We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,864)
Filter reviews
2,864 results
Traveller rating
2,045
572
152
51
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,045
572
152
51
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view pillow menu hotel atlantis indoor pool turn down service beautiful hotel half board junior suite star hotel buffet restaurant unfinished building a la carte restaurants steam room spa facilities piano bar each evening canary islands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,138 - 1,143 of 2,864 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We decided on some winter sunshine for my 65th birthday. The Canary Islands are a short haul from Europe and an excellent escape from dull winter days.

Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real is about 40 minutes by taxi from the airport and stands right on the coast. This is of course the Atlantic and "Fuerteventura" means strong winds, so expect to spend your lazy winter days around the large hotel pool which is enclosed by the hotel for protection and which means it unfortunately has no view of the ocean.

Our lavish and spacious Atlantic Suite however had a wonderful ocean view and was one of the nicest hotel suites I have stayed in.

The hotel service is of a very high standard, one forgotten evening turn down was their only mistake.

The restaurants are excellent. Not every restaurant was open every night however there was always a good choice of varied cuisines and the standard of food, wine and service was immaculate.

The spa was probably state of the art when it was opened but feels dated now.

I found the singers or singer musicians who provided evening entertainment in the bar to be disappointing. They may have pleased others but I found them second rate.

Fuerteventura itself is worthy of exploration although it's shopping is mostly limited to essentials and souvenirs. There seem to be a few interesting restaurants and bars in the beach area but we spent most of our time in the hotel, as we intended to do.

Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real is a good choice for value and winter sun without the long haul to the admittedly prettier beaches of the Indian Ocean and South Pacific, etc.

Room tip: Ask for a sea view room or suite on an upper floor, not too far from the pool.
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sold
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Secrets Bahia Real Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear clients.

Thank you very much for your comments in Tripadvisor and the time you have dedicated to. We are very proud of your comments about our Suite Atlantico and as you have been satisfied by our restaurants offer with their variety, choice and service. We thank you for have decided to be in our hotel the most time during your holidays and we hope you have relaxed in our hotel.

We hope you to come and be by us in a short future.

Kind regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Gran Hotel Atlantis. We booked through Expedia and flew on Easy Jet as a package and found it cheaper than any of the other options available from Gatwick.
This is definitely the best place to stay on Fuerteventura. The hotel was not full so there was no rush to get pool chairs. The pool area is beautifully maintained with two large pools, a small children’s pool and comfy sunbeds with large fluffy towels. The pools were immaculately maintained. The pool staff worked really hard and always had a friendly smile when delivering drinks. There is also a great little book and magazine exchange at the towels area.
We had booked a partial sea view room and although the room was large we did not really like the view. We had no problem changing to a pool view room. The chairs on the balcony of our room were the best we have ever seen- so comfortable and we have stayed in many top class hotels around the world. There was also a mini drying rack on the balcony- what a great idea as people did not need to hang their laundry over the balconies and spoil the appearance of the hotel. There was no kettle in the room but when we enquired about this at reception they provided us with a kettle for our stay.
Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel and it worked perfectly- yet another excellent addition to the amenities.
We had half board and even though one of us is a picky eater, there was always plenty to choose from the evening buffets. Breakfasts were amazing with lots of choice of hot and cold dishes and “champagne” if you wanted. The young Finnish girl who looked after the buffet restaurant was particularly friendly with a warm welcome every time we arrived.
We rented a car for the week from the airport and it was very cheap. The nearby town of Correlejo is about a 5 minute ride away and parking is available. The town is very well appointed and very clean with many restaurants and bars catering to all tastes. We particularly enjoyed Waikiki and had lunch there most days.
The only criticisms of the hotel were that the drinks at the pool bar were a little pricey, particularly the cocktails compared with the cost in the town and the lunchtime menu could have had a greater choice of starter type foods on it such as chicken wings, etc. as many people enjoy a light selection of snack type food at lunch time. We also felt that a 7.30 am start for breakfast would have been preferable to 8 am as we wanted to drive out early and see the island before it became too warm.
We took a morning trip out to the island of Lobos which is well worth doing. If you like the beach you can spend the day there, but we just walked around for a couple of hours.
To sum up; this is a wonderful hotel on a very interesting island with a lunar type landscape. It was our first visit to the Canaries and we hope to return there again.

Room tip: Sea view rooms are popular but we enjoyed our room overlooking the pool on the 3rd floor
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1BriKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Secrets Bahia Real Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear clients.

First of all we want to thank you for your wide and wonderful review in our hotel. We thank you for recommending us as the best hotel to stay in Fuerteventura. Thank you very much also for your comments over our pool area, the room equipment, amenities and free wifi. We also provide free kettle set up to all our clients who request this service. Our breakfast is very appreciate by our mutual guests, who enjoy our wide opening time from 08.00 to 11.00 h. and on weekends until 11.30 h. As you mention, our frontal sea view rooms have the most exceptional open view to the ocean, Lobos and Lanzarote island, and the side sea view rooms have views to Corralejo bay.

We are very proud you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and we expect you come and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this last minute through Thomson for a week and opted to go for a junior suite with sea view, bed and breakfast.
We have no qualms whatsoever with this lovely Hotel and wonderful helpful staff.
My Partner unfortunately burnt his legs the first day. We used the beds on the beach (fabulous)
I recommend using the spa but due to the sunburn on my partners legs we didn't use it after the second day. The town is two minutes in a taxi or a fifteen minute walk. The staff are wonderful and friendly and there is nothing that they wont help you with if you ask! Extremely clean in all areas and the room service is impeccable, however, I have only one complaint which is the nightly entertainment which I think could be tweaked? Maybe a couple of shows a week in another part of the hotel so the guest can choose which one to "watch" or listen to? I will be looking out for this as we would like to return with our family. I would like to say a special Thank you to Constance. This young girl works so hard around the pool all day long with a lovely smile!

Room tip: All the rooms look really nice but the sea view on the first floor was excellent!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniepan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Secrets Bahia Real Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guests.

Thank you very much for your kindly review. Your comments over the junior suite sea view, the sunbeds on the beach, room service, cleanness, friendly staff… are memorable. We hope you both will enjoy and rest in our hotel in a future.

Kind regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned from 7 days of the most relaxing holiday for years!
As experienced travellers all around the world both as corporate and private holiday makers we know what we like !!
This hotel is sensational in every respect and ranks in the top 5 of all our stays.
Indeed on reflection and due entirely to the efforts of the happy professional and hard working staff we rate it number 1.
Many thanks for a wonderful stay
Vaughan & Pam

Room tip: Junior suite sea view
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vaughan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Javier T, Director General at Secrets Bahia Real Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guests Vaughan & Pam.

I have just read your wonderful review over our hotel and I just want to thank you for your lovely words. We are very proud of your recognition to our staff.
We thank you for your comments and we hope you will visit us again.

Kind regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here for a short 5 day break in May 2014. From the moment we walked into the Reception we could not fault the hotel. We were greeted by the very helpful and courteous staff, who were all dressed in traditional costume. We enjoyed a complimentary glass of Cava before going to our wonderful room.

The reception area is very sumptious as are the rooms. The room was absolutely beautiful, with all we needed for our stay such as toiletries, robes, slippers which was brilliant as we only travelled with hand luggage.

The breakfast was magnificient, with everything you could wish for. You could even have champagne ! There was everything from fruits, cheeses, breads and pastries, cereals, cooked breakfasts, omeletes, as well as extremely fresh fruits juices squeezed as you watched !

It is about a 20 to 25 min walk into town which we did every night, and then got a 3.5 euro taxi back.

The pool area was lovely and it also has its own beach with sunbeds. We didn't try the private jetty sunbathing area this time but certainly will be next time.

We cannot fault this hotel at all. Apart from the Atlantis The Palm in Dubai this is by far the nicest hotel we have ever used.

We will definately be returning.

Thank you so much for a lovely break.
Shirley and Andy Smith

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AndyandShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantis2punto0, Director General at Secrets Bahia Real Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mr. and Mrs Smith,,

We truly enjoyed reading this wonderful comment of your recent stay with us.

Yet again it was a pleasure for us to have you as our guest and to learn that you love our hotel, underlining the warm welcome you received upon arrival, the confort and luxury of your room, the excellent quality of our gastronomy and the perfect loaction of our hotel.

Rest assured that we will share you praising words with our reception, pool and restaurant staff. As a team we are highly dedicated to provide a memorable experience to each of our guest and there is no better reward for us than to know that your holiday was excellent mainly because of our efforts. Thank you for this kind recommendation!

We truly hope to welcome you back on a future occasion and remain, until then, with our best wishes.

Kindest regards,

Javier Tello
General Manager
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahía Real*****GL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews