We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Returned to the Oliva Beach for two weeks having spent a week there 18 months ago. I can only say that the holiday met all our expectations and we had a fantastic time.
The staff from reception to the maids were first classs. Very friendly and dedicated to ensuring we had a good holiday.
The food was of the highest standard. Forget the reviews that say the food was repetitive. All hot food is cooked fresh with many choices each night. The buffet starters were excellent and the chefs ensure that they are allways fresh.
The only downside is the evening entertainment. Unless you are seated by 7:30 for the 9:00pm show you will have a very poor view of the stage.Having said that we spent most of the evenings in the bar next to reception where the bar staff were fantastic, thanks Carlo & Enrique. There is live music here four times per week and dancing to CD's on the other nights.
I would recomend the Annexe to the main building. THe rooms are of a good size, very clean and only 4 mins walk to the main building.
Would we return? CERTAINLY.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveler208_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,739)
There are newer reviews for ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,279 - 1,285 of 3,739 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Me and my partner booked this hotel as a last minute holiday. I have previously stayed in a Riu hotel and upon arrival I must say I was disappointed. We arrived around 9pm on the night so after a long journey we went to the buffet to get some food. All the food seemed dried up as if it had been sat their for ages. After this we always tried to go for good as soon as the restaurants opened. The food was very basic; chips, chicken, vege, and toasters. It was the same food everyday. Got a bit bland. We then Went back to the room and we were met by a 'sauna' like environment. The room as so hot you couldn't breathe. We had the air con turned full blast but it was blowing out warm air. We rang reception and complained, we were then told that it was not the peak season until end of July and it is the managements decision not to have the air com turned on. The next day we complained to the Thompson rep who provided us with a plug in fan.

Then the holiday went from bad to worse. I came down with a sickness and diarreah. It lasted for more than 24 hours. The hotel were aware of the sickness bug going around. We spoke to a few other couples who had all had this bug. About 12 hours into the bug my partner also caught this bug. The hotel told us a doctor would be available at 6-6.30 every night. But they forgot to mention he was a private doctor. He wanted to charge €60 for a consultation and €60 to give an injection to me. He told us our insurance would not cover his costs.

The entertainment on the nights was all focused on the german visitors. Very poor entertainment.

The cleanliness of the hotel was fair however we were staying in the annexes in room 2220 and there was a lot of ants everywhere especially in the bathroom. We reported this to reception but they did nothing about it.

The rooms were very dated. But did the job of sleeping in. We booked a double room but it was two single beds pushed together which was disappointing.

I would definitely never recommend this hotel and I will not be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSFan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel with my partner. We arrived on a late flight and had a wonderful welcome, flowers from reception and they kept food for us. I emailed in advance and asked if it would be possible to have a high room as we had already paid for a sea view, they met the request and the first morning when we woke and looked out of the window, was just perfect. The most amazing clear blue sea and white sand I've seen. The room was very clean and spotless, cleaned, beds made and fresh towels every day. The food was nice, a little repetitive but there was something for everyone, pasta, pizza, chicken, steak etc.
Definitely recommend going to the canary resturant at the hotel, you have to book the day before you go but it's amazing!
The entertainment at night is also good, your typical holiday shows etc. Drinks are great! There are 2 help yourself bars within the main hotel during the day with proper maked fizzy drinks (coke, diet coke, sprite, fanta, lemon fanta), beer, water, coffee. Also a bar by the swimming pool that is manned and you can have any other drinks, spirits, cocktails. The bars in the night also do any drinks. Didn't have to queue for drinks once.
The one thing will say is that you will have to beat the Germans to get a sunbed! The hotel caters for lots of German people and on the first day, we
Looked out at 7.30 and there must have been about 50 towels already on the sunbeds.
I think the bad reviews on here must be about the annex buildings.
We paid for a sea view but if you don't it seems you are put in the annex, it seems nice and the pool there looks nice but is definitely a lot more dirty. My partner and I booked to go to the mandarin resturant on our last night, we arrived a bit early so decided to have a drink but both had second thoughts as the bar area didn't seem too clean. We went to the resturant and it was nice but the chicken skewers didn't seem to be cooked properly so we didn't eat them! During our final day after the brief trip to the annex my partner woke to have sickness and diarrhoea. A few hours later when boarding the plane I also had this and have been suffering since which is a shame. But we definitely recommend the hotel! Amazing holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank welshtrumpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at the Oliva Beach Hotel for the second time this year and yet again I cannot fault this hotel.Emailed Hotel a couple of months before my visit and asked if possible to have 2 rooms I had used before and on my arrival I was given these 2 rooms for me and my family.Check in was fast and as we arrived late at night they supplied some food.Hotel was kept clean and tidy and all the staff worked really hard to make your stay at this hotel a really good time.Food was really good and there was a good selection of drinks.Asked at end of holiday if we could have a late check out as we had a evening flight and we were allowed to stay in our room for an extra 3 hours at no charge.Best Hotel in Corralejo!

Room Tip: If staying in main hotel ask for high floor with pool view.If staying in the annex part of hotel ask...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clifhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed as a couple for a week and had a fab time at Olivia beach, food was nice, breakfast you had your usual eggs,bacon,beans and occasionally sausage (hot dog sausage) croissants, toast, cereal. dinner you had a range of burgers, chicken, pizza, fish, chips, all the fruits and salads you could think of, nice ranges of puddings, yoghurts. Lunch you had potatoes, different ranges of meats, chips, pizza ect. All sorts of foods for everyone. The beach was beautiful golden sands and the Sea was brill if you love waves. I took my body board and had a good laugh! Me and my partner went snorkelling in the sea where you could see different kinds of fish swimming around you! Taxis are a decent price to corralejo town 6/7 euros to town central, had some lovely shops, bars and restaurants there. Wifi in the hotel was good €20 for the week and could get reception in the entertainment room but states you can only get connection in the wifi area. I wouldn't recommend the water park €50 for me and my partner we was there for an hour tops! Lazy river- you had to push yourself around it as the current wasn't strong at all, slides were ok for young children. Weather was beautiful! I can't think of any faults with the hotel. I will be going to this hotel again!!

Room Tip: Stay in annex as the hotel can get very full around the pool area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are thinking of booking do not. If you have booked good luck. The main hotel as a smell of poo around the pool area. The small poll area is coverd in bird poo the sun beds are broken. The hotel is sad and past its sell by date. While there every one I spoke to had the runs no fresh water worn out towels I could go on for ever.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank earl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

having been a riu member for the last 3years we have to say this is the worst riu hotel we have stayed in the food for the first week was look warm in the main restaurant in the hotel part also some staff not very welcoming 1 lady always had a face of thunder on her never spoke or smiled very abrupt we found out that they have a restaurant in the other side of the hotel called the annex food so much better and staff much more happy to help you but be worned if you dont book a sea view room you will be placed in the annex if you have a walking disability its a long way to main hotel pool in main hotel you could not get a sun bed for love of money we counted 36 beds with towls on at 9am not 1 person went near them till after 1pm two full rows plus about 40 persent wear broken go to the pool in the annex more quiet and more beds the entertaintment very poor we only stayed in 3 nights we went down to the music square much more fun its 9 euro by taxi as said sorry oliva beach never again

Room Tip: book seaview or you will have some walking to do
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christopher o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
954 reviews
54.0 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: £110 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing