We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very basic avoid food at all costs”
Review of Oasis Duna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oasis Duna Hotel
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very basic avoid food at all costs”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

stayed here with my husband and daughter aged 6 in august 2010. After reading previous reviews I was hoping alot of the visitors were just being fussy. How wrong could I be!! In desperate need of a revamp although it has supposedly been refurbished still don`t know where. We were warned from someone who had arrived the night before that the food was terrible, he was spot on. The next morning we went for breakfast thinking this has got to be OK .Food was barely warm,had no taste, even the juice was like water and don`t get me started on the flies!!! The same in the evening. More barely warm food, no taste and more flies.
Onto the rooms. very basic old furniture that has seen better days. A broken sofa bed . The front door could have easily been kicked in without much force but we always hire a safe, definately recommended. The clealiness of the apartments left alot to be desired. The "cleaning of the room" consisted of emptying the bins and changing the towels once a week. Never swept or mopped. The pool area never got hosed down or cleaned in the 2 weeks we were there, god knows when that was last done, if ever.
Will I go back to fuerteventura ? defo
Will I go back to these apartments? defo not !!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyTyneAndWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    790
    600
    278
    216
See reviews for
1,055
747
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

we have just returned from our two week holiday at the Oasis Dunas with our 3 and 5 yr old.....when we arrived to our room which was on the ground floor we were shocked by how basic it was a shabby kitchenette flies splattered on the walls from previous guests, horrible bathroom 1970,s shower shall i go on? Sofa bed was broken but had to live with that as the maintenance man said that they were all in that state...the next thing to slap us in the face was the food well what can i say if your kids like chips and processed food with a few flies thrown in then this is the place for you! no hygeine where food is concerned food was not covered so flies were having a field day ! Table cloths were never cleaned after each guest just wiped away the crumbs! the food for the adults was not any better to be honest something thomas cook need to look at because alot of people were moaning about the food...we complained to our reps (Pinky and Perky!!) they were not approachable really but we managed to get a few free meals out of them although some friends that we made managed to get money from them for meals outside of the hotel. On the upside the Thomas Cook entertainers were fab they kept the kids entertained at the Disco and the adults in the evening there was always something different on thumbs up to them! Also the kid reps were great too! Pools were ok Saltwater which isn't a major problem,. Accom is in a good position acroos the road is the waterpark, round the corner from the main shops and restaurants and only a few min taxi ride to the main beautiful beach! We had a nice holiday but bear in mind the half board option i wouldn't recommend my friends go there. If you can put up with basic accom and shoddy food you will have a great time...our kids loved it but without the entertainment...who knows!!..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlou100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corralejo hotels

Guernsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The rant I have about Thomas cook is huge but i keep with the facts about the oasis dunas

1. we had a 'refurbished' room.. the walls had mould on them (fresh mould not just the old mould that had been painted over along with a thousand bugs and pubic hair),
Electric wires stuck out sockets,
The door look liked it had been kicked in and patched with polyfiller.
the windows did not lock
The steps up to the room were unsafe
It was dirty.. oh so very dirty... the beds were disgusting.. god knows how many bugs were leaping around in there.
We found some very interesting things left by previous occupants ( a clear sign that cleaning under and inside was not high on a to do list)
The shower curtain was developing life of its own and the shower head lost more water from the bottom then from the actually head of it.....

we asked to be moved room.. it was cleaner but not clean and there was still massive damage to a newly referb room.

The food was: Cold, reheated multiple times and was basically fly invested crap, for those not observant enough staff when clearing plates would pick out items at breakfast and not throw them away... i have no idea what they did with them but it cant be nice. there was no fresh fruit unless you class the lonely apple seen on occassion. (we complained to thomas cook about quality of food.. the agreed it was shocking and stated that it was really a Self catering holiday.. well why sell as HB??! (one staff member admitted they did not eat the food at all.

We asked for our Hb staus to be dropped to SC which was done.. there are some lovely bars and resturants in the area.. thank goodness they saved the holiday!

The staff: on the whole the hotel staff were friendly and helpful..there was one miserable lady that clearly should have nothing to do with the public or tourist, very rude.

The facilities: our niece and nephew took advantage of the Thomas Cook Kids Club twice... they had a lovely time and the thomas cook kids club staff were fantastic with them.

The pool, although it was cleaned maybe every day.. maybe??? it had bits of paper,plasters and other 'stuff' floating in it most days, the visability was shocking (prob below the guidelines for pools) the kids enjoyed it but I can honestly say the sea was much clearer, beautiful and better for you!

If you dont mind bland mush food with no taste (some people like it). If you really dont mind what you room looks like and that you have to pay extra for a TV and the remote is on a bit of string incase you feel the urge to take it home as a little reminder about your holiday! If you like lounging around a pool all day and having everything very 'english' around you then you may indeed enjoy the oasis dunas... we did not at all.. thomas cook for £750 per adult we expected better!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eyremurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

After getting a bargain deal on the net (10 days half board ) we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel!
Good points:
Weather- hot and sunny every day!
Food- breakfasts excellent and lots of choice
Rooms- Clean
Staff- we found all staff to be very friendly
Resort- excellent, lots to do and it had a very laid back feel. We loved the old town and ate at some good restaurants (Taverna Fogalera and Cafe del puerto)Our favourite bar was 'buen aonda'-(tucked away in an alley way in the old town) staff were so friendly, we were treated like locals!

Only negatives were rooms are a bit dated and tired and dinner was not hot enough!

Overall its great value and we would go again for the price we paid!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just Came back from this resort and had a great time. Apartments were basic but cleaned every other day. We had a ground floor apartment witha patio which was nice and was greeted by the same freindly, clean stray cats most mornings!!!

Pool area was nice and refreshing, could do witha few more umbrellas but be out before 9 to lay towels out if theres a few of you!!

Pool was clean and 'hoovered' every morning and thomas cook staff organised games in the pool such a s water polo whichwas great fun.

Pool food was also ok, did milkshakes, icecreams and hot food and drinks, which i enjoyed most days!!
It takes about 5mins to walk to resturants and shops, Food was nice in most places!, wouldnt reccomend the chinese's there were abit 'DEEP FRIED'

tHE BEST Places to eat were La tasca, American Dreams and Al toino?? (i think)

Beach was 10 minute walk, small and sea was full of rock and sea weed, nice for walks though, we went to the dunes beach (10 minute bus ride) on the number 8. It was clean and lovely sea!! also camel rides, but take a pack lunch as resurant was rip off.

Only down side was some reception staff were abit rude and would carry on a casual convo whilst you stand there argh!!
Water park was okay, not worth the 20 euro as we only stayed a few hours(sunday is quitest day we found)

Enjoyed the stay throughout and may go back in a few years !!

Bargin holiday and enjoyed the sunshine !!!!


Lots of cockroaches !! they were disgusting !!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerylStreep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Stayed in a two bedroom ground floor apartment at The Oasis Dunas, Corralejo, between 28/07/2010 and 11/08/2010 and this is the fifth occasion our family has been to this resort in the past ten years, although the first time at this hotel.
By virtue of the fact we return so regularly, we clearly enjoy the resort and in particular the time spent at The Dunes! The weather is consistently warm & sunny and if you do choose to eat out there are a number of restaurants where the prices are reasonable. However, it was noticeable this year that there has been an increase in the pressure applied by staff working the pavements to 'encourage' holiday makers to enter their particular restaurants to eat - this can be extremely annoying shall we say, especially as the restaurants are next to each other! In fact, across the board retailers and restaurant staff in general simply want our money and they are not even remotely hiding the fact. The recession in Spain is biting hard on the resorts!
The hotel, generally, 'does what it says on the tin'. However, I feel it to be more of a 2 Star than 3 Star and there is certainly no sign of any re furbished work within the apartments - certainly not ours! Plaster and paint peeling from the walls for instance and extremely tired and dated furniture. Towels are changed twice weekly and bed linen once weekly. The most noticeable issue for us was the general sign of uncleanliness in and around the public areas of the complex and a lack of cleaning staff in general. Cost cutting measures maybe? The hotel staff as mentioned by other people are straight to the point, not particularly friendly and seemingly, do not appear like holidaymakers,however, they love to take our money! Having said all that, if you only use such hotels as a base then fine, you are well placed to get out and enjoy the resort. There are better options here, however, I accept the price of this accommodation is competitive when compared to others. Will be back next year, but not here!!

Family,
West Midlands.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shana2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This holiday was truely magical and loved every minute of it, Rooms are basic but enough for what you need, pools are clean and very refreshing, salt water so stung your eyes a little, so wear googles if you can. my son is 5 and would of loved to spend every minute in the pool.

We were half board and food was average, plenty to choose from but unfortunatly we are all picky eaters so lived on chips and pasta. breakfast better cooked breakfast and cereals all your buns and bagettes, tea coffee and juice on tap. have to pay for your evening meal drinks.

Entertainment was terrific and scott, claire and meg done a terrific job keeping us all entertained, especially my son the dizzy and shades show he loved, bingo played every night and as much as i was annoyed i didnt win i loved to play, 10pm a show on every night, one night they had a magician or birds of pray show, also pop stars and a groovy wonderland which was terrific.

The island is great please do VIP to oasis park a great day out and loads of memerabilia to take home, DVDs and photos with all kinds of animals.

plenty of shops and right on your door step, mini golf which my son done every day for 3 euros, super jumpers and trampolines.

on a whole i actually loved the island that much i didnt want to come home and i am looking into moving out there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jones027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 45 in Corralejo
1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Village
Oasis Village
#28 of 45 in Corralejo
2,558 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Atlantis Dunapark
Hotel Atlantis Dunapark
#25 of 45 in Corralejo
553 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arena
Hotel Arena
#20 of 45 in Corralejo
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Duna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Duna Hotel

Property: Oasis Duna Hotel
Address: Avda. Maxorata 2, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Duna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oasis Duna apartments - Hotel is located in Corralejo (Fuerteventura). With an extension of 60.000m2, is a large tropical garden with a massive pool area and an expansive sun terrace. The large common areas with bars, restaurants, recreation areas, theater and beautiful gardens are ideal for relaxing and enjoying the holidays. The complex has 340 apartments, all equipped with kitchennette and bathroom, as well as furnished balcony or terrace. Its location is ideal, located just 50m from the main street and 900m from Corralejo beach. The Natural Park of the Dunes of Corralejo is located at 2km and the airport at 38km. It also has other touristic attractions around it, such as ACUA water park at 200m, El Campanario Shopping Center and Las Plameras Shopping Center, wich are 400m away. The one and two bedroom apartments, and especially the children's pools and slides, make this complex an ideal place to spend the holidays with your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Oasis Duna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerteventura Oasis Dunas
Oasis Duna Corralejo
Hotel Oasis Duna
Dunas Fuerteventura Oasis
Oasis Dunas Fuerteventura
Oasis Duna Hotel Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing