We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abyss Fuerteventura

Abyss Fuerteventura
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Simon and Hannah welcome you to Abyss Fuerteventura.We are situated in the town of Corralejo in the North of Fuerteventura an island with 150km of sandy beaches and turquoise waters in the Canary Islands.Come and join us to discover the secrets of the underwater world. We would love to share our experience and passion of diving with you, here in the warm and clear waters of Fuerteventura.We offer a full range of PADI courses, from beginner to professional, always in small groups with all our professionalism and attention.All the courses can be taught in ENGLISH, and SPANISH. We will take all the time you need to make sure you enjoy each moment of your course in a safe environment.We can arrange free Hotel pick-up.Opening hours : From 9 am t 7pm open everyday we are now please to announce that we are a Gold Star Deptherapy Instructor Development Center, we we can offer the full range of deptherapy courses as well as PADI
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Brilliant,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from Fuerteventura where we each did two day dives and a night dive with Abyss. The company is run by Simon and his wife Hannah (both English) with a firm emphasis on making your diving experience relaxing, safe and pleasurable from start to finish. Hannah even kindly looked after our one year old daughter for us so that my wife and I could do the night dive together. That should tell you all you need to know about the level of trust we were prepared to place in her. We have dived all over the world and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Abyss to any visitors to Fuerteventura who seek a reliable and trustworthy company.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mstaples_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Hi guys and thank you for taking the time for the very kind review, it was great to meet all three of you and we are glad we were able to facilitate a way for you both to have some time to go diving both on your own and together on the night dive. The little lady was no problem what so ever (made a nice change from looking after divers lol).

Any time you come back to Fuerty pop in the shop even if just for a coffee and a catch up it would be great to see you all again
Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    3
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Brilliant morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our family of four had a great morning with Simon, Hannah and Caroline, their new intern. We are relatively new to diving, having only got our Open Water qualification last year, but Simon pitched our two dives perfectly for our capabilities.
Having learned in Egypt I was a little worried that we'd find the marine life in Fuerteventura a bit dull but it definitely wasn't so. We dived at El Jablito and saw allsorts including cuttlefish and a baby Octopus releasing it's ink.
Although they might seem a little more pricey than some of the alternatives, they are such a friendly bunch. We had three experienced divers watching out for the 4 of us and we felt very safe. The kit is well looked after and contacting them was very easy by email. A lovely extra at the end was them sending us a link to all the photos taken by Hannah during our dive.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedPenMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
It was a good morning I had a great time taking a whole family diving.. I love to see families who have the same passion for the underwater world, and to say you hadn’t been in the water for a while it didn’t show, all four of you were good on buoyancy and air... which makes our job so much more easy to do and we can try to find the cool things for you to see .. Like the pair of torpedo rays just chilling in the sand...

We hope you like Fuerteventura enough to come back to the island and if you do please pop in the shop even if it’s just for a coffee.
S.A.F.E diving

Simon & Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 stars recommendation....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

First of all I have used tripadvisor a lot in the last few years and all the places that were recommended didn't disappoint.. So  the fact this is my first review says a great deal about abyss dive center.
Thoroughly recommended if its your very first dive or your 100th dive.... Very professional set up, good quality  equipment. You will be guaranteed a great enjoyable time by the owners Simon and Hannah , nice people who's emphasis on service is second to none..
And the dive sites were great also,pleasantly surprised with the amount of marine life..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 750Leecoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
The pleasure was ours we always enjoy showing Divers what the island has to offer, and love it when they are as enthusiastic about the underwater world as we are.. We look forward to seeing you very soon for some more underwater fun and making some memories that you can take away...

See you soon

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly dive center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

First contacted this diving center after finding there details on the internet. I have a very comprehensive reply covering the information I wanted vie e mail.
On visiting the center (located just off the main high street) I spoke to Simon and Hanna who were very friendly and accommodating. Over the course of two weeks I did a number of dives with Simon including a night dive. Nothing was to much trouble and everything was done to make the diving as easy as possible. I have been diving all over the world for nearly 40 years and this must be the friendliest dive center I have used. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
It was great to meet you and spend some time both on the surface and underwater with you. Really sorry the boat was out of action i promise we will have it sorted by next time (it’s sorted now). it’s not often we get the chance to dive with fellow professionals and have extended dives so it was my pleasure to take you out diving.

Hope to see you both (and Leon) soon for some more fun in the sun and SCUBA.

Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Having passed our Open Water Certificate last year we wanted to do the first dives in a year during our trip to Fuerteventura. Simon and Hannah did not only sort out any issues beforehand, they did two dives with us making sure we hadn`t forgotten our skills and could have two great dives seeing as much as possible. They showed us the outer reef in El Jablito and amongst others we got to see Star Fish, Arrow Crabs, Cuttle Fish, Octopus and even a large Angel Shark which was well hidden in the sand but Hannah spotted it and only this shark was worth the dive ;) Thanks again for this friendly and very personal diving experience!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smac343, Owner at Abyss Fuerteventura, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi guys thanks for taking the time to write review, it was great to meet you both and take you diving. As promised we saw a LARGE angel shark and many other critters. you did a great job on the second dive still diving with an injury (told you surfing isnt as much fun as diving).

hope to see you guys again soon out here in the sun

Hannah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Abyss Fuerteventura also viewed

 
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to Abyss Fuerteventura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing