We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stomach Bug!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Having just returned from a 7 night stay at the Oliva Beach and reading other peoples reviews it seems members of my family were not the only ones to have suffered a sickness bug! When we arrived the hotel was nice,clean and smart, albeit a bit isolated,fabulous beach and sea.The food was presented very nice but sadly was luke warm and as the week went on was very repetative.After 2 days my brother in law was taken ill with diarrhoea and spent the next 36 hours feeling very poorly,thankfully he recovered so we could go out on our planned trips.We had a problem when going to Oasis Park because the hotel is the last pick-up so when the bus arrived it was full! the driver said another would be here in 5 mintues,45 mintues later a mini bus arrived which was not bigger enough and a couple of people sadly got left behind.The holiday finally over we arrived back early hours thursday morning and 12 hours later my husband was violently sick and suffering with diarrhoea! We have been holiday aboard as a family for a few years and this is the 1st time any of us has suffered with any sickness/diarrhoea.On reading other peoples reviews i find it very annoying that the Thomsons rep and hotel staff was aware of this problem.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lozza29324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,379 - 1,385 of 3,879 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just returned from a lovely break at the riu oliva beach amazing views we have stayed at many riu hotels our room was cleaned every day fresh clean sheets & towels. The food was lovely well cooked and hot plenty available entertainment tho wasn't good was a let down for a riu.. The hotel was very clean. We had a room with sea view which was amazing. Breakfast lunch & dinner is Buffett style with plenty for everyone. If you want wifi be aware this is chargeable & this is only available in reception which I think if you have to pay for wifi this should be available all over hotel including your room. Also if you have stayed in a riu hotel you will know that they used to supply bottles of water but they have stopped this at the riu oliva beach. Please be aware you have to buy your own water nowif you to go in to correlljo it's €6.60 taxi or bus is cheaper but we just got a taxi . Ignore the bad reviews on this hotel the food was good plenty of it plenty of drinks to chose from alcohol or cocktails this was all part of all inclusive amazing views & a beautiful beach you would think you are in the Caribbean. We have stayed at many riu hotels would definitely return

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a sea view although your requests cannot be granted but no harm in asking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snugglebum18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Yes, the beach and views are wonderful but this tired and smelly hotel relies on the location and the hard work of the customer facing staff as it has nothing else to offer.

A nasty tummy bug hit me on the second day and my husband the day after. Also ill following eating rancid butter from the poolside bar. Initially thought the cheese tasted "blue" and realized too late it was the butter. Very sick. The food was at best tepid. Recipe for disaster, and also repetitive.

The constant smell of sewage around the hotel and the whole pool area in particular was absolutely vile.

The entertainment was awful. We escaped the main shows in the evening as the team were miming. The magic acts were so poor they were embarrassing. The other smaller bar had the odd act. All ridiculously out of date. One singing couple were laughable. He was supposedly playing the keyboard but it was clearly not live as he wasn't moving his fingers in sync. The songs were from the early 70's, often ending in cha cha cha!

Our balcony had serious cracks in the floor and above in the ceiling. The maids were the noisiest I've heard anywhere.

Pull this hotel down before it falls down!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Azura49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

When booking this hotel, be careful as the pics don't match the holiday. the twin room you are shown on the Thomson web page is the hotel.. but under it says you will be in the annexe.The annexe is a bit like Butlins with sun,
I booked a break away with my girlfriend as i have been to the hotel before and had a nice time, but on arrival this time i was told i was in the annexe. Not only was i shocked, but many couples we talked to also thought they had booked the hotel, only to be put in the annexe.
We went to our room and opened the door,, to what i think was a swarm of fruit flies, which really seems to like the room, on the other hand i thought the inbetweeners room in the film was a few stars better
It was open plan in the fact that there was no upstairs floor, you walked upstairs where you had two single stained beds and a sort of wall that you could look over, or jump if things got that bad. The bathroom window was hanging off, the bath had rust in it, and a hole that seemed to been patched up with white sealer.. most light bulbs did't work, or the fitting was broken.. in all the room was shabby and dirty and thinking that i was on a four star all inclusive holiday i sort of went mad and lost the plot..i have honestly stayed in cleaner hostels.
So with out anything to loose, only my very dirty room..I called the Thompson hotline that i had on the paper stuff that i downloaded, and printed off at work, that i thought i would never need. lesson to be had there..and got through to a very nice women who said someone would call me back in five mins.
They did this, and to the poor sole on the other end of the phone, i explained my problem, with many fruity and colourful words on how i think i had been had over, and that i thought i was in the hotel and now i seemed to be in a prisoner of war camp.. the pics did't show me this.they showed me a nice twin room in the hotel...with carpets and lights
She was helpful and said sit tight and she will get right back to me, so after doing some DIY and killing a few flies the hotel called and said they had two rooms for us to look at, so away we went on our middle of the night journey, forgot to say we arrived at nine in the evening
Room one was a very small room with a very nice view of an alleyway. not just any alleyway, the one to the food hall, this came with free smells.and a whole host of new DIY projects that i could take on if i took the room, we agreed to pass on this one..
Room two. this was a lot better,it was clean and tidy although the broken tiles on the steps on the way in could have been a problem,, it was like the Hillton compared to the last two rooms, in fact, it was large enough to ride a bike around.. really it was and the patio was twice the size of the apartment. we was happy with this but i still think that if we had been shown the right pictures on the web page we would have not booked at all.
Things did seem to be looking up and we was told we would be upgraded to the hotel, but after three days we said we are not changing now ,as we had unpacked and settled in to our holiday,
We was offered a room in the hotel on the morning of day three of four but said no... better the devil you know ..
With things going to plan on the room front, things on the food front had taken a turn for the worse, and my girlfriend had what we in Britain call, deli belly..she had this for around two days, and had sickness and just felt rough, i will not say it was food poisoning as i don't know that it was, but we only had food from the hotel, i carried on with the room DIY while she was ill.
We voiced our complaints with the Thomson reps who seemed to be fairly human at times, but that just said sort things out with Thomson when you get home,in a sort of,,, i don't care way
I have complained to Thompson and they did say.. don't call us we will call you... but that was two weeks ago,, so we will just have to see what happens.
I am to this day, which is a month on very bitter about this holiday, when you look at the holiday on the Thompson web page it does says twin room and shows you the hotel, and it does in fact tell you that you will go to the annexe. but it don't show pictures of the annexe as a twin room .i find this to be miss leading and a lie.if i had known i was going to the annexe i would have booked the hotel up the beach for a bit more money.
i did stayed at this hotel last year and had a very nice week. but this year it was a total waste of time.
the annexe is very run down and not my idea of romantic holiday abroad with my girlfriend.
if you are looking to go here please be aware that the top two pictures that state twin room are not the annexe, they are the hotel. and it states in the wording under this..
These rooms are located in the annexe, separate to the main building... pity the picture is wrong.. also there are only three pictures of the annexe on the web page.. strange as its bigger than the hotel.

Room Tip: see view twin room should be a hotel room. don't look at the pics which are the hotel as in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We are recently returned from our second trip to the Oliva Beach and I am pleased to say it was as good this time around as before.
On our first visit we were in the main building in a room that overlooked the back of the hotel and was near the bins, which meant at 4.00am every day we got woken up when they were emptied. To avoid this happening again we had emailed the hotel in advance to ask for a high room with a pool view and were hugely disappointed on checking in to find we were in the annexe rooms. We complained and asked could we be moved to the hotel and were told it wasn’t possible that week as the hotel was full but they would try to move us the following week.
We should have kept quiet because our disappointment was soon quashed when we saw our lovely big room, with separate living area and sun drenched balcony overlooking the annexe pool. We told the reception we no longer wanted to move and the next night there was a bottle of Cava and chocolates in our room because they hadn’t been able to fulfil our request!!

It is true that parts of the hotel are tired and there are chips in the paintwork and broken tiles here and there but you have to remember that you get what you pay for! The small flaws were small and other things like the food, drinks and magnificent staff more than compensated for them.

The dress code in the buffets here is not overly fancy and I felt it was less so in the annexe buffet which caters more for families, so it was nice to dress up a little to try the speciality restaurants – both of which I would recommend. The staff behind the bars work incredibly hard and even at busy times the wait to get served is minimal.

We didn’t go to the main evening entertainment preferring to listen to the occasional live music in the other bar, but the entertainment team during the day kept you as busy as you wanted to be. Sabina’s daily stretching session were a must for us!

The hotel is on a great beach which, if you don’t mind the nudists, is perfect for a long walk and when the wind and waves permit a lovely swim in the clear, if a little cold, sea.

The hotel does however let itself down in charging for Wi-Fi as this should really still be offered for free.

On a last note – several reviewers have commented on the fact that sunbeds are booked from early on. Well yes they are in the prime spots but there were usually beds to be had stacked up until a reasonable time in the morning. If you want to sit somewhere specific I’m afraid you have to play the game and get up early.

It’s a good hotel, with great staff and a fabulous location which we feel is good value for money and I think we’ll be back again next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you found fault with this hotel feel sorry for you.spotless,great staff perfect position right on

beach. Stayed in hotel but apartments looked fine


Variety of food to suit all tastes.

Stayed all inclusive for one week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank junecellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

just spent 2 weeks all inc. excellent value for money, food good, excellent selection of drinks. Staff very friendly, spotlessly clean, stayed in duplex apartment in the annex which was fab. Entertainment leaves a little to be desired, but make your own entertainment. Couldn't ask for better beach anywhere. Take a right turn out of hotel gate and walk about 2 kl along beach to second beach bar and try the calamari sardines and garlic prawns they are to die for with a little bread and a beer mmmmm, Note beach is naturist to the right brilliant try it cheers Dave &Vee

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
5,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,209 reviews
2.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.8 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#8 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: £97 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing