We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, nice and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Spent a wonderful week at the Bahai Real in July 2009.

You can tell good hotels by how well they do the check in - this was very quick. Had a sea facing room; this was very comfortable with TV, minibar, safe etc. It had 2 huge wardrobes and a very nice bathroom.

We were on B&B so can only comment on the breakfast. This was very good. You can get a one page round up of the news of various languages as you go in. Used the bar in the hotel a few times, not too expensive and there are fantastic views from the terrace.

On the first evening we decided to walk into the town. Got maps and directions from the front desk, they offered to call us a taxi - probably not used to that many people doing the 20 minute walk. Beware of the palm trees. They block most of the paths so you need to walk in the cycle path or the road. This wasn't a problem as no one else was around; I think we saw 2 people and 1 car.

The town has the typically neon clad tourist bars and restaurants, we didn't go into them but they looked OK, and others around the seafront/harbour. Everyone was friendly and you don't get people pestering you too much to go into their bar. The strength of the euro against the pound meant everything seemed quite expensive, but we didn't go to anywhere that was a rip off.

We got a taxi back to the hotel each night. These are easy to pick up from the 2 taxi ranks and cost 3-4 euros to get back.

Back to the hotel review. Pool area was very good; the hotel wasn’t very full when we were there so it was easy to get a sunbed. Gym is very good was well. Our room was at the other end of the hotel from the gym so part of the work out was walking to it. Didn't try out the spa or inside pool.

There aren't many facilities near the hotel. There is a Netto supermarket for getting water etc. 5 minutes away but that is it. The recession has hit the Canary Islands and the building work around the hotel has all stopped. There is a small shopping centre 10 minutes walk away, but it is better to walk into the town if you want more choice.

Did the Tourist Train around Corralejo - you get to see the town in a 30 minutes ride. We did it towards the end of our holiday but it may have been better to do it earlier so we could have seen more places we could have gone to.

Our overall verdict is - very good hotel, 20 minutes walk into the town to get to some good bars and restaurants. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,255 - 1,261 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2009

Just returned from a relaxing week in Fuerteventura. Very short summary of Fuerteventura: Volcanic island, hardly no vegetation, lots of sand dunes, strong wind all day long, strong sun (high sun blocker !!!), great clear and clean sea, high waves, beautiful beaches.

The Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Location: (important for people who prefer the beach rather than the swimming pool)
As mentioned above, this Hotel is an oasis of luxury and peace in a terrible neighborhood. The Hotel has great views to the sea and the other islands around, but that's actually it. The beach in front of the hotel is quite rocky and not really beautiful, the buildings next to the hotel are abandoned and look terrible and bit spooky when you pass there in the evening. When I go on holidays , I always do a beach walk in the evening. Well, it was quite difficult there, because they locked all doors when the sun went down and I had to pass a few blocks to have access to the beach. The pretty sand dunes beaches are in 30 minutes walk or 5 min by shuttle bus. There are two, the touristic one with lots and lots of guests from the two RIU Hotels near by and the Dolphin Beach, which is quite deserted and mostly used by local people and a surfing school for kids. When you get out from the Shuttle bus , the touristic beach is to the right and the Dolphin beach is to the left of the Pyramid RIU Hotel. The main reason why I chose the Dolphin beach was, that on the other one were life guards. Very annoying people blowing the whistle all day long and trying to get you out of the sea, if you prefer to get in where it's not that crowded. I have to say, that waves were quite high on some days, but not dangerous at all. By far not to compare with the Pacific Ocean.

Hotel:
Absolutely International 5* Resort Standard, not to compare with a Mandarin Oriental, Leading Hotel, Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, but well worth every Euro or Dollar.
Huge marble lobby with a dome in the middle, some shops for souveniers and post cards, but I didn't find a shop for snacks or drinks. There is a shop at the shuttle bus station near the beach, and also in the town of Corralejo.

Room:
Had a beach room, very comfortable, great and quiet A.C., beautiful marble bathroom, TV with lots of services and channels, high quality beds with pillow menu for choice, minibar, safe, huge terrace. As for a non smoking room if non smoker!!

Restaurants:
La Cupula de Carles Gaig: High Quality Restaurant, excellent food, professional service, beautiful interior. (try the tuna as main course...wow!!
Italian Restaurant: Medium Quality Restaurant, average food quality, very small portions (don't come hungry), not a good value for money.
Yamatori: didn't go there but I think it's worth a visit if you like Japanese food.
Buffet Restaurant: Morning and Evening always offering high buffet standard. Live cooking, great variety of food, if you like cereals you will be in heaven, nice desserts, fast and friendly, but bit clumsy service. Also to mention, Guest Relations will welcome you at the entrance morning and evening, there is no "Please wait to be seated" person.

Bar:
El Mirador is worth for a beer or a wine, but don't expect high quality cocktails. They do just what is on the card and if you ask for a bloody mary like I did, it takes some time to get it, but of a poor quality. The terrace outside has a great ocean view!

Pool area and gardens:
Nice but not special.

Staff:
Very friendly and helpful all day long, despite tough working hours. Some high professionals like at reception, others just doing a good job. Housekeeping does a good job to keep your room clean, but not spotless.

Shuttle Service:
The only real negative point when thinking of this hotel, besides the location.
An external bus company does the shuttle service for this and other hotels. If I go to any 3 or 4 Star hotel by paying half of the price or less, this is service is perfectly fine for me. But not with this hotel!
Now what to expect: You get a transfer card from reception with the pick up hours for the bus, but on my six days going to the beach, it worked just two times without problems.
Some days the drivers came to late, next day they left ealier from the beach, when catching the bus, it goes into Corralejo to other hotels first , and brings you back to the Bahia Real afterwards. Buses are Double Decker and not well maintained. I mentioned the problems at Guest Relations and in the rating card, let's see what they will do or not.

Bahia Spa:
For sure one of the best Spas in the world. Very professional, highest international standards, great products and treatments. You will enjoy it !!

Summing up, Atlantis Bahia Real is the right choice for a shorter vacation in a deluxe hotel, to escape from Everyday Life and have a great, relaxing time. Very good value for money and good services. Sadly the location (not the view!!) is a disaster, the nice beaches are bit too far away, and the shuttle service absolutely doesn't fit into the overall 5* concept.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IliasOdysseia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Arrived at hotel 13th june, the staff are really pleasant and helpful. We were given a beautiful room with a gorgeous sea view, rooms are kept immaculately clear and well stocked with bathroom extras. Hotel hardly had any guests very quiet, this did not bother us as we went to completely relax. Entertainment was poor, food was nice but we offen found food was luke warm. There is nothing to do around the hotel all shops have closed down, it takes 35 minutes to walk into town and that is also very quiet. This hotel is great if you just want complete peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxysangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2009

This hotel is to a high european standard, it's kept immaculate and the staff are very obliging. We stayed for 10 nights and overall our holiday achieved what we had aimed for. We had sea view accommodation which we found very relaxing as we languished and enjoyed the views across to Lobo and Lanzarote, and the kite surfing that takes place just along the coast. The good comments from other reviewers are worthy. The hotel attracts a clientele that is elegant, stylish and looking for peace, quiet and sophistication.

However, there are one or two issues which if resolved would make for a truly fantastic experience and it's the small things that niggle and make you doubt whether to return.

We were disappointed that the hotel only opened two restaurants on any night and as other guests have commented they are on the top side in cost. La Alacena Real provides a wonderful breakfast and great choice. It is also open for dinner every night - but we found that very disappointing and definitely NOT worth the cost , plus it is self service and I do not go to a 5* hotel to have a self-serve buffet for my dinner. The Beach Club was mediocre and expensive for lunch. Whilst the Yamatori and Il Giardinetto restaurants are excellent, the evenings they are open are limited (Yamatori - only Sat/Sun) . The hotel did not even rotate their openings evenly. Each of the theme restaurants was open 3 nights in succession before rotating to one of the others.

Another issue was the cost of bottled water. The hotel has a notice in the room that advises against drinking the tap water. In our experience a good 5* hotel provides each guest with a least one 500ml bottle of water in their room each day, but the Bahia Real does not. In the room mini bar a 500ml bottle of water costs a massive 3 euros whilst in the spa/gym area you can buy a bottle from the vending machine for 1 euros!!! If you buy just one bottle at the gym you can regularly top it up free of charge are the water fountains in the spa pool area - so where's the sense in that? There is also a Netto supermarket 5-10 mins down the road and guests could regularly be seen bring 2 to 5 litre bottles of water back (5 litre = 1.25 euros). How does this look, and when we raised this with the manager he just kept emphasising that water is available in your room from the mini bar and seemed unable to understand the irony and our point of view about the cost?

This is a time of recession and the hotel was far from fully booked. That they have been affected was obvious from the building work across from the hotel that has ground to a halt. There are half built Atlantis developments, a part finished extension to the hotel, a shopping centre (La Miranda) all of which lie incomplete, dormant and empty and whilst there must be 8/9 cranes standing idle work will not recommence until the economy starts to recover. (Once inside the hotel you are totally unaware of the unsightly surroundings).

You would think therefore that they would review some of their policies and costs to ensure guests were happy and content, and wanting to return again. If the group could sort out these minor issues then it would make for a truly wonderful experience.

The hotel runs a daily mini bus service that takes you to/from the sand dunes, but does not think to extend this to offering guests a service into town. Doing so would be a much welcome service.

Please don't get me wrong - we thought that overall the hotel was excellent and most probably the very best the island has to offer and would definitely recomment it to friends (but we would tell them about the downsides so they were prepared).

Lastly there are some wonderful restaurants in the town that deserve a mention, namely: (i) Dovela (exquisite food and wine). We recommended it to a number of fellow guests who were all delighted. Jose (owner and chef) is a true character and very passionate about his productions. Also worth mentioning are (ii) El Andaluz and (Iii) The Avenido. Both offer very good local speciality, very fresh fish and produce.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WorlTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

I checked in at 9pm after a tiring journey and the staff were charming and friendly from start to finish. There was no feeling of snobbishness or aloofness. Every single staff member gave a friendly greeting whenever we passed each other (OK - I know it is part of staff training but it is GOOD training and conspicuously absent from UK hotels). Little details like the Toblerone and motto card on the bedside table every evening added a feeling of quality to the experience. The architecture is superb - I could spend a week just wandering around the hotel and its grounds. The spa ranks amongst the best I have encountered all over the World and is large enough to allow everyone a bit of space and peace. The evening entertainment, usually live piano and song, was very enjoyable too. My only gripe was the truly outrageous price of the dinner buffet (£50). Then again, it was gorgeous and I thoroughly overindulged!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2009

We have looked at this Hotel a few times over the past years wanting to try it out, but have always been put off by an earlier experience with the windy weather on this island.

Well, we have just returned staying seven nights half board during the Easter week 08/04/09 until 15/04/09. This Hotel is a very good example of how to present and maintain a five star establishment. Although situated in not such elegant surroundings, once inside you forget this.

Bedroom, bathroom and all furnishings are to a very high standard with the hotel staff pleasant and helpful. Being on a half board basis we used the main restaurant for breakfast and evening meals. There was always plenty of selection of good international foods. Also the hotel provide three a la carte restaurants if you want to indulge yourself a bit more.

So what's the catch, my only criticism here are the prices charged for the food and drinks taken at lunch time and in the evening bar. We know that the pound euro exchange is almost one for one, but the hotel seem to be charging over the top for some items. Water at £6 per litre and an average bottle of wine at £40 don't go down too well when checked against some similar Hotels in the area.

A snack lunch at this Hotel consisting of a breaded pork fillet with salad and french fries cost 19 euros plus 3 euros for a half litre of bottled water, amounting to 22 euros.

We are Riu class Hotel members and decided to go out to the Riu Palace just down the road. We last stayed here a number of years ago, and always thought how good the food was. Here a better lunch of pork fillets with all the trimmings cost 9 euros with water at 1.75 euros for half a litre. This is half the price of the Atlantis Bahia Real. It also showed how many people were staying at this Riu , it was full, whilst our Hotel was only 25% full during our stay over the Easter week.

Sorry, it is still windy and appears to have blown up some of the prices! Back to Sharm in Egypt next Easter, better weather and better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmerfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I find it surprising most reviewers are so effusive about this place. It's fine but not remotely in the same class as the Abama on Tenerife for instance.

+ points:
very nice staff
excellent food
nice views

- points:

It's very pleased with itself. The 'Welcome letter' is in fact a detailed list of do's and dont's. On our first night we ate at the buffet (which was consistently excellent) Once we were eating a hostess came over to tell my 17 year old son not to wear shorts again and that she wouldn't have let him in if she had seen him come in. They were not beach shorts and he had shoes and socks on but apparently they were regarded as 'beachwear'. Throughout the week there were people in very casual dress including denim mini skirts, other shorts and flip flops so it was a bit of a downer to be admonished on our first night. I could understand it in the separate more upscale restaurants but this was unnecessarily prissy.
The design of the hotel means you need to walk through the main lobby in your beachwear to get to the pool or in your robe to get to the spa depending on which wing you were in. And one of the 'rules' is No beachwear in the lobby after 6pm.
The main pool was unheated and so cold only two guests swam in it the whole week I was there (and I was one of them and only managed two lengths!).
Having eaten in the buffet three nights on the run I enquired whether there were any offers for eating there. I was told there was an offer for eating five nights in a row but it didn't work retrospectively and i should have signed up to it when I arrived, sorry.
The 'Beach Club' is in fact the pool bar. Do not make the mistake we made getting the bus to the beach expecting beach towels and dedicated loungers etc only to find it's just a public beach.
We were woken several mornings by a large earth mover beeping and roaring as it pointlessly pushed sand up and down the beach only for it all to be washed away again in high seas two days later. That kind of sums the place up.
So it's a perfectly pleasant, slightly bland and corporate place in a soulless suburb of a non-descript small town. The staff try hard but rules are rules and must be adhered to.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fergus w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
5,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#4 of 45 in Corralejo
836 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.7 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 45 in Corralejo
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas N 103, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: £138 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star Grand Luxe hotel is located in Corralejo (Fuerteventura) directly on the beach front with impressive views of the neighboring Lobos and Lanzarote islands. The hotel offers bright, spacious accommodation decorated with different styles. WIFI free of charge in whole hotel. It features 2 outdoor pools surrounded by lush tropical gardens, 6 restaurants, a cocktail bar and a spa with 3.000m2. The restaurants serve a range of international à la carte or buffet-style cuisine. Enjoy the best Japanese food in the "Yamatori" Restaurant, the finest products from Spain in "Las Columnas" Restaurant and the gourmet restaurant "La Cúpula" under the guidance of chef Carles Gaig. Guests can dine on the restaurants' terraces with sea views, amongst gardens or by the pool and there is also a lobby bar. With a privileged location over the waters of the Atlantic, the Coco Beach Lounge & Club is the perfect place to enjoy a variety of gastronomic experiences and cocktails. The Coco Beach Chill Out features Balinese beds and personalized services. The Spa Bahía Vital has a hot tub, sauna and offers a range of treatments, including massages, wraps and hydrotherapy. There is also a gym with state-of-the-art equipment, fitness classes and a personal trainer available. The hotel's beach includes free sun beds and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Corralejo
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing