We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as recent reviews”
Review of Hotel Dunas Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Dunas Club
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not as good as recent reviews”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just returned from the Dunas Club apartments and was a little disappointed. I thought the location was great and I agree that when the bus drops you off first impressions are not good. The pool area is good but they could lose some of the sunbeds, you cannot get on a sunbed from the side of it because they are so close together. The staff are absolutely lovely, especially reception. We went with Thomas Cook and they were just ABSENT. We were just given a piece of paper at the airport with a bus number on it and a telephone number for in-resort help. We had to either telephone or call into the office to find out what time we were being picked up at the end of the holiday - so if you are thinking of going don't bother with Thomas Cook. THE GOOD POINTS: Staff great, spacious apartment with one bedroom, two bathrooms and two balconies, beds very comfortable, great location and La Luna restaurant is very good and very reasonable. THE BAD POINTS: Cleaning and towel changes not too good except on the day before we came home!!! and definitely not six days a week. Apartments desperately in need of a refurbishment - dirty curtains and torn upholstery (see photos). I think most of the people who put really good reviews on here are in RCI rooms which will be of a much higher standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philly02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    516
    166
    66
    30
See reviews for
198
663
43
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

First impression on arrival is not great, looks a little run down, but the place is far from run down. Staff are great, Cristina in the poolside bar is a god send. Pool is great, Lovely life guard on duty
If you want warm sunny balcony don't go for a room higher that 142 as that's the windy shady side,
Wi Fi is free in the restaurant so don't waste €15 on access.
Overall a very pleasant stay.
We will be back next march

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Booked this hotel after reading so many good reviews. Overall I was really happy with it and can only say I would definitely return, however first I'd just like to air a few minor grumbles....
I paid an additional cost for a 'side sea view studio'. Our view was the back of a supermarket on a very busy street. The balcony was small but if you leaned out you could see a few waves 100 metres down the street. My tip- if you want a sea view pay for it. A small number of apartments had stunning views over the sea of Lobos and Lanzarote. Side sea views were a waste of money- the pool views were better and quieter and cheaper.
Second- charging 15 Euros for Wi-Fi access is really mean. We spent our money in many of the bars that offered the service for free.
Third- room service was very efficient but started at 9am! I was sick of the bell ringing at 9.15am- I was supposed to be on holiday. We were faced with the choice of an early get up or putting up the 'do not disturb' sign and missing service for the day.
Now the positives....
While the hotel looks like a council office from the outside, it is perfectly placed for the harbour and town and is immaculately clean inside. We were given a very friendly welcome while checking in and the high standard of friendliness and helpfulness was continued throughout the week. Our studio room was reasonably sized for 2 and was again spotless and well equipped. 1 English TV channel (sky news) was a bit poor but we didn't go there for the TV. The pool area was pretty busy but the lifeguard immediately came over to find us 2 unoccupied beds and even dragged them over to us! The pool was heated which meant that it wasn't exactly hot but it was much warmer than the sea.
The hotel is quite small which seemed to create a friendly atmosphere amongst the holiday makers, everyone seemed very polite and took time to speak to each other.
Corralejo itself is just brilliant. Nobody dresses up or tries too hard to impress. It's a real Spanish town that has opened itself up to tourism (unlike for example caleta de fuste which is just a tourist purpose built town and lacks personality). The pace of life is leisurely- the locals are friendly and the prices are the lowest on the island. There's plenty to do, places to go, or you can get away from it all with a boat trip over to Lobos or a good hours walk to the Dunes.
We are already looking to book again for October so despite the few grumbles, can't recommend the place highly enough. As long as you want comfort rather than luxury this is the place to come.

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea view go for it. DO NOT pay for a side sea view- a pool view is cheaper, quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevekennedy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had not been to Fuerteventura for 20 years and didn't know what to expect. The apartments are right near the port away from most of the more recent holiday complexes. This suited us as we tend not to stay on site but hire a car and go out and about.The staff were all very cheerful and helpful and our studio was clean, well furnished and well maintained. This is an older building with balconies overlooking the pool on all sides ( although we chose an outward facing balcony ). There is a good supermarket close by and the walk to the numerous restaurants and shops is not far and on the flat. We would go back as we had a very relaxing week there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed for 2 weeks February into March,in a 1 bed apt.The apt was spacious and clean with a good kitchen area for s/c,the beds we found comfortable and plenty of room in the bathroom.The wardrobe was situated outside the bedroom with plenty of room for clothes.Dunas Club Apts are at the harbour end of Corralejo which we thought was best.We found everyone to be friendly,reception staff,cleaners pool bar staff always greeted you with smile and hello.The pool area is kept clean and tidy with a life guard on duty,we always found a sunbed for a few hours in the sun .In a few minutes you can be walking along the sea front,at the end of the promenade there is a beach which is easy to walk on for a long way.The La Luna restaurant is good value with the 10% card for guests,the shoulder of lamb was delicious,we did eat many times here.Our apt overlooked the pool,but we did'nt get the sun on the balcony,so abit to cool to use it.One niggle we travelled with Thomas Cook and found the transfers and lack of a rep confusing. We thought the Dunas Club to be one of the best places to stay at.

Room Tip: High floor pool facing sunny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doreen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

It is not often that you can stay in a hotel and not have something to complain about - this seems to be the exception. The reception staff were extremely friendly and efficient. We stayed in a Studio apartment (self catering). It was clean and comfortable and well maintained. we ate in La Luna (the attached restaurant) on two occasions in the evening and found the food was very good with ample portions. As residents you were also entitled to a 10% discount on food in La Luna. The pool area was always very clean, and if there is a complaint it is that the sunbeds were a little to close together. A good judge of a hotel is to ask yourself "would you go back for another holiday" - in this case the answer would be a definite "Yes2.

Room Tip: The best rooms would be south facing with a view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John2068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

stayed for 2 week's had great time, hotel room cleaned every day, staff very helpful and friendly the pool was very good, also pool bar was great food from there was up to standard,it was very peaceful, a nice balcony with table and chairs the room was well equipped with every every thing you need for self catering

Room Tip: rooms facing sea are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.3 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
907 reviews
0.8 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
#6 of 45 in Corralejo
4,546 reviews
1.0 mi away
Oasis Duna Hotel
Oasis Duna Hotel
#31 of 45 in Corralejo
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dunas Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Club

Property: Hotel Dunas Club
Address: Calle Pulpo 2, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dunas Club 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Dunas Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Dunas Club Hotel Corralejo
Apartamentos Dunas Hotel
Apartamentos Dunas Corralejo
Hotel Dunas Club Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing