc.

We also expect a 5 star room to provide bathrobes and good quality complimentary toiletries. These were, respectively, missing and cheap. Free WiFi service is available only in the reception area and we found this to be infuriatingly slow, patchy, and unreliable.

Lest we appear unduly fussy, it has to be said that these things are tolerable in a 4 star hotel (we would have rated 5/5) but annoying when you've booked and been led to expect 5 star, and that leads us to rate 3/5. Some of these things the hotel could fix relatively easily.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichardMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and i stayed in this hotel several times many years ago. We are looking to stay again here later in the year. Just hope the pool bar pina coladas are still as yummy :) We stayed in a suit . These have the most amazing views. 4th floor.(i think)

Room Tip: Fourth floor suits are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel from 26 Feb until 5 March 2014 in Room 227 which is on the second floor with Sea View over the garden and pools. Hotel is right on the beach which is of very fine yellow sand. Quite amazing when the rest of the island is brown desert and hills. Our only problem was the isolation of the hotel. There is a small Supermarket 10 minutes walk away close to the other Riu hotel. The Bus Stop is also there. So it is easy to catch a bus every half hour into Correlajo or down to the capital Rossario. Neither are attractive being Ferry Ports with some restaurants tacked on. We like to walk from the hotel but there is no promenade only the beach which due to it being very fine sand is difficult to walk on particularly if you are on the elderly side as we are. Taxi's are about 8 Euros into Corralejo so not too expensive. Apart from that we had an excellent holiday and strongly recommend it in every way. There is a "no booking sun beds" which is mainly accepted by the guests (who were mainly English and German) and plenty available when we were there. Staff are great, the food is great, room was large and very clean with good size bathroom and shower. Choice of restaurants in the evening with an a-la carte if you book before hand . Times are 6pm and 8 pm for both restaurants and whilst we were not keen to start with the policy on food is Quality not Quantity and splitting the times of eating give the staff times to replenish all dishes and show cooking areas with fresh food. Plentiful supply of everything. There are two outside bars/food places during the day until 6pm. Brilliant place for a get away from it all holiday. One other thing if you find the beds too hard they will supply one of the new soft tops to put on the mattress. We got this and they were superb.

Room Tip: Choose sea view as the rooms overlooking the desert can be quite windy and shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooter402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Perfectly located with lovely beach walks right on the doorstep. Kite beach one direction and the amazing dunes in the other.Great for jogging!
All staff friendly and efficient. Food very good at breakfast and dinner.
Contrary to some othe reviews, we did not find the hotel worn out, just lived in. However, the function lounge bar is dingy and unwelcoming.
Our room on the 5th floor faced the dunes and had a partial sea view of Kite beach. Also we had afternoon sun and saw some great sunsets.
Pool area was good with adequate space.
Location was amazing.
The only down side, and its a big one is the entertainment. It is dire! The piano bar would be better without a pianist (or he could maybe just play and not "sing"). The acts in the lounge bar were dreadful. Our best form of entertainment was " admiring" the opal fruit colours of the German gentlemens trousers!

Room Tip: High floor facing dunes, sea view and no supplement although some hum from desalination plant Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nippy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#5 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
21.8 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Address: Avda Grandes Playas | Corralejo - Fuerteventura, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located 5 km from Corralejo * Renovated in summer 2007 * 5-storey building * Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach * 5 km from various shops * 35 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tres Islas Hotel Corralejo
Riu Palace Tres Islas Corralejo
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing