We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel had amazing views from the hotel rooms, annexe rooms large but noisy as this was mainly for families, we were moved from the annexe to the hotel. The room was clean but a little dated. The staff were amazing and you couldn't fault them the only downside is there is not much to do and the shows could be a lot better. Overall if you want to lay on a sunbed for the whole of the holiday then it would be for you, unfortunately have bad back and couldn't lay on the sunbed for long so got very bored.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    1,440
    567
    186
    80
See reviews for
1,013
1,846
98
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

As always, I did my research before booking and got exactly what I expected. I think the negative reviews are completely unfounded and unfair, if you paying Ford Fiesta money do not expect an S Class Mercedes. The people who buy blind, pay rock bottom money and then pick fault need to get real ~ you get what you pay for.

What makes this hotel is its location and the staff, as per the tips ask for a high floor facing the swimming pool and you will have fantastic view out of the wind, we were in room 433 and it was superb.

The staff cannot do enough for you, and I mean they are really genuinely friendly. They work very hard and they keep the place very clean. I would personally like to than Mari, who looked after us and baby Oliver throughout our meal times, she was superb and deserves recognition. I would also like to thank Carlos the barman who also made a special effort "Hola Oliver, Hola Oliver". He made me laugh every day :)

The food does get repetitive and the choice does feel limited after two weeks. I have experienced far better ( and paid £ for it ) and experienced far worse. We ate out a few times in Corralejo which I would recommend.

We hired a car for 12 days. Car hire is very cheap and I can recommend CICAR who can be trusted to deliver what they say. We booked in the UK and got exactly what we ordered. A Newshape Astra for 12 days with COMP insurance for about £180. Beware though, there is not a lot to see, we did the whole island in about three days ( beware the Motorcycle Cops ) I got stopped and fined on the spot 100 euros for ( no idea why ) so make sure you have your licence, credit card and hire agreement with you.

Would I return ? Probably not, but I would say I enjoyed myself and I would recommend it if you are on a tight budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pku930r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Situated ON beach. Gorgeous beach. Camels go by every day (giving rides). Lovely area in hotel for relaxing on sun loungers facing sea, on real sand. Rooms little dated but very clean. We got room we requested. Nice fresh food, plenty of variety. Very friendly & helpful staff in restaurant & reception & bar. Lovely cocktails too!! We shall be back, soon

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and yes I agree dated but I do not agree with all the other things that people moan about.

Our room was large and clean with a fridge, lots of storage space and plenty of hangers. We also paid for a sea view and we enjoyed it, Room 328 overlooking the pool and beach. The room was cleaned and tidied everyday, no problems accept no light on balcony if you like to read at night.

Yes you have to get up fairly early to get a decent bed but then you can snooze all day in the sun, pool towels are available!
It's drinks are self serve which is good, no problem, alcohol is a little weak but hay ho!

Plenty of choice with food, all hot food cooked in front of you so how people can moan about it being cold I don't know and loads to suit even the fussiest person. The desserts are boring thought but you can have fruit and ice cream. Food available some where from 7:30 to 10pm.

The sea is rough and for the 10 days that we where there the green glad was only flying twice.

We got this holiday at a good price and it was good value for money.
Yes, the hotel is dated but clean and the staff work very hard and are very pleasant, the ground and well looked after with a Cat Cafe the looks after local cats.

All in all a good holiday and a perfectly acceptable hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank gerberajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our first experience with this hotel was several phone calls we made in advance of our trip to clarify access issues and request specific rooms. They couldn't have been more helpful and came through on all their promises. I have to add that we had to do this as First Choice we completely useless. So don't hesitate to call the hotel direct.

Wheelchair access pro's: Most of the site is flat and well paved. There is a board walk down to the beach if you go out of the main drive into the resort and access the beach that way, rather than the standard route at the pool side of the hotel. Our family room was spacious and no-one batted an eyelid that we did some serious furniture manoevures to fit all our equipment in!
con's: Steep slope to get into the hotel which might be a problem for somone hoping to push themselves up. No access to the hotel pool from inside the hotel, you need to go round the outside of the building. No access to the lower ground floor for the table tennis and gym. However staff were very happy to carry my son and his chair down.

Staff: Fabulous. Nothing was too much trouble. As with everyone if you are nice to them you get it in return. We had taken a couple of boxes of shortbread, one especially for the recepetion staff who had been so helpful on the phone. The other went to the room maid who had left us some lovely towel animals! The off tip sent the way of the bar staff was also well received. Our son has learning difficulties and can be noisy. The entertainment staff went out of their way to come and say hi to him and the waiters and waitresses were amazing. A good tip went their way on the last day too.

Entertainment: Pretty rubbish, but that didn't matter to us. We did venture over to the evening entertainment a couple of times but didn't stay. It mainly consisted of the staff miming to music. Posh karaoke! There was an African market on the Friday night which was great for picking up some last minute gifts and to show my daughter how to barter - several things from 25euros down to 8! My daughter and I used the art studio. The lady that runs it is pretty steely and not overly friendly but she's been there for 30 years ..... After a bit of sweet talking and lots of thank you's she came round and was quite chatty by the end. Some of our party did a surfing course with the Flag Beach set up just along from the hotel. Organised direct. Apparently it was ok; nice staff reasonable teaching.

Room: We stayed in the annex with a room on the poolside. No complaints. We aren't looking for luxury though. It was clean, has everything we needed and was comfortable. Maybe not 4* but fine for us.There seems to be a consistent sea breeze most days so intelligent window opening to allow a breeze through the room helped to keep it cool. The only wildlife we encountered was one cockroach but it was a one off. The main complaint was that although the double glazing is pretty good for noise control the floors / ceilings aren't. So if you happen to be below someone who regularly and noisily gets in at 2am it can be loud!

Food: No-one in our party of 7 had any complaints. If you have a bit of everything on day 1 then I am sure you might get bored of the selection by the end of the week but there is enough to have something different most nights, from pizza or pasta to paella, steak and carvery. Endless supplies of ice cream and cake. We ate in both the hotel and annex and preferred the annex, it seemed less hectic and more spacious. We ate in the chinese one night which was nice enough but not hugely different. Drinks are plentiful. The mix and strength can be different depending on which barman serves you but mostly very generous servings, especially the liquers!

Guests: Yep, mostly German, Dutch and Spanish. Can't say it bothered me. Only occassion we sat near Brits by the pool and all we heard was f'ing and blinding.

Pools: Annex pool seemed more family orientated, was very clean and accessible. The hotel pool is better for lengths and more for the adults without kids. Towels do go out early, so just join in if it bothers you!

Beach: Glorious sand. We had red flags for several days so no swimming but can still paddle. On green flag days the water was so clear and warm. You can walk for miles down the coast though worth hanging on to your flipflops if you head north as there are some rocky bits to get over.

Reps: Useless. Thankfully any querries we had were dealt with by reception.

Local town: Bus into Corralejo generally goes twice an hour (excpet lunch time so beware if you want to head back to the hotel for lunch) from just along from the hotel. Corralejo is ok. We went to the harbour for a drink and it was a nice walk for an hour or so. Won't bother going back into town if we return to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Annex family rooms are spacious. Annex pretty quiet at night so poolside is fine unless you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennyadmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Overal a good holiday which met our expectations! Room location was as we requested i.e. high floor in main building.Was spotless clean as was the rest on the hotel

Food was good&fresh and we always used the main restaurant as the pool snack bar was limited choice
Was disappointed at the dress code in main restaurant which inicated long trousers&shirt however there was vest,shorts&flip flops&even bare feet on chidren-the bare feet was stopped by staff when they were aware of it!!!

There was plenty entertainment in varius areas and weekly there was a lunchtime paella party with exceptional merenge music performed by one of the catering staff, whilst the animation team got the hotel guests dancing-this reminded us of our the Dominican Republic holidays and was very enjoyable!!
The hotel accomodated the World Cup Football for guests who really appreciated this for all nationalities!

Very hot enjoyable holiday-will hope to visit again
Well done to all the staff!!

Room Tip: Read the reviews and than make your request as they will try to accomodate you if possible high flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Marjorie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just what the doctor ordered. Beginning May, a week after the schools went back so only families with smaller children there, amongst the older, childless groups.
In an attempt to recharge very dead batteries, we sat on sunloungers (didn't attempt the scramble for those by the pool - go for the quieter, more beach like area to the side of the main pool, there is plenty of space), drank and ate when we wanted to and pleased ourselves for a week. Magnificent.
We had a room in the "village" - very spacious and comfortable and incredibly clean, if a little run down and needing a bit of tlc.
Can't tell you about the entertainment provided as we never went, preferring to eat later and retire to the many bars.
Receptionists all multi-lingual and were smashing. The bar staff were constantly smiling, despite the pressure of providing cocktails and drinks galore - all included in our rate. The many restaurants were superb, friendly attentive staff and so much choice for food, all hot food finished by chefs in front of diners. Quality of food was impressive. We also tried the Canarian and Mandarin restaurant, though you have to book by 8am to get a reservation for the following evening.
If the premises are a little run down and needing a coat of paint, so what. everything else was fantastic for the cost, superb value for money. Felt a little guilty not leaving the complex to see a bit of Fuerteventura, but we really needed the rest - and we got it
Fuerteventura is quite windy - but the sun was hot and it was lovely at times to have the cooler breeze. The sun did not disappear behind clouds often and never for very long.
Wifi had to be paid for and only available around main hotel - a good thing I say!
Would return to this hotel, no question

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
2.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), RIU Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing