We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place to stay in Fuerteventura”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The BEST place to stay in Fuerteventura”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

Travelling to Fuerteventura? No doubt: Stay here! The hotel is outstanding. Everyone is kind and helpful. The rooms are nice, clean and extremely comfortable, food is good, service flawless. I truly enjoyed my stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alco1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,519
    436
    114
    33
    20
See reviews for
523
1,239
76
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, England
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

First things first, Fuerteventura is not the most interesting destination in the world unless you want to windsurf, surf or are particularly interested in volcanic islands but, if you just want to relax and sunbathe it's a fine destination. The town of Corralejo is on the north of the island and is small, mostly quiet and filled with typical Spanish sports bars and Irish Pubs. In fairness we didn't investigate the restaurants but those we passed on our travels didn't inspire us to enter. However, we had no need of local restaurants as we were staying at the wonderful Atlantis Bahia Real hotel. This is a genuine five star hotel in every respect, something you are reminded of from the moment you arrive until you reluctantly have to leave. Our standard room was spacious, spotless, elegant and had a large balcony. There was plenty of cupboard and hanging space and a lovely bathroom with top end shampoos etc. Our stay spanned Christmas and for each of the 12 days we received a wrapped gift when the bed was turned down in the evening - I've never been a fan of Aloe Vera but after getting a bottle from the hotel I am.
The food is provided morning and evening from a large buffet restaurant which is awash with charming waiters and waitresses, so much so that we had difficulty in limiting the numbers we gave tips to at the end of our stay. The food was simply first class; an enormous choice with different themed dishes every evening. I don't want to over stress this point but my wife and I have stayed in four and five star hotels countless times and SO often one is disappointed but nothing about this hotel disappointed, not a single thing. There are four other restaurants; all superb, they are a Japanese, an Italian, a gourmet Spanish and a predominantly fish restaurant which is only open at lunchtime.
Other highlights. A superb Spa which offers endless treatments which are not cheap but the Spa pools, dry and steam saunas and Turkish baths are free and are of tip top quality. There is a huge outdoor heated jacuzzi attached to the Spa and the best equipped gym I have seen outside of an expensive sports centre. Finally there is a dance studio which hosts daily classes in Yoga, Pilates etc at no charge taken by wonderfully fit and kind instructors!
There are numerous places to sunbathe on the comfortable loungers and there is no musak played anywhere to spoil the peace.
The hotel has direct access to its own beach and a free bus transfer to the famous 7km of golden sandy dunes just south of the hotel. It takes thirty minutes to walk into the heart of town but we only did this three times in our ten day stay - the most interesting and shortest route being straight along the beach.
So, my wife and I both loved this hotel and the location and want to book it as soon as possible for next year but down points? There really is nothing much to de except relax, read, get a tan and look forward to the next meal so if you want brash or loud you won’t find it here.
As a postscript - at the time of writing Trip Advisor shows the Riu Palace Tres Islas as being the most popular hotel in Corralejo. Don't believe it, the hotel is fine, it is where the beach bus drops you and we went to investigate it, but is is a mile from anything but the beach and is a typical large 'four' star holiday hotel. If you can save a few more Euros, Pounds or Dollars do yourself an enormous favour and go for the Bahia Real.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Loved this hotel and spa so much that we returned on our own in September for a short break. In July we took our 16yr old son and his friend. They loved the spa facilities and were welcomed there and shown around. The food at the hotel was fantastic as was the service. We had never been to fuerteventura before but it is now our favourite Canary Island, the beaches are amazing. We are going back on December 26th.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2009

After reading some of these reviews i'm not sure people stayed in the same hotel!! Or it makes me realise some people will find fault and feel the need to moan at anything!!
My partner and i have just returned from a week in the bahia we had a sea view room which i would highly recommed. Comments the drinks etc were expensive its a five star hotel!! If you stay in london in a five star the drinks are comparable and the surroundings of the Bahia to drink are much nicer!
The restaurants were all very clean and the food was to a very high standard. i would recommend finding out which restaurants are open on certain nights and book at the start of your stay at reception. We ate in all the restaurants and would recommend them all. The japanease is definately worth a visit.
The rooms were clean and kept clean during our stay.
Friendly staff, we experinced some very rude fellow english people that forget speaking quickly and loudly to a spanish cook will not cook thier meal quicker! maybe they should learn spanish or some manners!!!
We hired a car and explored finding some sweet little places.
We walked around and felt very safe and locals all friendly.
The beach people complain about if they walked three minutes to the right of the hotel little sandy beach with access to the water with no rocks! not a pretty view behind but surely you would face the beautiful sea view.
The Spa is nice and great to chill out at the end of the day before evening.
As regards to Thomas Cook we found them very proffessional and would not hesitate to book through them again.
Overall i would say if you want a clean friendly five star hotel which would appeal to singles, couples and families the Bahia will suit you.
Some of the reviews make me wonder whether these people should bother to venture on holiday as clearly nothing will ever be good enough!!
We will without a doubt reurn to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shininghappypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2009

Hotel staff friendly courteous. Three restaurants to choose - we went half board. Japanese, Italian, a La Carte and hot/cold buffet. The service and foot at both Italian and a La Carte was extremely slow - the food was very adverage and on reflection would have now gone for the buffet menu and Japanese food as both service a food selection was excellent. The hotel location was right on the beach. There were rocks at the waters' edge so bathing was very difficult so usedthe hotel free courteous bus to take us to next bach (Riu Palace) - only a few minutes on the coach. Had to pay 9 euros for chairs, umbrella. A taxi fare was approx 4 Euros. The hotel facilities were good , an excellent gym, spa, sauna and steam rooms and there was a large selection (payable!) for treatments for both men & woman. Corralejo town was very disappointing - lots of empty shops and unfinished buildings - we hired a car but there is not alot to see. We visited the capital Rosario but there was only a large shopping centre and harbour! There is a kids' club, 2 outdoor pools and paddling pool, large area of sunloungers and a cafe bar for meals and drinks. The mini bar in bedrooms was expensive as was the main bar in the hotel 20 euros for 2 drinks! We felt that the tour operator Thomas Cook were not very fare as lots of extras (such as fuel, food supplements were added to our final invoice and not explain to us by either the tour operator or travel agent. Our travel agents closed down 3 days after we booked this holiday! The hioliday was not very helpful but asked if we had had a talk with reception on our arrival about the facilities and was even given a map! The tour guide said she would be at the next hotel and would "pop round" if we needed to see her!! Just glad that the hotel did not offer us that kind of service!

Over all, enjoyed the hotel and holiday and would not return to the island and hotel with Thomas Cook Holidays!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaTD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

Rather special hotel highlighting a different pedigree against the usual stable of mass holiday type accommodation in this part of the world. The quality in the buildings, bedrooms and overall fit-out is complimented by a wonderful service oriented culture from a friendly staff. To be recommended as a good choice of resort if “venturing” to Fuerteventura. Instead of providing the usual epic storyboard chronicling check-in to departure experiences, for sake of simplicity here is a summary of my hits/misses.
Hits:
· Excellent reception (prompt check-in, introductory explanation, welcome letter, gift)
· Well appointed room (sizeable, comfy bed, nice bathroom (no walk-in shower, but power-shower in the tub). True 5-star standards, including efficient room cleaning and turn down service (with Toblerone pillow gift).
· Great pool area with easy access to loungers (note off-season)
· Good access to town without being in the middle of a noisy bar strip.
· Excellent fine dining restaurant “Cupola” – served a sublime steak cooked to perfection
· Modern gym equipment and a top-class spa area. Nothing but the best for the northern European (German, Scandinavian clients), who expect the highest quality facilities
Misses
· Do not come to the Atlantis Bahia Real for the beach. A short patch of sand and then rocks. Be warned.
· The Buffet dining restaurant is very hit and miss. Professional receptionist but then let down by some under trained waiting staff and so-so food quality.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_vagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

This hotel met all of our expectations, butAlso, if you want a beach holiday this may not be for you. there were no 'Wow' moments. Everything is acceptable but nothing is outstanding. The food is good in the main buffet, but the other restaurants were rather lacking. the Italian in particular was extremely poor and the japanese wasn't great. We found service on the whole to be good apart from in the themed restaurants mentioned. The hotel beach is not as shown in the pictures on the website - which is very misleading, you cannot swim on the beach near the hotel as it is very rocky - you have to take a bus for a 10 minute ride to a decent beach and then take a taxi back as the return bus doesn't turn up at the time they say it will. Upgrade to a sea view junior suite if you can - its worth it. The spa is OK but is looking a little tired and tatty. If you want a week doing nothing with everything on tap then this is the place for you, but don't expect to be blown away. The weekends get very busy with short stay guests, but the hotel was certainly under occupied during our week long stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
1.0 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,792 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
891 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,305 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#4 of 45 in Corralejo
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real

Property: Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Address: Avenida Grandes Playas N 103, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Spa Hotel in Corralejo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real 5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star Grand Luxe hotel is located in Corralejo (Fuerteventura) directly on the beach front with impressive views of the neighboring Lobos and Lanzarote islands. The hotel offers bright, spacious accommodation decorated with different styles. WIFI free of charge in whole hotel. It features 2 outdoor pools surrounded by lush tropical gardens, 6 restaurants, a cocktail bar and a spa with 3.000m2. The restaurants serve a range of international à la carte or buffet-style cuisine. Enjoy the best Japanese food in the "Yamatori" Restaurant, the finest products from Spain in "Las Columnas" Restaurant and the gourmet restaurant "La Cúpula" under the guidance of chef Carles Gaig. Guests can dine on the restaurants' terraces with sea views, amongst gardens or by the pool and there is also a lobby bar. With a privileged location over the waters of the Atlantic, the Coco Beach Lounge & Club is the perfect place to enjoy a variety of gastronomic experiences and cocktails. The Coco Beach Chill Out features Balinese beds and personalized services. The Spa Bahía Vital has a hot tub, sauna and offers a range of treatments, including massages, wraps and hydrotherapy. There is also a gym with state-of-the-art equipment, fitness classes and a personal trainer available. The hotel's beach includes free sun beds and umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Corralejo
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing