We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited for a 5* "luxury" hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Schuttrange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Limited for a 5* "luxury" hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Arrival is disappointing when arriving looking at the abandoned next constructions that are supposed are such a "second phase"... People in the reception are very kind but bad organized... We booked a room with "swimming-pool/garden view"... and what we got was a room having a wall at 4 meters from the terrasse with any view at all... you never know if the problem is the hotel our the travel company (Luxair Tours)... hopefully we got a new room at a "reasonable" price with a fantastic sea view... which completely changed our holidays... We also booked the +half pension... but it was quite difficult to book the thematic restaurants and even the first day we should go to the "normal" buffet dinner, that was not bad... The best of the thematic restaurants is the "Cúpula" without any doubt... please do not try the Japanese as it is clearly under the "standards"... Breakfast was nice as well as the Spa mainly in the morning when we were almost alone taking profit of the installations... Swimming pool was also nice. It also has a nice gym and we appreciated the activities there organized as well as the "mini-club". Despite that it is noted that free internet is available in the rooms this was not our case for the two rooms we "tested" which is not acceptable for such a hotel... The hotel is well located to take a taxi (between 4-5€) to the village which has nice restaurants and walks... and there is also a free bus to go the the closest beaches and the typical dunes of Corralejo. The "mirador bar" was excellent mainly because of the view to the sea and the shows were also nice. Staff were absolutely excellent included the housekeepers and waiters in the restaurants.

Room Tip: Without any doubt rooms with a view to the sea should be booked and, if possible, in the second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CutoCalleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate the time and effort you have invested in sharing your holiday experience in our hotel through Tripadvisor.

We always welcome our guests to forward their feedback, as it is an important tool for us to find out what perception the guest have of our hotel and to improve our services to meet clients expectations.

We are sorry to hear that upon check in you found the room not to match your expectations, however rest assured that our hotel does always review and correct any misleading information provided through the touroperators. We have already taken the necessary corrective measures contacting your agency in order to prevent similar incidents in the future.

We assign the rooms according to the category of room you have booked and whenever a guest is not satisfied, depending on our availability, we can offer an upgrade to a higher category paying the corresponding supplement at a special rate.

In reference to our theme restaurant, as explained in our website and on the agency brochures, these open on a rota basis and a prior reservation is mandatory. Our recommendation is to reserve at least one day before as there is great demand especially in high season. On the other hand we cannot agree on your comment about “Yamatori” our Japanese Restaurant. It does comply with all of our standards and is a favourite amongst our guests as stated in many other reviews you can read here on Tripadvisor. However food is a very personal choice and we can understand that Japanese food isn’t everybody’s cup of tea.

Finally, our location is just opposite the sea and beside the National Park of the Dunes. We cannot be made responsible for any abandoned building site around town, if anyone has an issue with it they may complain to the town council as this underlies their responsibility. All we can do is invest our effort and time in offering an excellent service in our hotel. Our guest usually forget about anything outside the hotel walls once they have set food in our hotel, we are proud to achieve this and are determined to keep up the good work.

We hope to have the opportunity to meet you again and to have a second chance to change your point of view in relation to our hotel and services.

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,396
    405
    113
    30
    19
See reviews for
472
1,159
67
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here as two families for a week. The Hotel is clean and well designed. Rooms good size with plenty of storage except coat hangers ( why do hotels do that!!!) Staff very friendly and helpful. Drinks & food usual Five star prices but then the drinks a proper measures.
Would say it needs a games room for older children
Hotel is set in a perfect place with good views and lovely beach walk to the town but if you do not fancy that taxi is only 5 euros
The town is rustic but has plenty of restaurants and we managed to find the best ones all week
All in all great island friendly people and a hotel will return to in the future I trust that they keep up their excellent standards

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glynford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit with all of your family here at the Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL.

With delight we read that you had a very good impression of our hotel and that you would return in the future, we will indeed keep up our excellent standarts as we believe it is the corner stone of our success. Thank you also for your comments regarding the faultless cleanliness and the beautiful design of our hotel, as well as the spacious rooms. Please don’t hesitate to ask for more cloth hangers whenever you need them as we have enough in store. We also do have a game room for the kids, it is located just beside the mini-club and the children love it!

In reference to our staff we are very proud of them and will surely forward your praise to them as it is always a high motivation. We are looking forward to see you all again very soon!

Warm regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had previously stayed at the old Atlantis Palace Hotel and had a memorable time - so it was hoped that with a new (5 star) hotel on the beach, things could only get better.

Sadly this was not to be.

The hotel is surrounded by a huge abandoned leisure/retail project behind it, an equally unappealing and abandoned holiday development on the beach and domestic dwellings/abandoned restaurants on the other side .

The Hotel was obviously trying to save running costs and this was reflected by virtue of the fact that the air conditioning had been turned off and - as we found to our cost - would only be switched back on after we had departed. (We stayed at this hotel for two weeks, end Feb to mid March 2013)

Whilst the hotel did provide a fan, this was not a suitable substitute - the weather had turned rainy and humid and we were faced with the choice of either having the balcony doors open and fight off the swarms of mosquitoes that found the abandoned building sites the perfect breeding ground, or close the doors and sweat it out - either way the end result was that we did not have a decent night's sleep for the last week we were there.

To add insult to injury the hotel does NOT provide bottled water and finds it acceptable to charge Euro 3.50 for a 500ml bottle ! - this is nothing short of daylight robbery ( a 2 litre bottle retails at Euro 0.99c !)

As for the in room WiFi - well it did work if you held your laptop on your head with your nose pressed up against the front door ( I kid you not !)

If you are English speaking then your only TV channels are News - does the hotel think that this is all English speakers want to watch? - Spanish, German, Italian and other nationalities are adequately catered for ( maybe a message in that somewhere ?) and we would have expected a 5 Star hotel to have a decent selection of on demand English channels.

There is no shuttle into Correlejo, mind you this has deteriorated into a depressing little place, devoid of any character and filled with streets of yet more abandoned and boarded up developments , shops selling liquor and tat and the ubiquitous and thoroughly depressing "Sports Bars".
There is a shuttle to "the dunes", where you run the risk of seeing naturists cavorting to their delight - not my cup of tea I'm afraid.

So you are left with the hotel beach - an equally depressing and dirty place, which is strewn with rocks and is obviously never cleaned ( tampons, cigarette stubs etc, lying all over the place)

All of the above is not what we had expected from a 5 star Hotel, charging top rates - it simply didn't cut the mustard and did not represent value for money in any shape or form

The icing on the cake came when we checked out and - having paid the bill in full - I was asked if I had enjoyed my stay, by the tall male receptionist with dark glasses and lank greasy hair .

I explained that I felt that it was not acceptable that a 5 Star hotel should not have full air conditioning available at all times and was about to elaborate on the other points when I was cut short by the smirking receptionist brushing me off with:-

" oh shame - we are turning the air conditioning on in two days "
" fat lot of good that is going to do to make up for my last week without sleep " I said
" ah well it's all there in the small print in the brochure " smirks the receptionist !

Will I return - under no circumstances
Would I recommend this hotel - no - it's not a 5 Star hotel even in your dreams
Would I suggest people visit Correlejo - no

Sad really as we had such happy memories of our previous visit

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank W0mbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely appreciate the time you have dedicated to let us know your feedback about your recent stay with us. Your opinion is very welcome yet we are surprised about your disrespectful remarks as they obviously lack objectivity. After publishing your comments last month these were removed from Tripadvisor due to unappropiate language, although now you have modified it we still think it does not reflect reality at all.

First of all we like to make clear that we welcome all guests and take good care of them, no matter their background, nationality or age. Our loyal repeat costumers are proof of it, amongst them also many British clients, your comment on this regard is inappropriate.

In reference to our room facilities and services we like to empathize the following points:

- All rooms in our hotel have air conditioning / heating depending on the season. This means that they are used according to weather conditions and can then be regulated individually. This information has been given to all agencies through our technical room specifications and is also advertised on the web, so again your accusation that we are trying to safe costs is not appropriate.
The Atlantis company has high investments in this hotel and new improvements and projects have are already started, we will inform about them very soon.

- We do offer a free welcome drink upon arrival, all other beverages are payable whether the consumption is made in the room or in bars and restaurants. We don’t know why you expected it to be free. We offer many other free services like the daily entrance at the spa, kettle service and safe hire, whilst in other places you may pay for them.

- The TV channels we have are in all different languages and some movies broadcasted can be watched in its original version. We have already introduced new british channels, in fact we are now broadcasting 7 channels with cartoons, news, series, films and documentals, so improvements have already been made thanks to the kind suggestions of our english spoken clientele.

- Our shuttle to the beach is another free service and it brings the costumers who wish to make use of it to the marvellous beaches at the dunes. As you may understand we cannot offer a free bus service around the island. However anyone interested can use the local bus, so the service is in any case provided for. You may also find excursion option and car hire, everything organizad through reception if you wish.

- Our hotel features wifi in the common areas, in the rooms as stated on our website and on the information provided by the agencies we offer ADSL internet connection. If you where not able to use it probably it was because you did not bring the wires of your pc and you did not ask at the reception for wires as we also provide them against a small deposit.

As a resume we must say that if you had any specific requirements we did not meet, you should have let us know about them before arrival, so that we could indicate which ones we can satisfy in the hotel and which ones not.

In reference to the surrounding of the hotel, we are located beside the Nature Park of the dunes, an ideal location. None of the rooms are facing the building site on the street and therefore it doesn’t affect the beautiful sights. Besides if you had already stayed in Corralejo before as you say, you knew exactly what it looks like, so we cannot understand your comments on the town and beaches this time as they are the same.
You certainly would not come back to a place that wasn’t suitable for you last time.
Moreover we feel sorry that you had such a negative perception of our hotel and the island itself right from the start til the end, as it seems to have spoilt your entire holiday, which we think is a shame.

Luckily enough we have many costumers that really appreciate and enjoy our hotel as what it is: a 5 star Deluxe Hotel that has been granted many international awards, located on a beautiful island with a unique flair of its own standing out by having some of the best beaches you will find in Europe.

Our hotel has a very high level of satisfaction on all aspects as travellers can check up on here in Tripadvisor. Since the opening day of our hotel, the dedication of our service and the quality of itself has been our main goal and it will continue to be so. We invite everyone to try it for themselves, you won’t be disappointed.

Regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughenden
Level Contributor
124 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a great hotel and I am fussy. We don’t normally stay at 5 star hotels with our boys but decided to on this occasion. We had a family room which was two large rooms connecting overlooking the pool. Good standard, excellent storage space. Maid service twice a day, pillow menu. I was a little disappointed that we didn’t have a sea view from the pool but after a couple of days I realised that this was because of the wind!!. There is beach but not for swimming although this is due to change this year as they are going to extend it. Pool area was lovely yes some of the mattresses were a little tired but everything was clean. We have stayed at a couple of 5 stars in Tenerife which maybe just had the edge but they are allot more money as well. Breakfast is excellent superb choice. We ate in the Japanese which again was very good but expensive for a family. Pool bar again good quality but a bit pricey. We chose to eat in corralejo using trip advisor as our steer. We had some excellent meals, would recommend La Taberna, On the Beach, El Adulaz and LA Scarpetta , agua bar and Kactus bar good cocktails. 5 euros each way for a taxi for 7.. we walked to the town a few times in the day along the beach, the beach is really unspoilt very rustic and a couple of beach bars on the way. Would definitely go back if you’re not going with the kids book a sea view it is stunning. Only one minor comment would be that a pool table or table tennis table would be good for teenagers as its very geared to younger children. Spa is very good although they make you wear a shower cap which is very strange, as doesn’t really do the job. I had an Indian head massage which was excellent but expensive. Would we go again definitely I just wish one of the airlines would operate a more reasonable flight home.. The beach by the sanddunes is lovely and there are a couple of beach bars down there as well. Hotel run a courtesy bus service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NickyPHughenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review concerning your recent visit here at the Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL.

With delight we read that you had a very enjoyable stay with us with your boys and that you felt you had made a good choice choosing our hotel for a family holiday. The family rooms you are mentioning are the perfect option for familes with children that are already independent, as they can have their own room but the interconnecting door allows parents a direct access.

We have a turn down service, so maid are checking all romms twice, one time for the cleaning and another time for further replacements and to prepare the bed for the night with small details to add our personal “flair”.

In reference to the pool layout, the pool is not facing directly the sea for a specific reason, we wanted to offer a space protected from the wind for those days when the sea breeze is a bit stronger.

But the beach is easily accessible from the pool, it takes you only 1 minute to exit the beach gate and you are there.

As you correctly state in your comments due to strong tides making it difficult to access the beach at times some improvements are going to take place soon, there will be news soon by the local authorities in reference to the beach improvements.

The miniclub caters for the need of chidren aged 4-12 years, for the older ones we have a game room with wii and plenty games to choose from.

In relation to our spa we like to inform that a shower cap is mandatory for hygienic reason as it is the norm in all establishments of our category, as well as the slippers.

One more thing we like to highlight is that the bus service running to the beaches at the Dunes Nationalpark are free of charge for our costumers.

It is a shame you did not use many of our restaurants as we are family friendly and our prices are standart for 5 star hotels, anyway we are happy to read that you did find suitable options in town and are sure other costumers find this information useful.
With renewed thanks for taking the time to share your experience and recommending our hotel here on Tripadvisor; we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay and were very happy with Bahia Real. By and large we have tended to spend the Easter Holidays in an Italian city environment (Venice, Florence, Rome) but we opted for Bahia Real, as we wanted to recharge our batteries; which is precisely what we managed to achieve.

We stayed in a sea view double deluxe, room 213. This room, quite by chance was perfect for us as it was directly opposite the entrance to the Spa facilities. (If you are a family you may well wish to request a room near to the outside pool if this is where you intend to spend more time - we never used this area so cannot comment, but it was a very attractive, well-kept space).These spa facilities were one of the main reasons we booked this hotel. There was a great range of machines and free weights in the gym. Moreover, the pool area of the spa was lovely. It was never busy and with a sauna, steam room etc it was a superb resource. I used this facility every day and feel that offered superb value for money as it was inclusive. If you wanted to join in group sessions (Pilates, Aqua Fit etc) you could and there was a warm/inclusive feel to this aspect of the hotel.

The room itself was a very pleasant place to spend time. The bed was superb, as was the linen provided. A really nice touch was a 'pillow menu' which allowed you to request specific firmness of pillows from reception. This really helped me to sleep soundly. The balcony and sea view were stunning - worth the extra. It offered a very private view of the constantly changing sea (a stone’s throw away), with Isla de Los Lobos in the middle distance with Lanzarote on the horizon. The shower was powerful and the tub very relaxing. The bathroom generally was very well appointed, as was the room. I managed to get Wifi in the room, but it was a little slow and inconsistent. For quick reliable connections you need to go to the lobby. Overall, the room was of a very high standard. Perhaps the best aspect of the room was the level of service provided by the maids/cleaners. Very thoughtful and attentive in every respect.

The food was very good. The breakfasts were a true highlight. The range and quality of the food was outstanding – full-cooked, yoghurt, fresh fruit, pancakes and syrup, fresh smoothies, lots of delectable pastries plus the usual continental fare. The pool side bar/restaurant was first-rate, although the menu never seemed to change, so repetition of choices was inevitable. Some rotation or a more pronounced specials selection to cater for different diets would really add to the experience. The quality of what was cooked and served was very high. The evening buffet was themed (Spanish, International, Japanese, Tex-Mex) and a wide range of foods were available. We only went to the Spanish a la carte restaurant and the food was excellent – they were very accommodating of my wife’s vegetarian diet. Two of these a la carte restaurants operate per evening, so you have that choice. Plus, in breakfast, the hotel gives you a news summary for your country and on the reverse of this sheet is the forward plan for the rota of restaurants in the evening. We tended to not eat late in the evening and were quite stuffed by the time the evening meal came around! The bar inside the lobby served a superb range of drinks and even had my favourite gin, G’Vine. Generous shots too by the ever helpful bar staff. We never ate in Corralejo itself. It did not really seem to offer much apart from the typical bars/pubs. I’m sure it has some good restaurants, but we never felt the need to find them as we were so well served at the hotel. It’s not a pretty town either and lacks charm, so we personally didn’t bother. You can walk there easily though if that’s what you want, it was only 10 minutes down the beach.

A major plus point for us was the fact that nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff. They were very polite and attentive. There was no snobbishness. The hotel had a welcome range of nationalities and personalities. Having stayed in other spa hotels around Europe, you do run the risk of encountering the self-proclaimed elite and the body beautiful. This is not the case at Bahia Real. It was luxurious without the pretentiousness you can find in some 5 star spa hotels. It is a place where couples and families of all types can feel comfortable and welcome.

We would certainly return if we fancied this style of holiday again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view if you can and ask for a room near to the resources you intend to use most of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sprigeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to evaluate your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor, thus sharing the positive experience with other travellers by giving us such a nice feedback.

It is a pleasure to learn that you finally decided to come to our hotel for a refuel of batteries as we think it is indeed the ideal place; an idyllic retreat to recover from “real life”.

We intend to give every single guest the feeling to be in a home away from home, it seems we did achieve this with you and this a great satisfaction for our entire team.

As you mention our spa area has a daily free access for all our guests over 16 years of age, included in the room price. In our Spa Bahía Vital you may choose within a large variety of treatments featuring body massage, special therapies, rassoul bath and other programs designed to boost your health and wellbeing. Our friendly reception staff at the spa is always eager to offer the most suitable treatment for everyone and a personal trainer is at your disposition to ensure a perfect workout at the gym. Thank you for pointing out that we offer very good value for money.

We also appreciate your comments on the room quality and the superbe view from the balcony as well as mentioning our professional housekeeping staff that is making sure at all times to leave the room in perfect condition. The pillow menu is just one of our small details to attention that we offer, we like to surprise our guests with these small things that contribute to your overall comfort.

Our hotel offers free internet 100% in all areas. The wifi is very complete coverage in the common areas. In case the signal is weak, all the rooms have ADSL plug-in where you can conect your laptop. If you need it, upon deposit, we can provide a router to be placed in your room, ensuring 100% wifi signal.

Our gastronomic offer is a highlight for everyone, especially the breakfast is a favourite amongst our guest, you give a very detailed description of what there is to have.

On the other hand our Beach Club Las Palmeras offers a menu a la carte, the fish is fresh catch of the day and is not the same every day, the rest of the menu is a fixed selection of startes and mains. The menu also undergoes changes now and then, we decide each season depending on the best products available on the market.

Thanks for emphasizing that our themed restaurants are another good selection and that we provide all information to our guest so that they can choose according to their preferences even accommodating on special dietary requests if we are informed.

Another thing mentioned in your review is the politeness of our staff and the fact that we welcome everybody in the same way, make you feel comfortable right from the start. We put great effort in our job but also love what we do, and in the end this makes the real difference as you can tell. We try to establish a relationship with all guest and we do really care, this is what you have experienced yourself and it is a pleasure for us to have it reconfirmed.

We wish to thank you for having chosen our Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real *****GL as your holiday destination and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.


Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Visited early March'13 for a one week holiday.
Whilst there were several aspects of this hotel that were of 5 star quality, for example the reception and bedrooms, many other aspects were not.
Very disappointed with the following.
Our first bedroom, side sea view, overlooked the garage wall of a villa and had a distinct smell. We paid extra for a full sea view room.
Brochure stated air conditioning ( which you would naturally expect in a 5 star hotel), but was not available as March is classed as a winter month.
The pool area, whilst attractive in its layout, had sunbeds that were adorned with old, tired and shabby sun mattresses. Also the floor around the main pool was breaking up and this area needed to be refurbished.
The hotel boasts as having three a la carte restaurants. Only one is normally open each evening in addition to the main buffet restaurant, therefore restricting choice. The hotel offers a half board Royal package at extra cost, enabling guests to dine in one of their a la carte restaurants. In the time we were there usually only one of these restaurants was open.
Although the food in the a la carte restaurants was generally alright, was not of Gourmet standard. Also they were repeat menus.
Many of the buildings surrounding the hotel either stand empty or are in an unfinished state. The complex next to the hotel is covered in graffiti and can only be described as looking like a 'war zone'. You have no choice but to walk past this to get to the sand dunes.
In addition I do believe that the hotel could have made some attempt to clean the beach immediately in front of their hotel, as sun beds are positioned there.
The town of Corralejo is not one I would wish to revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 967AndrewS967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear guest,

We would first like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel.
We are glad to find out that the friendly reception staff and our spacious bedrooms lived up to your expectations. However we are surprised about some of your comments as the majority of our guests leave our hotel really satisfied.

The room you have initially booked did not feature a sea view amongst room specifications, in fact we did never advertise it having a seaview. For this reason you had to pay an extra amount to upgrade to a superior room, as in any other hotel there is a price difference according to accommodation category. On top of this the room you were allocated had views to the bay of Corralejo and to the neighbour island of Lanzarote, and we like to emphazise that the villa close to us does not cover up that view. Please also remember that we applied a very special rate below the official one for your upgrade according to our guest satisfaction policy.

Also we do not know if you reported the smell, as you do not mention it, if so we are sure our efficient housekeeping stuff got rid of it quickly. All of our rooms are inspected before check in of the guests and if anything is to be faulted we will always sort it out to your satisfaction or offer a room change if necessary.

Our pool equipment is not aged, it is only worn out by the long-lasting sunshine of the Canaries, please be aware that here we have usually a very good weather and it shows its impact on garden and pool furniture, and on the flooring as the ceramic tiles expand with the heat. In any case we will replace it as soon as it is necessary as we are a high maintenance hotel and we are continuously working to keep the hotel in excellent shape.

According to the information provided on our website and upon check in our themed restaurant are open on different days and a reservation is mandatory. We give all of our guest the chance to dine at least once in any of them and during the time of your visit we had the three ones opened on most evenings, We know that you have used two of them, and the main restaurant. We suppose you did not fancy the third one as we did have enough space also there. We also like to highlight the fact that the guest that choose half board additionally benefit from a special discount in the theme restaurant and that there is a special rate for upgrading to royal half board whenever this is done for a few days on a row.

Our main restaurant “Alacena Real” offers a great variety, there a 7 differently themed nights and according to the theme the menu changes completely, from the starters to the mains, the show cooking areas, and the dessert. If you repeated some of the food it was because you stayed longer than a week and even in this case at least the starters and dessert have changed as these are selected on a rotary basis.

In reference to the surrounding buildings we are not responsible for their appearance, as we are not for the rest of the town appearance. Our hotel collaborates with a beach cleaning project that is periodically taking place, as we are supporting all actions taking place in relation to the environment. In any case we are only directly responsible for the hotel appearance and we think in this aspect we are doing well, although we always keep an open ear to our guests feedback. So we appreciate your comments very much and we will certainly take them into account for further improvements.

We hope to meet you again soon at the Gran Hotel Bahía Real*****GL and to have the opportunity to change your point of view with our attention to detail and enthusiastic dedication to service.

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

This hotel is really at the top range... Very high standard for Spanish standards... Spotlessly clean and great finishes... The staff is international so no need to get your dictionary out! The Spa has a huge range of treatments!! The rooms are spacious and the bed sleeps oh so well... And if you're lucky to get a sea view....well..the sea is litterally at your feet...
The only thing I could complain about is the Wifi in the room... But that is really the only thing....
I will be going back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marieP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for giving us your personal feedback through Tripadvisor, we really appreciate this kind gesture as it enables us to get a final evaluation.

It has been a pleasure to read that you think our hotel is top range offering very high standards in all aspects. We hope you spent wonderful days here and always remember these. On the other hand we would like to apologize if the wifi connection failed on some occasion, we are now offering our guest technical assistance whilst we are improving this service.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we will be expecting you anytime.

Best regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.7 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#5 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Property: Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Address: Avenida Grandes Playas N 103, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5* GL se encuentra situado en uno de los rincones mas bellos de la isla de Fuerteventura, en primera linea de playa, junto al Parque Natural de las Dunas de Corralejo. El nuevo Coco Beach Chill Out es un lugar unico donde disfrutar en sus camas balinesas de un momento de placer y relax sobre el mar. Un rincon especial donde disfrutar de un cocktail en un ambiente agradable y sofisticado con una ubicacion simplemente magica. La nueva playa del hotel dispone de hamacas, sombrillas y paravientos donde descansar sobre la fina arena blanca y sumergirse en las cristalinas aguas con vistas excepcionales a las islas de Lobos y Lanzarote. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Corralejo
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing