We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2-3* hotel - not as bad as the reviews say!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Rushden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“2-3* hotel - not as bad as the reviews say!”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Me and my partner (20 something couple) travelled to Corralejo on the 11th May 2011. When we originally booked this hotel in January 2011 the reviews for this hotel were great, otherwise we would have chosen a different hotel. When I read the reviews again just before we went the reviews had changed and had lots of different complaints regarding the hotel, so I was very worried about what to expect!
When we arrived at 7pm at night we were greeted by a very nice Spanish lady at reception who quickly gave us our wristbands as we stayed All Inclusive and our key and pointed us towards our room and wished us a lovely holiday.
Our room was nice and spacious, nice and clean with lovely decor. It was however incredibly hot as we were on the first floor we did not have a patio door - our patio was outside our front door, so we didn't get a lot of air through the apartment. We did have a fan which helped at night, it was a bit rusty but did the job. Bedroom, kitchen and living room were spotless. Lovely towels made into shapes with hibicus flowers greeted us in the bathroom. The bathroom was big however had a few bits of rust on the grill, in the bath and on the floor, however nothing too bad to affect our holiday. The toilet, sink and massive mirror were all very clean.
Pool area - the pools are salt water, and are incredibly salty, which did ruin it a little bit as it taste horrible and hurt your eyes. There is a smaller fresh water pool down the bottom of the complex however the pool and the area havent been looked after as well and there are tiles missing at the bottom of the pool and it is sandy as well. All very cold however wasn't expecting anything different! Plus the weather was scorching so its nice for a dip! The tiles around the pool need some attention, as a lot of them are cracked or raised due to the tree roots. It is dangerous if children do not look where they are going! The staff don't really seem to care much about this however. There was an incident whilst we were there as a child had a poo in the pool, and the lifeguard fished it out however dumped it straight on the garden next to children and didnt put it in the bin! His excuse was "it will make the garden grow" however there was no plants in there anyway! This was reported to reception as he clearly did not care and was made to dispose of it safely in the bin once the manager had spoken to him. The pool was not cleansed at all afterwards and people were swimming in it unaware!
Pool bar - opens around 10-11. Ice creams like magnums etc are NOT included in all inclusive - you have to pay for all of these and they start from 2 euros. Bar staff were friendly enough, water however tasted like it was out of the tap!
All Inclusive - food was mainly hot and fresh, however was monotonous after a few days. Chips, pizza, meat, salad, veg etc. They had a couple of themed nights of chinese/caribbean food which was OK. We ate out 2 times in the week we were there. Breakfast the sausages and bacon were pretty awful, so we ate beans and cheese on toast every morning and cereal. The fruit juices are all out of 1 machine which just takes like syrup, it was all pretty horrible and I didn't drink it. Water tasted OK out of the same machine though.
We booked this hotel over the Dunas Caleta/Los Allisios hotel as it stated online that it also had an A La Carte restaurant that you could eat in. HOWEVER this was shut. On the map we were given when we checked in, many different places labelled on the map had been crossed out. There is no longer a pool bar at the fresh water pool, no 2nd restaurant, no Pizzeria. 6 out of 14 things had been crossed out! If we had known the restaurant was no longer in use we would have booked the Dunas Caleta, as I have been before and knew the Caleta was in town.
The Oasis Papagayo is about a 15 minute walk to the town centre, on a slight incline coming back to the hotel. Its near to the Water Park and the Baku market and Animal Adventures - the water park and Animal Adventures was shut by the looks of it despite being in season. The market wasn't brilliant.
We had a lovely week however would not go back to the Oasis Papagayo. The food wasn't good enough for us and the hotel has gone down hill in the last 12 months also, I think it will probably continue to get worse. As we were a young couple we weren't bothered about entertainment etc however families with children, who were promised activities and entertainment, were greeted with nothing. There were no kids clubs as promised and nothing for the kids at night. The entertainment at night was fairly poor and didn't start until half past 9 at night.
The club bar was short staffed a few times so there was a queue for drinks. You're allowed 4 per person. The cocktails were so strong they tasted disgusting, although they make all drinks ridiculously strong. The staff were friendly though so I did ask for English measures of vodka so it actually taste nice. All Inclusive finishes at 11pm and the club bar shuts at 12am.
The Commercial Centre that was part of Oasis Papagayo is mainly shut. There once was an ice cream parlour, pizzeria, italian and an english pub called the Golden Goose. This was all like a ghost town, all shut down and clearly had been for a while.The only thing really open still is a small takeaway bar and the bowling alley next door.
OK hotel for couples, NOT for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz_1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    676
    435
    194
    135
See reviews for
837
514
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

I am 44 and my hubby is 53 we went to this hotel which was recommened by the thomas cook agent in broughton park. We wanted an all inclusive by the beach hoilday. The reason for this is we went with the view to have a hoilday, and see what the childrens club was like so we could take our grandchildren in october.

This hotel is no way a 3 key never mind a 4 star which is what we booked !!!! The people who have said on here you get what you pay for must of paid a pittance as we paid 1,300 for 10 nights which is the most we have ever paid for a hoilday !!!! We usually book with teletext. This time we booked with Thomas Cook on a Thompson hoilday for the entiertainment ?????? There is the most 45 minutes a night if you are lucky very poor quality.

The hotel room was disgusting, yes it was big and yes it was cleaned but the furniture was rusted, dirty and i saw flees in the sofa bed we had to sit on !!!!!

I have travelled all over the place always all inclusive and we have always found something we can eat. In this hotel i could only eat salad as it upset my stomach i lost 6lb while on hoilday !!!! (What a joke)

I have never complained ever. We have been on 1 thompson hoilday before which was fab. This hotel is so nice to look at but please do not be fooled we only got warmer food when we complained to the rep there. There were 75% of the guests who complained while we were there alone.

On a good note the grounds are beautiful and the pools are loverly even though they have some loose tiles it is still beautiful to look at and we spent most of the day around the pool.

The town itself is beautiful and i have to recomend Walkiki Beach Bar beautiful food we know we spent 400 euros eating out !!!

Good luck if you have booked it but tell the rep as the food gets better when you do.

Very dissapointed guest

Room Tip: Do not go all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donna6657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Corralejo hotels

manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

well.. i read alot of reviews prior to my stay here and was quite worried in what to expect.
I stayed here with my boyfriend for 2 week in april, when we arrived we were given a dirty room with filthy furniture, on the bottom floor when we requested a high floor (cockroaches) haha.
we went back to reception and changed the room, staff were not very happy about this and gave us a room at the other end of the hotel which we had to walk to with our suitcase at mid-day haha oh well.

the room- the room we were finaly given was lovely, it was spotless and alot bigger than the first room we were given. so if you are given a crap room- swap =)
We did pay for the extra tv which were only 2 channels!! not that i want to watch the tv on holiday but its always nice to have it there if u fancy a night in, so for the safety deposit box and the tv it cost nearly 100 euros which i thought was ridiculous since we were all inclusive!! the maid didnt seem to do much whilst we were there, the bed cover was just put straight and the sheets wernt changed once in 2 weeks haha and the towels were changed twice a week which if u ask me, isnt enough as we had to ration ours.

Hotel- the hotel was lovely, it was beautiful and always clean, it is split into 2, the main one nearest to reception that has 2 big salt water pools and there is one at the other end with only a small pool (but fresh water), we spent most of our time at the main pool which was always clean and there were always spare sunbeds, there is also a pool bar at the main pool which serves drinks from 10 which was ok as in april the sun didnt come out untill 11.

all inclusive- we were disapointed with the all inclusive as had previously stayed at an awfull all inclusive in egypt and was hoping for the best.. well it was ok, it was edible however wasnt very nice, the choice was near enough the same at lunch and dinner and the quality was quite bad. the breakfast were probably the best meal.. so make sure your up for it! there were also a small buffet by the pool, which served hotdogs, burgers, chips etc.. again the quality wasnt up to scratch, however i would go up there early as the birds will beat you to it.
all this considered we survived and went out quite a few nights to eat!

Entertainment- i enjoyed the entertainment, it wasnt anything spectacular but always something to enjoy in the bar, the was a spanish singler calle jose blanco- that is a must see, michel also played there, we heard he was brilliant but didnt get to see him, there was a magic show which we also really enjoyed, and we cant forget the bingo-bango ahah

as we ate out quite alot we would recommend tony romas- for ribs it was excellent, which is right near the top of the strip towards the water park, its just before lobas bahia aparments. Also slowboat for chinese, we had a lovely indian at a place called jaipur on one of the side streets, and one of the best steaks i have ever had waas at a place called poco loco on the main strip it was amazing there.

If you ask me a holiday is what you make it and we had a lovely time!! the hotel was lovely but the food let it down, but i would definately stay there again.x

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManchesterLace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I have done a fair bit of travelling and I appreciate this website for insight and I was dubious about this hotel but trusted Thompson. Having travelled with Thompson to a family club extra in Ibiza which was absolutly amazing I decided to go with this. Firstly this should not be marketed as a family hotel/appartment. The main reason I used Thompson is that they are fantastic for kids but this is not the case at the Oasis Papagayo. The day we arrived we turned up excited for the kids disco, we listened to some music while we waited, a chap made my son a ballon dog, and we waited some more for the disco to start. When I eventually enquired they said it was because there were no other kids there so they did not do it! When mentioning this to the rep she said it was because it was a night off which sort of contradicted the entertainment listing which clearly said "Kids Disco"?? We gave her the benefit of the doubt but again the following night and the night after that it was non existent. At other hotel run kids entertainment I have been to outside of Thompson they have engaged with the kids, done dancing, dressed as clowns, bears etc had the bog standard holiday dance routines but there was no glimmer of hope for any of these. The kids club during the day was run by a lovely lady but she had no organised activities, the older kids who did not have to have parent supervision bullied and were rude to my son. It was not fantastic to say the least. There were no quizzes, talent shows as stated in brochure. The buffet restaurant did not have a theme night during our 7 days and the other buffet restaurant listed as offering themed nights five nights a week never opened! The evening entertainment was a variety of acts which were quite good and entertained the kids for 20-30 minutes at 9pm then the dreaded bingo started which was so drawn out! The extra chanels on the TV are not worth it and our TV did not even have the kids chanels tuned in properly so was a real let down.
I would thoughly recommend the excursion to the Music Hall Tavern in Costa del fusta what a fab night, we had a better meal there than at the hotel, drinks flowed and the acts were amazing. Nigel and the girls were fab and the waiting staff great my toddler loved it and danced all night! We booked also the upgraded pakage to the Legends show on the tuesday we had the meal and drinks but the show was cancelled due to H&S as there was a water leak, Thompsons have yet to provide the partial refund promised to us.
The rooms are OK, the beds are only made up and not sure if sheets were changed, and I dont think the floor was mopped whilst we were there. We kept it clean though so it did us alright. We had room C15B a one storey set of two appartments which had a sun terrace on the roof and was located very close to the pool but not with a pool view. The room did not have ants or cockroaches. The one fan was adequate for us and we kept it in the bedroom and kept the curtains closed to ensure that room was as cool as possible. Dont use the shop on the site for supplies get your things from the supermarkets in town they are so much cheaper. I hope this is a balnced view especially if you are thinking of taking kids and not spending too much money by opting for all inclusive, but seriously consider self catering the food in the resort is reasonably priced and a nice 20 minute stroll to town or 30 mins to harbour end or 2.50 euros approx for a taxi each way. Enjoy Corralejo it is a nice resort, I have also heard the Atlantis suite is a great hotel with fab kids clubs if you want to look elsewhere in the resort.

Room Tip: Pool views or single storey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecurityBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

what can I say about the Oasis Papagayo..mixed feelings really. I read lots of reviews prior to going and I can honestly say I felt scared! We travelled with our three year old son. This is my honest opinion:-

Accomodation - We moved Apartment on second day as we asked for a pool view, this was dealt with swiftly and efficiently. The room was spacious with a lovely view of the pool. The cleaning was quite poor really, with maids only pulling the top sheet over our bed and giving you clean towels every other day. I don't think our floor was mopped once during our stay! I would like to state that our towels were NOT threadbare as other reviews suggest. Our bed sheets had some stains on them though. Nil evidence of odour in our apartment or cockroaches!! We didn't pay extra for the TV channels as we had 2 kids channels which our son was happy to watch for short periods of time. We rented a safe due to past reports of thefts within the complex. Windows needed locking upon our arrival which my partner did eventually. I would like to note that the maids DO close your door after cleaning but don't lock it...nobody can get in without a key though!

All inclusive- We were disappointed with the all inclusive option. Brochure states there are two themed buffet restaurants 5 nights a week...Hmmm....buffet restaurant was more like a school canteen. The Pizzaria and another resturant were closed for maintainance, we didn't see anyone working on them though. The food quality/variation was poor but always hot. I understand that the hotel is only a three star but I feel the food could have been better, greater choice etc.
We Felt let down by having to pay extra for bingo, drinks after 11pm, crisps, ice-cream etc.

Entertainment- My partner enjoyed games of football etc but there was nothing for my three year old son to do. I booked the holiday primarily for the kids club but I couldn't take him there as the member of staff running it could only speak a few words of English...surely this is a health and safety issue..not very happy about this. The evening entertainment was poor, bingo every night!! Roberto is a very good singer though!

Thompson Rep- Holly was lovely, very helpful and friendy. She is a credit to Thompson. If you're reading this Holly, we just want to say thanks-best wishes for the future, hope you achieve your dreams! xxx

Overall we had a good holiday, we met some lovely people who we will keep in touch with. We have some lovely photos and lots of nice memories. The beaches were amazing. The waterpark is fab and the Oasis Park Zoo was 5*.

We would go back if the following improvements were made-

1-Better entertainment and less Bingo! lol
2-Improved maid service in apartment
3-English speaking qualified staff in kids club.
4-Greater choice/quality of food.

Don't be anxious about going, not as bad as past reviews suggest!. x

Room Tip: ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaygirl071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

THIS IS ONLY MY OPION.
Stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in april 2011, on an all inclusive basis, in a one bedroomed ground floor apartment.with wife and two children aged 5 and 6.
Apartment ok ,spacious,reasonably clean and supplied with fridge ,microwave,electric hob plate,kettle and toaster.Complex quite large with pleasant and well kept gardens. Three large impressive salt water swimmimg pools.and poolside bar serving snacks.Area around pools needs some TLC,plenty of sun beds and baby/toddler pool requires a deep clean to remove mould? from grount lines between swimming pool tiles.
There is a large hotel bar,plenty of room with nightly entertainment.
The major negative point regarding this hotel is the restaurant and food quality.The restaurant is a dump and requires a through clean and upgrade,it is more like a bus station cafeteria.The table cloths need to be seen to be appreciated.Red waterproof fabric that has been wiped over for what appears to be many years!!!!This was mentioned to the reataurant staff without much of a response.The food is cold,the bread stale and basic presentation lacking.We entered trhe restaurant 2 or 3 minutes after opening to discover the majority of hot dishes were actually cold or tepid at best.
The service is ok and beer and wine exceptable.
The usual defence for this service and standard is you cannot expect too much for £718.00 to accomadate 4 people,fed 3 squares a day and watered with as much drink as you can keep down.My answer is probaley not and in light of that i reverted to self catering after 2 days ,receiving a refund and eating out for the remainder of the holiday.Stay at this hotel by all means it has plenty to offer with varied facilities but I would avoid the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank showerlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I visited this complex when i was younger about 13, i travelled with my mum and dad and took a friend as i am an only child, we were self catering as all inclusive was far too expensive. I'm now 17 and have booked to go back again this july (2011) with my boyfriend but this time have decided to go all inclusive as we found a deal for £303, overall the holiday was brilliant and i loved the complex as it's like a little village, everyone was so friendly and it wasnt hard to find other people from england staying here. I think you can only comment on your own experiance as your either going to have a lovely holiday or things aren't going to go your way, I think most of the bad reviews are from people who go there expecting luxary, therefore turing up to a 3 key complex means your going to have critisisms. If your looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday i think Oasis papagayo is a good choice, the water park was really fun and even though its not the biggest who cares when your a stone throw away from it, i doubt on other holidays your that close. The walk to Corralejo is about 20 mins but its a nice walk especially with the hot weather. The Harbour is so pretty towards the evening with lots of entertainment in the restaurants around the bay and people dancing with fire, also there is a man who constucts sand sculptures which is a muct see! I hope this review has helped to reassure some people who have been put of by bad reviews, i will be reviewing my stay when i get back in july and am sure that i will have only good things to say, thanks for reading
Hope you enjoy your stay :)

Jasmine from Southport ( North West of England)

Room Tip: Water Park, Restaurants, Harbour, Beaches,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine-UK93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.5 mi away
Oasis Village
Oasis Village
#28 of 46 in Corralejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oasis Duna Hotel
Oasis Duna Hotel
#31 of 46 in Corralejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#17 of 46 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
smartline Playa Park
smartline Playa Park
#14 of 46 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Labranda Aloe Club Resort
Labranda Aloe Club Resort
#19 of 46 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.4 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 46 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family

Property: Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family
Address: Avenida Islas Canarias 19, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family 3*
Number of rooms: 381
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Papagayo Corralejo
Oasis Papagayo Hotel Corralejo
Oasis Papagayo Sport & Family Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing