We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday, great hotel, ignore the bad reviews!”
Review of Oasis Duna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oasis Duna Hotel
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We (two adults, two kids) have just got back from two weeks at Oasis Dunas. This was our first time in the Canaries and we had a great time.

Hotel

Yes, it would benefit from some tender loving care, and yes, it is a bit rough around the edges, but it is certainly not a candiate for one of those "holidays from hell" shows. We were in block B (405) around the back, the room was fine, nothing flash, but fine to sleep in for two weeks. It was a bit cheeky to charge for the television (to entertain the kids whilst having a nice drink and read on the balcony) and after reading other reviews, we took our own fans, as you have to hire them as well. It was hot at night, and having the window open does invite the critters in.

The apartments are nestled in palm tree lined gardens, noise is not a major issue, although you could occasionally hear the music from the "Rock Cafe" in town from our balcony.

The pools were lovely, a touch cold when you first get in, and salty. The public areas were well kept. There were plenty of decent sun beds available, no need to sneak out at the crack of dawn with your towels!

Food

We were half board, and the food was consistantly good. Breakfast offered a good hot or cold selection, with pancakes made to order by a chef which the kids enjoyed. The evening meal choice was also good, with a good kids section as well. I really enjoyed the food at this hotel. I never found that the meat was not available at the same time as the veg or vice versa, or that it was cold.

Although again, it is a bit cheeky that you have to buy your drinks on a evening. Fair enough if you want a glass of wine or a lager, but a water and juice machine is there for breakfast, but covered over in the evening.

Staff/entertainment

We had no issues with the hotel staff at all, reception or in the restaurant. The Rep seemed to be around a lot. The entertainment staff were enthusiastic, although I'm not one for playing the daft games, and they left you alone if you didn't show interest. We went out most nights, so only watched one rep show, which was mildly amusing, but they put their all into it so fair enough.

According to out seven year old, the kids club was excellent, the staff clearly enjoyed their job and the kids loved them.

Resort

The hotel is well placed to reach the strip. There is plenty to see and do, I recommend trying a meal at La Tasca, a drink in Rock Cafe, Waikiki Beach, the Undergroud Bar and Flics which is a bit further down the road. The latter holds regular quizes and you can pick up some decent prizes like free entry for one to Oasis Park etc.

The local beaches are alright, but Olivia beach is superb. For four people, it is worth asking Reception for a taxi, which will arrive at the hotel in about one minute, and take you right to the beach for around 5 Euros, whereas the bus (every half hour) is about 50 cents cheaper, and drops you off further away, easpecially on the return journey.

Other attractions

We thought the water park looked a bit rubbish, so we missed that out, but Oasis Park is well worth a visit, especially for the camel trek - don't eat before you do it! If you go on an organised trip, it is a long day.

Summary

We had a fantastic holiday. Don't worry about the overly critical reviews ("the reception was painted green" so what!?)

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,768 - 1,774 of 2,492 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2010

Stayed at the Oasis Dunas with my mum, in a private apartment, self catering (thro 'Owners Direct'), very clean well stocked apartment. Complex is tidy. Didnt like the pointy black stones around tho... that could be very dangerous for little ones!! Fantastic pools of which 1 I know was salt water. Been to Corralejo before... great for a break with sun!!! Usual touristy overpriced shops, but Euro doesnt help at mo, so seemed quite expensive. Bit noisy when we went as it was Spanish Bank Holiday, and the music from the high street seemed very loud.. loud enough to keep me awake for 3 nights!! Usual cockroach in apartment - which freaked us out!! Hot Kettle water did the trick!! Recommend for budget holiday...

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
Thank Replayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We booked Ryanair and accommodation seperately for the money we paid (after speaking to other people we saved a fortune) we had an excellent holiday. I think you get what you pay for, if you want a 5 star pay for it! I think some of the reiews are very harsh!!!

Travelled with hubby, 5yr old and a 2 1/2 year old in a one bedroom apartment, we had a 1 bedroom right next to the pool, half board.

Staff- abrupt some of them.... but all reception staff are miserable abroad they get moaned at the day!!!! Restaurant staff lovely.

Rooms only for sleeping - were spacious and on first arrival clean... but maids need to clean the rooms as well a change the sheets and towels which they did do regularly... we ended up sweeping it out each day along with the terrace which they should have done.

We had 1 Cockroach but i'm afraid it comes with the Island its nothing personal to that hotel, but people seem to think it is!!!.... we sprayed each night before we went out and did not see anymore the whole stay, if you see any in your room reception will give you a can of spray. Mosquitos... had some 1 night but again but thats not the hotels problem....

Food- Canteen food as my husband calls it.... nice meat most nights with the trimmings, nice salads.... too many nights with chips though!!! Deserts where awful but the Icecream went down well with most people... again you get what you pay for, to each out there is easily 80.00 EUR for two adults and 2 children for dinner alone.

Entertainment - my kids absolutely loved it, baring in mind we werent even Thomas Cook the reps could not do enough for them, Lee Scott Claire and Meg you were fab... we used Kids Club a few days for the oldest and had to pay 5.00 EUR for 2 ours as we werent TC but thats a bargain....Evening entertainment bit cheesy but again the reps put everything into it...

Swimming pools lovely no where near as salty as I thought it would be... cold first few days but its now lovely... like any outdoor pool once your under its fine, my kids did ot moan about them being cold once.

Supermarket turn left out of hotel and keep walking to a Supernino cheaper that Hotel one.

Waterpark had a great day, but we went on one of the quieter days before all schools broke up I can imagine in August they will run out of rings and have massive ques!!!!

TV - you have to pay for, we didnt as we are on holiday and TV would never have been watched was not in the rooms long enough.

Safe - read on here beore we went there had ben some breakins.... none whilst we where there, but for 25.00eur get a safe, we did as even if someone had got in they are wlecome to a pile of dirty clothes!!!!

Had a great time would defo go back. Value for money, lovely weather.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tingtigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

me n my husband stayed at the oasis dunas in july this year we had a great time, would certainly recomend it for young families, the childrens club with (laura deakin and donna mclaughlin) was always busy they worked their socks off sometimes workin rite through till 11.30 at nite. the entertainment team were fantastic!!!! lee smith and scott bulavant are hilarious, but lee was moovin to another hotel today the dunas will miss u. one downfall the pools, they are freezin!! and salt water we didnt venture in them that much. the town corralejo had everything u needed plenty of shops cafes and bars. were lookin forward to goin again next year maybe for 3 weeks tho.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deakin24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

I stayed at these apartments in july 2010, with my family,and my parents. First arrived around ten o clock at night, was not shown around where our room was, was given a map to find ourselves,room was very very basic for self catering i.e two electric rings , fridge and kettle, no air con, no microwave etc.
Was told off another person who was at the same apartments that who was half board had a microwave in their room, i didnt understand the logic in that. Cleaner did not clean our room just changed towels and sheets about 3 days a week, i found dead cockroaches under settes and chairs, also the patio out the back was swarmed with ants and wasps, staff were very abrupt and rude, total RIP OF.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paige044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Let me start by saying that I am no way a snob! I have spent time in a huge variety of hotels ranging from 5* in the Carribean to 2* in Europe.
We booked this hotel as a cheap value for money break and were concerned about some of the reviews on here but chose to run with it as sometimes we've found reviews on this site to be overly critical of decent hotels.

HOWEVER, this place really is only just acceptable.

Our first room we were given had blood on the bedroom floor, the safe was hanging off the wall, as were the lights and the curtains would not close. So, we moved....and the first night seemed OK.
These rooms have no aircon so the breeze was essential but leaving the windows open ensured you had a constant flow of plant debris in your room and (unless you buy a mozzy wall vapour device) a huge risk of being eaten alive at night by the little critters!

On the 3rd night a nest of Cockroaches emerged from our built in wardrobe...7 of them!! 4 were destroyed with my sandals...but my wife didn't sleep that night as they played with us by hiding and then re-appearing all night!

The food was very "samey" and you are often fortunate if you manage to queue up and get your hot meat with the veg etc as they seemed incapable of having all the food out all the time......We regularly had to eat our meat then go and get veg etc afterwards. Or you could wait and eat cold meat when the veg arrived. The juice and tea/coffee is only available for breakfast...don't expect a drink unless you pay for it with your evening meal.

The kids club to be fair did a good job and entertained the youngsters as did the Thomas Cook team round the pool doing the activities.

The "Suncare advisor" did well selling £30 bottles of "real sun protection" to gullable people!

The worst bit was the state of repair of the whole complex....it just looked as though it had seen far better days and no-one cared about it. There were spills and litter on the pavements from the first day we got there ...which remained there as we left. Nothing was ever cleaned up....

The pool area was the only exception which was well looked after by the female lifeguard. Fair play to you girl...you had some pride!

In summary, if you are looking for very cheap and very cheerful...this does the minimum. A bed, some food and a good location. That is it though....compare it to say an inflight meal...it does the job....but that's it!!!

I will never return to this and will probably go to the Barcelo down the road next time which we stayed at 3 years ago.

You choose....if you're used to a decent standard hotel...this will make you cry. Believe me!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLENCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Ok, well I can understand the mixed reviews here.

Lets start with the weather. Weather was great.

Rooms were basic, spacious, but I did not think it was clean enough. The shower was all chipped and stuff.

The maid service is not every day :/

Food is SHOCKING. Just awful. We paid for half board and only had dinner in the hotel restaurant about 2/3 times and we were there for 11 nights!

Some of the staff are friendly, but some are so rude and moody. There is a waitor in the restuarant who is sort of old- ish (he is a man), and he is SO RUDE.

Reps are helpful.

The pool area looks nice, but the pool really was not clean at all. One day the baby pool was closed off!

Reception area is painted a HORRIBLE green ?????!!

Entertainment in the day could be a lot better, whereas the night entertainment is actually good.

Even though I would not recommend the hotel, I still did enjoy the holiday itself!!! I recommend you go to La Oliva beach (Sand Dunes) . It is amazing, Around 5 euros in a taxi. There is Waikiki beach which is nearer and in walking distance but it is not really that good.

So, food is probably the main problem in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hello5154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
1,037 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fuentepark Apartamentos
Fuentepark Apartamentos
#10 of 45 in Corralejo
1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Village
Oasis Village
#28 of 45 in Corralejo
2,731 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Ananda Resort Fuerteventura Hotel Mirador de Lobos Golf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Duna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Duna Hotel

Address: Avda. Maxorata 2, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Price Range: £44 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Duna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Duna apartments - Hotel is located in Corralejo (Fuerteventura). With an extension of 60.000m2, is a large tropical garden with a massive pool area and an expansive sun terrace. The large common areas with bars, restaurants, recreation areas, theater and beautiful gardens are ideal for relaxing and enjoying the holidays. The complex has 340 apartments, all equipped with kitchennette and bathroom, as well as furnished balcony or terrace. Its location is ideal, located just 50m from the main street and 900m from Corralejo beach. The Natural Park of the Dunes of Corralejo is located at 2km and the airport at 38km. It also has other touristic attractions around it, such as ACUA water park at 200m, El Campanario Shopping Center and Las Plameras Shopping Center, wich are 400m away. The one and two bedroom apartments, and especially the children's pools and slides, make this complex an ideal place to spend the holidays with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Idiso Digital, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oasis Duna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerteventura Oasis Dunas
Oasis Duna Corralejo
Hotel Oasis Duna
Dunas Fuerteventura Oasis
Oasis Dunas Fuerteventura
Oasis Duna Hotel Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing