We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SheilaMc”
Review of Hotel Arena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arena
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed 22 September 2011

After going on Tripadvisor to check out another hotel (as this one is fully booked) and reading some of the NEW reviews I felt I had to write one myself! Myself and my partner stayed here in Jan of this year and liked it that much we went back in May. Iv no idea what people expect from a 4* but I have stayed in lots of place around the world and have NO complaints about this hotel. OK so the food didnt change much over the space of the week but I still managed to find something I liked on most nights, and due to the good value of the all inclusive, we chose to eat in the town a couple of times without feeling we where wasting money. Most AI hotel rooms are small and basic (even a 5* one in Italy) but the one we had, on both visits, was more like a SC apartment. The staff on the most part where very friendly and helpfull (apart from a slightly moody receptionist!) Some of the cleaning staff do a better job than others but such is life! I would recommend it and would go back again :-)

Room Tip: We had a higher room, there are no lifts but its only 3 floors and there bigger than the ones round...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,878)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,267 - 1,273 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

i have just returned from a 1 week stay at the hotel arena
we got a taxi from the air port is was 45 euro split between 4 of us so it works out cheaper than a transfer, cheak in was quick and easy eveyone speaks very good english, we had room 302 and our friends had 303. the rooms are large as in the balcony but very basic 2 single beds pushed together but the room is prity clean been in better been in worse
the pool is good but if you want a sun bed you will have to get up early to put your towl down 8 at the latest but thats the same all over europe i hate it, the pool bar is ok the bar man is great fun but the drink is not very nice just cheap rubbish thats watered down as is the beer could not get drunk ha ha
food this is wher the hotel really lacks quality, breakfast is probibly the best of a bad bunch there is no fresh juice it is just orange and water there is caned fruit out why on earth are they using caned fruit in a warm country like that they have probibly got the real thing on there door step. there is sometimes a lady cooking eggs if you can catch her i waited 10 mins for her to come out and cook no fresh omlits and no choice of a filling. one morning i saw a cockroach on the breakfast bar called the waiter over an he just wiped it down the crack not very clean in my eyes.
lunch and dinner are both the same every day so we had to eat out 5 of the 7 nights as we got bored of eating cold tasteless food .
i new the food would be bad because of how cheap the place is but it did not spoil the holiday. entertainment is dire i wont even go into how bad as cant be bothered
like i said we had fun but i will never go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topdog1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Hotel rooms spotlessly clean also pool & surrounding areas swept & mopped every morning alvaro on the pool bar absolutely brilliant great fun as was all the other staff food was very repetative but always something to nibble on you certainly wouldnt go hungry all in all a very enjoyable holiday but definately 4* as stated.

Room Tip: suite or first floor around the pool avoid room 101 on the ground very dark & next to the gym &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artandali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The bar closed at eleven at night and if you went out only one bar. And. One shop in the town the food was pasta pizza and chips every day. If you like liver good. Thats mostley what you got the. Food was uneatable the bedrooms very old fashioned and not very clean pillow was hard as a rock the pool area wes very dirty and the table at side of pool never cleaned on ce while we were. The pool bar closed once the restaurant opened so tough luck if you preferred a snack.entertainment was bad three nights we had parrot show eagle show and a snake whitch was our night show beer utter rubbish staff very unpleasant only the pool bar man ok I saw the manager who could not care less.please do not go here you will be so disappointed if you go to the main town beer in the English bar are '£4 60 a pint and food so expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed at The Arena for 10 nights on an all inclusive basis. On arrival at 9pm the reception were friendly and pointed us to rooms and to dining room efficently. The room was 320 top floor and had a large ballcony overlooking pool but not 'on show' because slightly to the side so hidden from main pool by palm trees, Excellant. Nice room and all that you need was there, clean and in working order. Fridge, shower was powerfull fitted wardrobe with full length mirror and the towls were changed as often as you wanted if you put used ones in the bath for the maids. Floors mopped everyday and the maids were friendly. The pool bar in the day was run by Alvaro who is a master !! The man is so friendly, always had a smile and would make toasties,hotdogs etc and call out your order with 'rack of lamb, roast potatoes,veg and gravey' very funny. The resturant staff are friendly and efficient and the food was adequate. Quite a lot of choice for evening meal, fish, meat, salad dishes, superb prawns, Cooked breakfast or cold meats etc.
Every morning people would put their towles on the beds, move them around etc and some not use them till the afternoon. I found this quite amusing but you could always find a sunbed if you didnt subscribe to this (which we didnt) The entertainment was on the poor side but as we were leaving there was a new entertainment girl who on her first day had loads playing water polo. Drinks could be taken to room so no problems there.
Town was about a 20 min walk (in the heat) but a taki was only 4 E so nice to be out of the hustle/bustle nightlife but easy enough to go out if you want.
On the whole a good hotel with excellant staff and would be returning next year (if can get booked in)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

me and my partner have just returned from a week at hotel arena and we loved every minute of it!!
where do i start...

room: we believe we had one of the best rooms in the hotel, it was on the first floor over looking the pool and close to the resturant and bar (which we asked for when booking) which was ideal as we could just nip to bar and take drinks to balcony. the balcony was massive with a table and chairs on and a towel rack to hang towels on. the air con was fantastic, really cools the room down and its free (you dont need the remote) the tv only has 2 english channels but who needs tv on holiday. there was also a fridge in the room which was great and worked really well, the rooms were really well kept with maid service everyday. the shower was also really powerful.

food: my partner is quite fussy when it comes to food but he always had seconds at every meal and we were always stuffed. there isnt much to choose from but its great value for money and for the size of the hotel. theres definatly something for everyone and i dont understand how people can complain about the food. they would have 2 pasta dishes with every meal, theres always a meat and a fish, chips, pizza, potatoes, veg and more. theres a fresh salad section with pasta salads on too. always fresh bread too. every evening was a home made soup which i loved. also help yourself to 4 different ice creams which i would put in a cup and take down to pool. breakfast was amazing! bacon, sausage, scambled egg, fried egg, omlette, boiled egg, tomatoes, beans and more.
pool bar offered chips, burgers, hotdogs and toasties. also pastries.

pool bar: alvaro is the man!! he runs the pool bar and is the highlight of the hotel. so friendly and would talk to everyone. twice a day he would bang a beaker on the bar and shout everyone up for tequila shots!! he would also do he ice tricks throwing ice cubes around with his metal thongs and catching them, amazing. all drinks are self service apart from the spirits which the staff pour for you! biggest measures ive ever seen!

entertainment: entertainment is the only downfall, but it isnt terrible, its just limited. at the end of the day its a very small hotel and some times there would only be about 10 people in the var at night, so the hotel isnt going to provide excellents shows when theres nobody there to watch it. whilst we were there there was a snake show, eagle show, bingo twice, karaoke, parrot show, acrabats and a quiz. these were all fine.

location: having read reviews before we went i was worried about walking to the town as some people said its a 30-40 minute walk. i dont know which town they walked to but it obviously wasnt the one up the road from the hotel, either that or they are over exaggerating! the walk to the nearest shop and bar is 2 minutes, the flinstones bar shows all live sport and soaps too if your looking for that. theres then a supermarket and a sunday market a little further up, a 5 minute walk. and then further up is the water park and town. 10 minute walk max and its one straight road so no way of getting lost. the beach is the same direction just a little further.

general: with the bar shutting at 11 people think this is a letdown, how ever you are free to take drinks back to your room to sit on the balcony with as we did. you also dont have to get up early to get sunbeds. the first morning i was up at half 6 to put my towels out, only to go down to breakfast at 8 and finding that the other guests were only just putting theres out. aslong as your towels are out before 10 you are fine. whilst we were there the sun didnt come out until about 10ish and it was cloudy until then, i dont know if its always like this but it didnt bother us. the hotel guests were mostly couples, no groups or young families really which was nice.

overall we really enjoyed our stay and will definatly be returning at some point in the near future. i hope this review helps!! any questions feel free to ask me im happy to help :)

Room Tip: deffo 220-232!! these are first floor (top floor) overlooking pool close to bar and resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Stayed at Hotel Arena with my husband for 8 days as part of an all inclusive package. The hotel itself in my opinion was really good value for money, the pool area is great with two large pools and a baby pool which was never busy. The sunbeds do get booked up quickly but if you just stick your towel on one then it's fine.

The rooms were fine and for a week's holiday is all you need, they were very very clean and the towels were changed every day and the floors were spotless which makes walking around with bare feet nice as they're not black by the end of the day!

The food was ok, not great on some nights and towards the end of the week we started eating out so if you can book half board I think that would be wise as for 3 days we didn't eat in the restaurant at all as we were sick of the same food plus the restuarant is far too hot to be able to eat comfortably. The staff were second to none and very helpful and friendly which made us feel like we picked a nice place. The air conditioning in our room did not work so once we had told reception they moved us to a different room straight away which was great.

The hotel is quite far out and away from everything but we knew this before we booked it so we were not surprised. This hotel is definitely for couples and families, it's not a place where I would go on a girl's holiday or if I was looking for nightlife etc because everything is quiet and the bar closes early however there is a shopping centre 5 minutes away that had a live band every night and we spent most of our evenings there. The main town is about a 20 minute walk and also the best part of the beach is a further walk past the town centre and we went there a couple of days as we got bored of sitting around the pool all day.

All in all I'd say this hotel was a nice couples getaway for a week, not sure I could have stayed for two weeks and I would say it's a good 3* and not a 4* as they advertise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ginaandcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arena Beach Fuerteventura
0.2 mi away
smartline Playa Park
smartline Playa Park
#13 of 45 in Corralejo
1,779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,552 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arena

Address: Calle Moro s/n, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: £39 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arena 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arena Hotel Corralejo
Fuerteventura Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena Corralejo
Hotel Arena Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing