We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant family holiday”
Review of Oasis Duna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oasis Duna Hotel
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Oasis Dunas - we are a family of 4 (children 7 and 4).

Firstly, we have had a brilliant time, the kids had the time of their lives in the pool and waterpark, and joining in all the entertainment.

The rooms are basic. No getting away from it - we literally showered and slept in them. Very hot as there is no aircon although we knew that before we went. We didnt miss the telly - we were too busy having fun! But yes, although clean, the room was the one negative about the holiday.

Pool areas clean, plenty of space, plenty of sunbeds. We soon got used to the saltwater and the 'vomit' in the pool was actually an accumulation of suncream and salt which gathered in one small corner of one of the pools (not the main pool) so maybe the filter needs looking at in that pool.

To say there is a cockroach infestation is misleading. I saw 2 in 2 weeks, both in our bathroom, which for such a hot climate isnt bad.

The free use of the Waterpark for Thomas Cook customers was a big plus and a big saving - the waterpark is brilliant.

Entertainment from the Thomas Cook reps was fabulous - we had a great time doing the quizzes, bingo, watching shows and the four reps worked tirelessly to keep us busy. The kids loved the splashdance and went to kids club a couple of times which they also enjoyed.For those that didnt like the entertainment or fancied a change (its not an all inclusive resort!) Corralejo has lots of lovely bars and restaurants about 5 mins walk away.

We were self catering so can't comment on the food but we ate in some really nice tapas bars down by the harbour.

The location of the hotel is great, 5 mins from the main strip and 5 mins from the beach. There is a beautiful larger beach about half an hour away in the sand dunes, white sands, clear sea.

All in all we had a fab time, we would return despite the room, but the entertainments team were really the highlight.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for your sincere comment.
Hoping to see you soon at Oasis Duna.


Kind Regards from Fuerteventura!

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Location is 2 minute walk away from the water park ,about 3 minute walk from the top of the Main Street leading down in to the main town area and bars and about 5 minutes from Wakiki beach which is nice. The main beach which is where the sand dunes are located is about a 30 minute walk.
Apartments have 2 single beds and a sofa bed which basically sleeps 3 people however as there was four of us on this holiday this didn't add up especially when THOMAS COOK travel agent informed us that it catered for 4 people. Rooms are basic with dated furniture and appliances.
Upon attending the hotel we had to wait for 25 mins for the Pool view room we asked for and upon entering the room the bathroom was not clean with left overs from the previous occupants and a shower that didn't work. The pool view consisted of palm trees ? Room A110. Upstairs.
No cockroaches as mentioned in previous comments.
Kids club first impressions last. charged 10 euros for two hours which stated face painting sweets etc three reps managed to paint their faces but were unable to do our child's and managed to make 40 sweet bags which they sold for 2 euros each at the night time. No party bags for kids.
Entertainment was very good throughout the day and evening the four reps Gemma Siobhan Malky and Nat did very well entertaining and keeping the guests occupied throughout the holiday.
ONLY GOOD Thing about Thomas cook.
Three swimming pools plenty of sun beds and the majority of the hotel is very good with a variety of choice in food.
Would recommend this hotel for families but not booking with Thomas cook as we have paid a considerable amount more than any of the other families at this location.
We had a brilliant holiday at the hotel only gripe is with Thomas Cook
Staff were friendly and catered for all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boyla22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Servicio de Atención al Cliente at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Boyla22,

We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused with your apartment & bathroom, and can assure you that we have made it our priority to avoid this happening again in the future.
We thank you immensely for your sincere comment, as this does help us greatly to be able to give an ongoing improvement of quality and service to our guests.
Hoping to see you again at Oasis Duna.


Kind Regards from Corralejo!

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I have just returned from this holiday - stayed for one week with my husband and two sons. Lovely complex and very clean. We booked two apartments block A rooms 220 and 221, both very nice and cleaned regularly and have all that is required for a holiday. Yes air conditioning would be nice but when you book 3 star you can't really complain. No rushing for sun beds in a morning which is great as nothing worse than having to get up really early to put your towels out. The Thomas Cook staff provide entertainment throughout the day and work their socks off. You are not pressured by them to take part but its available if you want it. Didn't stay round the complex for food and drink as like to venture out into the town so can't really comment on that. The supermarket is well stocked and not badly priced, although there is a large hyper market about 5-10 minute walk if you turn left out of the apartments which stocks just about everything.

Corralejo itself it lovely, very family orientated. If you walk down the main road you will eventually come to a music square with restaurants which are great. The first one on the left as you walk in the square is fabulous, good value for money with very friendly staff. Some good bars and nice restaurants. Felt it had a very spanish feel (I know we are in Spain, but what I mean is not too commercialised with too many british bars etc).

Booked the horse riding at Granja Tara which was 50 euros each but well worth it. Got picked up at our hotel, 2 hours riding and then snacks and drinks afterwards and brought back to the hotel. Non riders are catered for and all staff speak excellent english - we did the sunset ride and got some great photos. Booked this through a lovely lady Lisa (If you walk down the Main Street she is in a small white hut on the right hand side not far from the apartments), not given the hard sell but very knowledgeable.

La Olivia Beach is beautiful and had a couple of good days here, right by the sand dunes and you can get a taxi from the hotel for about 6 euros each way. Beware though that you do have nudist sun bathers mixed in but not too many.

Would definitely return to Corralejco and would stay at the apartments again and would recommend to friends.

Only saw one cockroach round the apartment so do not listen to the bad comments think people just like to complain - you get what you pay for if you want luxury pay for it but don't book 3 star accommodation and expect five star luxury!

Room Tip: Had apartment A220 and A221 - A221 did seem a little better - cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Helen9467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Servicio de Atención al Cliente at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Madam,

We would like to thank you for choosing our establishment to spend your holidays.
Many thanks for your sincere comment too.
Hoping to see you again at Oasis Duna.


Kind Regards from the paradise!

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have just come back from our 3rd stay in 2 years in Oasis Dunas and we’ll definitely be back for a fourth stay. We stayed for two weeks and my only regret is that we didn’t stay for longer. The pools are lovely, grounds are spotless and well maintained, the bars and entertainment areas are very nice with happy hour three times a day which includes a range of very nice cocktails. The bar staff are very friendly and the prices are cheap. (3 euros for 2 large beers during happy hour or 6 euros for two cocktails). The onsite shop is very cheap and convenient and the main street in the town has loads of shops and great restaurants and only a 2 minute walk from the complex. There is also a very nice beach 5 minutes walk away. I recommend walking to the pier and jumping off into the sea. Brilliant fun!
The only negative comment I have to make about Oasis Dunas is that the pool tables need to be replaced as they are not good to play on.
To be honest I’m quite shocked reading some of the negative comments being left on this site. The pools were always very clean, I saw a total of two cockroaches (one dead) on the entire complex during my two week stay and yes towels were occasionally removed from loungers by the lifeguard but only hours after they had been left without use. The vast majority of guests in the complex were British and Irish so the entertainment which was usually good is geared towards the British and Irish audience. The complex is not five star but it is not advertise to be five star. The apartments do not have air conditioning so if this is a must for you then this is not the place for you to stay. The complex and area are very family friendly with loads to do.
Already looking forward to another trip back in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pmatson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Servicio de Atención al Cliente at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Pmatson1,

We would like to thank you for choosing again our establishment to spend your holidays.
We thank you immensely for your sincere comment.
We take note your comment about the pool tables, and we'll get in touch with the pool company to replace them asap.


Kind Regards from Corralejo!

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 1 week in August half board, we found our stay brilliant. We had a few problems with our appt B 529 as it had just been refurbished, small leak etc but these were rectified very quickly! My 6 year old loved the kids club and the breakfast and tea selection was great! I will def stay here again hopefully closer to the pools as they were great! All staff were brilliant a real credit to the hotel and Thomas cook entertainment / kids club rianne/ rep Danielle! Fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppyc163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Servicio de Atención al Cliente at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Madam,

Many thanks for your sincere comment, and please take our apologies due the little problems with the refurbished apartment.
Hoping to see you again at Oasis Duna..


Kind Regards,

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The oasis dunas is a great family resort with 3 good size pools and a good kids pool. The poolside snack bar is good value for money and good food plus you can take out and then on a night you can also go to the other restaurant on a night and get take out pizza. The apatrments we booked was private from owners direct they are a bit on the smallish side but you only sleep in them.
During the day there is a few activities to join in if you like and on a night the Thomas cook reps were great it was kids disco then a quiz followed by bingo and then either a show or the reps did a game show and then Later on in the Golden Goose it was karaoke. If you are wanting a good English breakfast go to Penny lane great breakfast for under €4. The complex is only about 3 mins walk into the town were there is many good restaurants and bars plus some great shops.

Room Tip: Try penny lane for a English breakfast the stables bar or talk of the town bar or good night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cazza036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Servicio de Atención al Cliente at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Cazza036,

Thank you very much for your kind comment.


Kind Regards from Fuerteventura!

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Hi we have just returned for Oasis Dunas on Saturday after 12 days and having read some of the reviews wondered were we in the same place. Yes building work is still going on but the noise of kids screaming was as loud as the workmen at 8am. Our room was in front of the pool and while furniture needs updating it was still fine. Our cleaner came in every day and made the beds and swept and washed the floors except on Sundays and changed the sheets 3 times in the 12 days and towels 4 times. The do need to leave a brush to sweep the floor but after that it was fine. I saw one cockroach in the 12 days.
The pools were great but yes there was an issue with vomit in two of the three and it was left there and one tile was redone in the pool while we were there. But after that we found it great. The entertainment team, Gemma, Siobhan, Nat and Malky were in my mind fantastic. They were there from 10..30am till 1.30am and always were bubbly and smiling. Well done to you guys. My 9yr old and 7yr did'nt do the kids club but loved the evening entertainment.
We did'nt eat in much as we love trying the different resturants but ate at the pool bar some days for lunch and the food was great and reasonable. There is a great selection to choose from and very reasonable priced. Having come from Ireland where we are used to the Euro we found it nicely cheaper than home and most nights dinner for four and two rounds of minerals and beers only came to 45/50 euro. In the bar in the appartments it was not as dear as some have said, we got a large and a small beer a water and a sprite for less than 8 euro, it would'nt happen here!!! Plus the did happy hour from 10.30 till 11.30 and so you got two large beers for 3 Euro, happy days. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I dont take to kindly to the people who said if we liked the place then we have no standards, let me tell you that i do but if you expect 5 star go pay for it cause you got what you paid for here and it was fine.
Overall we had a great holiday and would definately go back to the Oasis Duna.

Room Tip: Look for a pool view or any room in block A
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaoisIrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clientes_Oasis_Fue, Servicio de Atención al Cliente at Oasis Duna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear LaoisIrl,

Many thanks for your kind comment!
Hoping to see you again at Oasis Duna.


Kind Regards from Corralejo!

Guest Care Services Oasis Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,171 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
1,016 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oasis Village
Oasis Village
#28 of 45 in Corralejo
2,697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fuentepark Apartamentos
Fuentepark Apartamentos
#10 of 45 in Corralejo
1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#23 of 45 in Corralejo
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Duna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Duna Hotel

Address: Avda. Maxorata 2, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Duna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Duna apartments - Hotel is located in Corralejo (Fuerteventura). With an extension of 60.000m2, is a large tropical garden with a massive pool area and an expansive sun terrace. The large common areas with bars, restaurants, recreation areas, theater and beautiful gardens are ideal for relaxing and enjoying the holidays. The complex has 340 apartments, all equipped with kitchennette and bathroom, as well as furnished balcony or terrace. Its location is ideal, located just 50m from the main street and 900m from Corralejo beach. The Natural Park of the Dunes of Corralejo is located at 2km and the airport at 38km. It also has other touristic attractions around it, such as ACUA water park at 200m, El Campanario Shopping Center and Las Plameras Shopping Center, wich are 400m away. The one and two bedroom apartments, and especially the children's pools and slides, make this complex an ideal place to spend the holidays with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Idiso Digital, Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oasis Duna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerteventura Oasis Dunas
Oasis Duna Corralejo
Hotel Oasis Duna
Dunas Fuerteventura Oasis
Oasis Dunas Fuerteventura
Oasis Duna Hotel Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing