We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great food”
Review of An Caisteal

An Caisteal
Ranked #10 of 373 Restaurants in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$16
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: An Caisteal is a small homely Cafe/ Bar offering a wee flavour of Scotland in the heart of Corralejo. Open at 1000 for a full Scottish breakfast served until 3pm. We also serve snacks and home cooked evening meals until 9pm. Join us for a cold beer, spirit or choose from our selection of over 30 Scottish Malt Whiskies. We are also pleased to serve freshly brewed Gimoka coffee and individual pots of Tetley tea with a fruit scone or Chocolate eclair. We also serve delicious melt in the middle chocolate Fondants. Open daily 10 am until 2300 except Sunday close at 6 pm.
belfast
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great food”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We came here twice for breakfast during our holiday. The food was lovely and staff were really accommodating with the menu. Great little spot!

Helpful?
Thank travellergirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saucyrossy, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us at An Caisteal. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts and look forward to welcoming you back to An Caisteal.

Kind Regards

Ross and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    106
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Went here one morning for breakfast after reading reviews. What a disapointment! Welcome was none existant, breakfast (5euros) greasy with cold baked beans. When I asked if I could change the tomato for mushrooms, they charged us an extra euro! All in all was not very impressed, hence we didn't go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saucyrossy, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. We always try to chat all our customers but we have been extremely busy lately and very hectic at times so we do apologize if you did not feel welcome. I remember your visit when you asked for your beans to be reheated. Your partner was happy with the temperature of his beans however, yours were reheated as requested and I did give you an apology at the time. With regards to you saying you were charged an extra euro for changing tomato to mushrooms. It clearly states on the menu that substitutions may incur an increase in price. Mushrooms are one of the most expensive vegetables to buy in Fuerteventura, so we have no choice but to charge extra. All our food is freshly cooked using quality British produce. We've never had a complaint about a greasy or expensive before. In fact quite the opposite as you can see from our many happy reviewers. You should have mentioned your concerns at the time. However, we hope if you are ever back in Corralejo you would pop in and perhaps change your opinion. Kind regards Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and fantastic welcome”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Was in Corralejo for 10 days in June 2014. Must have had around 10 meals ranging covering breakfasts, lunches and dinners in An Caisteal and they were all terrific. Proper tea too :-) they even do a home made burger for those on Slimming World! Not me of course but I enjoyed it just the same. We will definitely be going there again on our next trip as there a couple of menu items I didn't get the chance to try.
They also give very good advice about other restaurants to try as their recommendations proved worth the visit. Maureen, Ross, Laura and David never failed to make us feel at home and I noticed other customers end up on first name terms too.
Try it for yourself; you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johndaly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saucyrossy, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi John

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for An Caisteal. We are pleased you enjoyed both your visits with us and our food.

We look forward to welcoming you back and letting you try the rest of our menu.

Kind Regards


Ross and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great all day breakfasts”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Visited An Caisteal quite often and found the breakfasts were the best we had found in Corralejo, (black pudding) to die for. Nice friendly family owned bar with quality food and service. We will definitely make this the top of our list place to eat when we return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jay_s_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saucyrossy, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for An Caisteal.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visits with us and our food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Corralejo and An Caisteal.

Kind Regards

Ross and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely food...”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I found this place when I had a craving for a proper toastie and they didn't disappoint. I went back for lunch the next day and had a wrap which again was very good. They were also showing Wimbledon so that was a bonus! Worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipster_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saucyrossy, Owner at An Caisteal, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for An Caisteal. We are pleased you enjoyed your visits with us and our food.

Kind Regards

Ross and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed An Caisteal also viewed

 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to An Caisteal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing