We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to Bahia Real Hotel and Fuerteventura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Hotel staff friendly courteous. Three restaurants to choose - we went half board. Japanese, Italian, a La Carte and hot/cold buffet. The service and foot at both Italian and a La Carte was extremely slow - the food was very adverage and on reflection would have now gone for the buffet menu and Japanese food as both service a food selection was excellent. The hotel location was right on the beach. There were rocks at the waters' edge so bathing was very difficult so usedthe hotel free courteous bus to take us to next bach (Riu Palace) - only a few minutes on the coach. Had to pay 9 euros for chairs, umbrella. A taxi fare was approx 4 Euros. The hotel facilities were good , an excellent gym, spa, sauna and steam rooms and there was a large selection (payable!) for treatments for both men & woman. Corralejo town was very disappointing - lots of empty shops and unfinished buildings - we hired a car but there is not alot to see. We visited the capital Rosario but there was only a large shopping centre and harbour! There is a kids' club, 2 outdoor pools and paddling pool, large area of sunloungers and a cafe bar for meals and drinks. The mini bar in bedrooms was expensive as was the main bar in the hotel 20 euros for 2 drinks! We felt that the tour operator Thomas Cook were not very fare as lots of extras (such as fuel, food supplements were added to our final invoice and not explain to us by either the tour operator or travel agent. Our travel agents closed down 3 days after we booked this holiday! The hioliday was not very helpful but asked if we had had a talk with reception on our arrival about the facilities and was even given a map! The tour guide said she would be at the next hotel and would "pop round" if we needed to see her!! Just glad that the hotel did not offer us that kind of service!

Over all, enjoyed the hotel and holiday and would not return to the island and hotel with Thomas Cook Holidays!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaTD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2009

Rather special hotel highlighting a different pedigree against the usual stable of mass holiday type accommodation in this part of the world. The quality in the buildings, bedrooms and overall fit-out is complimented by a wonderful service oriented culture from a friendly staff. To be recommended as a good choice of resort if “venturing” to Fuerteventura. Instead of providing the usual epic storyboard chronicling check-in to departure experiences, for sake of simplicity here is a summary of my hits/misses.
Hits:
· Excellent reception (prompt check-in, introductory explanation, welcome letter, gift)
· Well appointed room (sizeable, comfy bed, nice bathroom (no walk-in shower, but power-shower in the tub). True 5-star standards, including efficient room cleaning and turn down service (with Toblerone pillow gift).
· Great pool area with easy access to loungers (note off-season)
· Good access to town without being in the middle of a noisy bar strip.
· Excellent fine dining restaurant “Cupola” – served a sublime steak cooked to perfection
· Modern gym equipment and a top-class spa area. Nothing but the best for the northern European (German, Scandinavian clients), who expect the highest quality facilities
Misses
· Do not come to the Atlantis Bahia Real for the beach. A short patch of sand and then rocks. Be warned.
· The Buffet dining restaurant is very hit and miss. Professional receptionist but then let down by some under trained waiting staff and so-so food quality.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Global_vagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This hotel met all of our expectations, butAlso, if you want a beach holiday this may not be for you. there were no 'Wow' moments. Everything is acceptable but nothing is outstanding. The food is good in the main buffet, but the other restaurants were rather lacking. the Italian in particular was extremely poor and the japanese wasn't great. We found service on the whole to be good apart from in the themed restaurants mentioned. The hotel beach is not as shown in the pictures on the website - which is very misleading, you cannot swim on the beach near the hotel as it is very rocky - you have to take a bus for a 10 minute ride to a decent beach and then take a taxi back as the return bus doesn't turn up at the time they say it will. Upgrade to a sea view junior suite if you can - its worth it. The spa is OK but is looking a little tired and tatty. If you want a week doing nothing with everything on tap then this is the place for you, but don't expect to be blown away. The weekends get very busy with short stay guests, but the hotel was certainly under occupied during our week long stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelindaCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We have just returned from a weeks stay in this wonderful hotel. It lives up to its standards in every way. The hotel was immaculate and the staff extremely friendly.I usually shy from buffets but the choice and freshness of the food was of top quality standards. We also ate at the Japanese and italian restaurants which had beautiful surroundings and very tasty food. You can dine a la carte or by using the half board menu. We upgraded from B&B to half board whilst we were there, which I would highly recommend as it was 35euros pppn. The lunchtime restaurant was great too,especially the tapas. Unfortunately our son was a little poorly on the night that we were going to go the michelin star restaurant so we didnt get to eat there, but we will be doing when we return. The hotel wasnt too busy when we were there so im not sure if it would be as easy to get in the restaurants at peak season as they are quite small. You do not need to leave the hotel if you just want to go and relax. The spa is a lovely place to do this. Our room (juniour suite~sea view) was great too.Although no sun on the terrace in the aft.in all we had a wonderful holiday and would strongly recommend this hotel for a holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SadieLaSalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2009

This is a little but of tranquility set just outside Corralejo, at the north of Fuerteventura.

There is much comment about how windy this part of the island is ... it may explain why the hotel's pool area is flanked on all sides by the hotel building .... you can't sit at the pool looking out to sea or towards Isla de Lobos.

The staff here are mainly nice - but some hardly look or smile at you, which is a little bit of a let down.

The spa area is very breathtaking and large ... with a large outdoor jacuzzi above the indoor pool. Beware though - the spa treatments are on the steep side and you don't get much for your money.

This is a place for couples - and there were many over 50 when we were there. Didn't both us too much as at night we got a taxi into Corralejo (about 4 Euros) were there was much more varied civilisation of all ages.

We booked on a B&B basis .... even though at the point of booking, we had the opportunity to upgrade to half board for £17 pp/night (minimum of five nights). If you get the same opportunity take it .... in hotel, it costs 44Euros per night per person for the international buffet! It costs about 16Euros in the Italian restaurant in the hotel for a lasagne ... so this place is pricey (you'd expect it though, given the standard of accommodation).

All in all, you get what you pay for ... a very exclusive, smart and polished hotel experience. Well recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h0vetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Spent a wonderful week at the Bahai Real in July 2009.

You can tell good hotels by how well they do the check in - this was very quick. Had a sea facing room; this was very comfortable with TV, minibar, safe etc. It had 2 huge wardrobes and a very nice bathroom.

We were on B&B so can only comment on the breakfast. This was very good. You can get a one page round up of the news of various languages as you go in. Used the bar in the hotel a few times, not too expensive and there are fantastic views from the terrace.

On the first evening we decided to walk into the town. Got maps and directions from the front desk, they offered to call us a taxi - probably not used to that many people doing the 20 minute walk. Beware of the palm trees. They block most of the paths so you need to walk in the cycle path or the road. This wasn't a problem as no one else was around; I think we saw 2 people and 1 car.

The town has the typically neon clad tourist bars and restaurants, we didn't go into them but they looked OK, and others around the seafront/harbour. Everyone was friendly and you don't get people pestering you too much to go into their bar. The strength of the euro against the pound meant everything seemed quite expensive, but we didn't go to anywhere that was a rip off.

We got a taxi back to the hotel each night. These are easy to pick up from the 2 taxi ranks and cost 3-4 euros to get back.

Back to the hotel review. Pool area was very good; the hotel wasn’t very full when we were there so it was easy to get a sunbed. Gym is very good was well. Our room was at the other end of the hotel from the gym so part of the work out was walking to it. Didn't try out the spa or inside pool.

There aren't many facilities near the hotel. There is a Netto supermarket for getting water etc. 5 minutes away but that is it. The recession has hit the Canary Islands and the building work around the hotel has all stopped. There is a small shopping centre 10 minutes walk away, but it is better to walk into the town if you want more choice.

Did the Tourist Train around Corralejo - you get to see the town in a 30 minutes ride. We did it towards the end of our holiday but it may have been better to do it earlier so we could have seen more places we could have gone to.

Our overall verdict is - very good hotel, 20 minutes walk into the town to get to some good bars and restaurants. Recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Just returned from a relaxing week in Fuerteventura. Very short summary of Fuerteventura: Volcanic island, hardly no vegetation, lots of sand dunes, strong wind all day long, strong sun (high sun blocker !!!), great clear and clean sea, high waves, beautiful beaches.

The Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Location: (important for people who prefer the beach rather than the swimming pool)
As mentioned above, this Hotel is an oasis of luxury and peace in a terrible neighborhood. The Hotel has great views to the sea and the other islands around, but that's actually it. The beach in front of the hotel is quite rocky and not really beautiful, the buildings next to the hotel are abandoned and look terrible and bit spooky when you pass there in the evening. When I go on holidays , I always do a beach walk in the evening. Well, it was quite difficult there, because they locked all doors when the sun went down and I had to pass a few blocks to have access to the beach. The pretty sand dunes beaches are in 30 minutes walk or 5 min by shuttle bus. There are two, the touristic one with lots and lots of guests from the two RIU Hotels near by and the Dolphin Beach, which is quite deserted and mostly used by local people and a surfing school for kids. When you get out from the Shuttle bus , the touristic beach is to the right and the Dolphin beach is to the left of the Pyramid RIU Hotel. The main reason why I chose the Dolphin beach was, that on the other one were life guards. Very annoying people blowing the whistle all day long and trying to get you out of the sea, if you prefer to get in where it's not that crowded. I have to say, that waves were quite high on some days, but not dangerous at all. By far not to compare with the Pacific Ocean.

Hotel:
Absolutely International 5* Resort Standard, not to compare with a Mandarin Oriental, Leading Hotel, Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton, but well worth every Euro or Dollar.
Huge marble lobby with a dome in the middle, some shops for souveniers and post cards, but I didn't find a shop for snacks or drinks. There is a shop at the shuttle bus station near the beach, and also in the town of Corralejo.

Room:
Had a beach room, very comfortable, great and quiet A.C., beautiful marble bathroom, TV with lots of services and channels, high quality beds with pillow menu for choice, minibar, safe, huge terrace. As for a non smoking room if non smoker!!

Restaurants:
La Cupula de Carles Gaig: High Quality Restaurant, excellent food, professional service, beautiful interior. (try the tuna as main course...wow!!
Italian Restaurant: Medium Quality Restaurant, average food quality, very small portions (don't come hungry), not a good value for money.
Yamatori: didn't go there but I think it's worth a visit if you like Japanese food.
Buffet Restaurant: Morning and Evening always offering high buffet standard. Live cooking, great variety of food, if you like cereals you will be in heaven, nice desserts, fast and friendly, but bit clumsy service. Also to mention, Guest Relations will welcome you at the entrance morning and evening, there is no "Please wait to be seated" person.

Bar:
El Mirador is worth for a beer or a wine, but don't expect high quality cocktails. They do just what is on the card and if you ask for a bloody mary like I did, it takes some time to get it, but of a poor quality. The terrace outside has a great ocean view!

Pool area and gardens:
Nice but not special.

Staff:
Very friendly and helpful all day long, despite tough working hours. Some high professionals like at reception, others just doing a good job. Housekeeping does a good job to keep your room clean, but not spotless.

Shuttle Service:
The only real negative point when thinking of this hotel, besides the location.
An external bus company does the shuttle service for this and other hotels. If I go to any 3 or 4 Star hotel by paying half of the price or less, this is service is perfectly fine for me. But not with this hotel!
Now what to expect: You get a transfer card from reception with the pick up hours for the bus, but on my six days going to the beach, it worked just two times without problems.
Some days the drivers came to late, next day they left ealier from the beach, when catching the bus, it goes into Corralejo to other hotels first , and brings you back to the Bahia Real afterwards. Buses are Double Decker and not well maintained. I mentioned the problems at Guest Relations and in the rating card, let's see what they will do or not.

Bahia Spa:
For sure one of the best Spas in the world. Very professional, highest international standards, great products and treatments. You will enjoy it !!

Summing up, Atlantis Bahia Real is the right choice for a shorter vacation in a deluxe hotel, to escape from Everyday Life and have a great, relaxing time. Very good value for money and good services. Sadly the location (not the view!!) is a disaster, the nice beaches are bit too far away, and the shuttle service absolutely doesn't fit into the overall 5* concept.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IliasOdysseia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
5,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
1.1 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#4 of 45 in Corralejo
796 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 45 in Corralejo
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas N 103, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: £150 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star Grand Luxe hotel is located in Corralejo (Fuerteventura) directly on the beach front with impressive views of the neighboring Lobos and Lanzarote islands. The hotel offers bright, spacious accommodation decorated with different styles. WIFI free of charge in whole hotel. It features 2 outdoor pools surrounded by lush tropical gardens, 6 restaurants, a cocktail bar and a spa with 3.000m2. The restaurants serve a range of international à la carte or buffet-style cuisine. Enjoy the best Japanese food in the "Yamatori" Restaurant, the finest products from Spain in "Las Columnas" Restaurant and the gourmet restaurant "La Cúpula" under the guidance of chef Carles Gaig. Guests can dine on the restaurants' terraces with sea views, amongst gardens or by the pool and there is also a lobby bar. With a privileged location over the waters of the Atlantic, the Coco Beach Lounge & Club is the perfect place to enjoy a variety of gastronomic experiences and cocktails. The Coco Beach Chill Out features Balinese beds and personalized services. The Spa Bahía Vital has a hot tub, sauna and offers a range of treatments, including massages, wraps and hydrotherapy. There is also a gym with state-of-the-art equipment, fitness classes and a personal trainer available. The hotel's beach includes free sun beds and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Corralejo
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing