We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a fan of all inclusive but this was good quality, great value & would definately go back if the price was right”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Ely, Cambs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a fan of all inclusive but this was good quality, great value & would definately go back if the price was right”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

I usually avoid AI as im very fussy about what i eat/drink, as in the quality. i have had a couple of previous AI holidays which have been ruined by poor quality food & drink & have ended up eating & drinking outside the hotel most of the week. Whilst I agree with the comments about the menu being very repetitive, i disagree with those who say the food is poor. I have eaten at many top London resturants as part of my job & whilst i would hardly compare the food to those, i would say that the quality of the food was in my opinion good enough. There was plenty of choice each day, it was just that most days it was the same choice presented in a different way. The chefs cook alot of it fresh while you wait which is a plus in my opinion. I managed to find plenty to eat each day. If however you are looking for English breakfasts then you will be disappointed, i lost count of the number of old dears who said to me that the food was nice, except they didnt do English bacon, thats probably because funnily enough, we were off the African coast & not in England. If you want English bacon then go to one of those 'exclusively for customers in the UK' type Thomson hotels, im sure they serve it there. They did do chips & burgers at lunch & in the snack bar & pizza in the evening although i didnt try them. There are also two themed resturants, the Canarian one is similar to the buffet but they do a nice steak & the Mandarin one was a nice change, but book early as they fill up quickly. Gentlemen are requested to wear long trousers in the evening which some people chose to ignore (sadly they were mostly English). The drinks were also better than my past experiences. Coke,Fanta, tea, coffee & beer were all available throughout on a help yourself basis & the pool side bars would make you up a cocktail, sangria or anything else you wanted off the menu. The bars in the evening even offered sparkling wine & my G&T on the first night was made with Gordons gin. I stayed in the hotel (paying an extra £94 for two) & would agree that the rooms are probably not 4 stars when compared with those in the UK, however, they were very clean & much better than the odd 3 star hotels i've strayed into in Europe. If you think Travel Inn/Premier Inn you wont be disappointed. Ladies with hair longer than their shoulders may want to bring a hairdryer as the ones in the rooms are those rubbish hose ones. My room was on the second floor, next to the lifts/maids rooms & my one regret was not asking to change rooms as it was unbelievably noisey. The bin men turned up every day at 4.45am!!! having paid extra to upgrade i would have liked a better room as there were plenty of people in the hotel who didnt pay the extra & got lucky but as the hotel was full i didnt think i would get moved. I never had a problem getting a sunbed on the roof terrace (the best place in my opinion, away from the pool & kids) & had a parasol everyday, except one & i didnt go looking until after 10 most days & even then there were plently available down by the pool or near the beach. There were a few older ladies from Manchester there who got the best sun beds every day over looking the pool so they held their own with the Germans. Being in the hotel also gets you pool towels changed daily & easy access to bottled water from reception which was a plus. The entertainment team were not my cup of tea but if thats your thing then again you may be very disappointed. The team worked very hard all day & night but the French & Germans did seem to dominate everything entertainment. We had more fun watching the Germans laugh hysterically at something that was in my opinion rubbish. The staff overall were some of the most friendly & cheerful staff I have encountered abroad. Finally, there is little else to do outside the hotel (other than the fantastic beaches & lovely blue sea & the nudest beach next door if you want to laugh at the Germans a bit more) but a taxi into town ordered by reception will only cost you 5 or 6 euros but it is like any other town in the Canaries/Spain. Overall if you just want a week of relaxation away from it all in a pleasant setting, then i would recommend this hotel. It is certainly big enough to occupy you for a week. I had toyed with going to the more expensive HB Riu Palace next door but in the end am pleased I didnt as i definately got good value for money & think if the price was right i would return to this hotel but request a higher room towards the beach if i paid the extra to secure the hotel part again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggirl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    1,482
    580
    190
    84
See reviews for
1,045
1,894
103
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We stayed for 7 nights at the Oliva beach and were a family of 3 adults and an 8 year old. We stayed in a Family room in the Annex and whereas the room was spacious enough, the furniture was very basic and not what we expected from a 4 star Riu hotel.

The All Inclusive deal was good value. For all 3 daily meals there was plenty to choose from, the variation for each meal could be improved though. The selection of drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) under the All Inclusive plan was great.

For some reason there are no pool towels supplied in the Annex (other reviewers have pointed this out as well) and we don't understand why. This should be corrected by Management soonest.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambakongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2010

After reading some of the reviews on this hotel, it may put you off going here. My advice is ignore them.
I stayed here from 9-23 june and I have to say for an All-Inclusive, this hotel exceeds all expectations. On arrival I was booked in within minutes. Reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I was offered assistance with my luggage, which I declined.
T he room was spot on. Absolutely spotless. It looked as though it had recently been refurbed. The room was kitted out with en-suite, which yet again was spotless, air-con, and balcony with a sea-view. Very friendly cleaning staff. As requested, I got a high floor room on the fifth floor.
Restaurants cater pretty much for all tastes, although meals do tend to be the same every night. After saying that, the food is prepared to an extremely high standard. A hell of a lot better than the usual school dinners you come to expect from All Inclusive.
Waiting staff are attentative and very friendly. Can't fault that aspect of this hotel.
Pools areas and gardens yet again spotless and well maintained. Beach towels are availabe to main building guests, and bottled water is readily available at reception, which is a very handy thing, as there aren't many shops around this area !
Entertainment may not be to everyones taste, but I thought it was quite amusing. The little guy who does the solo comedy spots is extremely funny (sorry didn't catch your name !)
Last day of my stay, a lady on reception, Toty allowed me to stay on in the room for a couple more hours, as I had a fairly late flight, which I thought was extremely reasonable.
Okay, so the hotel may be slightly dog-eared around the edges. I don't think it is an important factor, though the gym does let the hotel down. Poorly ventilated and very old machines. But never the less, at the price, this hotel has a lot to offer, and yes, I would definately return, next week if they had any vacant rooms !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerseysideAndy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

If you want a chill out holiday, pool beach and plenty of hotel activities you will enjoy this hotel. Few negatives though ....you have to be up at the crack of dawn to reserve your sunbed and umbrella. Food was ok but a bit samey pork , fried hake and lots of pasta and salads.
Make sure if you want to visit the themed restaurants book early, as they are only open 3 nights per week ie mandarin thurs, fri ,sat.
Rooms are very dated, dark furniture but they are very clean and the maids do an excellent job.
The entertainment team in the hotel were very good loads going on aerobics, bingo, shooting , yoga etc
Beach is beautiful, lovely sand and loads of sunbeds , but you do have to pay 9 euros for these.
Had a good chill out week but probably would not go back to this hotel

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

had a great check in from sylvia at reception and were given a map for our room in the annexe as we had been before we new where to go.the room was very clean but definitely 2 star(keys) the pool area was very busy and had to be up very early to get sunbeds and particular a parasol staff at the restaurant were not particularly friendly but apart from the girl at the reception and the cleaners the rest of the staff are not interested in the brits.The food was not very good unless you wanted pork or fish not much choice of anything else and when you are eating and put your last item of food they whisk away your plate very annoying,now the very worst part of the holiday the entertainment of lack of it unless again you are german at the stupidly named disco bar there was adverised eight times under different names the same group who pandered and sang all the songs for our german friends some nights singing the same anthem sometimes 4 or 5 times it was truely awful and you felt very isolated as we had paid the same as other europeans we thought there would be something for everyone but unfortunately not and the animacion team were dreadful and there shows truly amateurish one night the entertainment was actually a 30 minute music quiz how awful .I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and would never return there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sengabScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Just arrived back from this hotel - we travelled with First Choice and we stayed in the annex buildings (so can't comment on the actual hotel rooms). We arrived at 9.30 pm - the buffet restaurant was still open and we had some dinner. The food was lovely however the restaurant was very stuffy and no air conditioning (this wa the buffet restaurant in the main hotel building). On arrival to our room we also found that t he air con was not on. The room was very basic and a little 'run down' in my opinion. Was an excellent size and the beds were comforatble, we were lucky enough to have rooms looking out over the pool. The next morning we woke to find that most of the sunbeds were already reserved with towels (we were outnumbered bythe germans) and even the parasols had towels tied ropund them!!!. The pool itself was ample size and great for the kids with a beach type entrance and one and and two sets of large steps - the bottom of the pool needing replaceing in parts and also had some large granite tiles covering up some of the wear which we bashed our toes on a couple of times ( these were replaced with filed down tiles by the time we left) can't speak about the pool in the main hotel as we did not use it (would never have got there in time to reserve any sunbeds)!!!!!!!. The food in the buffet restaurant was gorgeous - never had a bad meal - although could have done with some more choice - they serve lots of pork and hake (local fish) in various different forms - no other fish, prawns availabale one night only and not very much chicken or beef offered. On the plus side your were allowed to take food by the pool at lunch time. The wine, beer, water and fizzy drinks are self service all day long which was excellent as the kids could help themselves. The hotel is not at the other end of Corralejo and not walkable into town. Taxi range from 5-7 euro one way - didn't use the bus which stops directly outside hotel. Also there is a supermarket outside the hotel but is more expensive than the ones in town. There are two shops onsite (the one in the main hotel sells the papers). We did speak to the rep re the aircon - he was not much help at all, so we spoke to the hotel manager who said he would have it switched on as temperatures were higher than normal for the time of year. However we had aircon for about 2 days (after complaining again they said that it was switched on) we gave up in the end!!! The entertainment in the evening is on quite late - starts about 9.45 and the kids mini disco is done outside the kids club (over near the annex buildings) - the entertainment is quite good. I feel that we had to find out about a lots of things ourselves and were not informed properly - for instance that the bottled water is kept behind reception which you can take back to your room - no one told us this we just realised when we saw someone ask for water - after about 2 days.
All in all we did have a lovely holiday but i just felt that we had booked a 4 star (or key rating) hotel and that is not what we experienced. The holiday cost us £2600 for a family of 4 and i felt that was overpriced once i got there. The annex buildings - pool etc are in desperate need of updating.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwrw120376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochesrer england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2010

yes i agree we had to find our room with a map.... moan over
we lost a suitcase on the way out from gatwick, the weather could have been better.
But what a great hotel big clean rooms, perfect location, food for even the most fussy eaters. the staff cannot be faulted. there was always something to do , or just chill out on the soft sand beach . plenty of sunbeds around the pools and gardens. we noticed the children always having a great time in the kids club. WE WANT TO GO BACK

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowsa1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
2.3 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
2.5 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
764 reviews
21.6 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort

Property: ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort
Address: Avda Grandes Playa, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
#12 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#14 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 814
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 km from Corralejo. 7-storey main building and 2-storey and 3-storey annexes, surrounded by a 35,000 m2 garden, Situated on Grandes Playas sand dune beach, 5 km from various shops, 35 km from the airport, 200 m from a bus stop, Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Corralejo
Riu Oliva Beach
Riu Clubhotel Oliva Beach Hotel
ClubHotel Riu Oliva Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing