We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ugly Duckling

The Ugly Duckling
Ranked #1 of 368 Restaurants in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$27
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Danish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Ugly Duckling is a small, intimate, scandinavian inspired restaurant in Corralejo.Our love for the food, and highest quality ingredients shine through in our dishes.We serve simple, yet delicious food.Our menu is limited, but offers you a wide range of combinations you decide yourself. We aim to have something for everybodies taste.
Meppel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had a real nice dinner here, good quality food and by the small scale the restaurant has a good atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harmen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    71
    22
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Recently returned from 2 weeks in Corralejo and found this little restaurant after checking trip advisor. Not been opened long, but welcome was friendly and food was delicious (pork tenderloin and mushroom sauce). Henrik seemed a little nervous at first, but then got more confident. Was very knowledgeable about the local wines. Small basket of bread (homemade) and olives was lovely as was the glass of cava on arrival while you peruse the menu. All in all a nice evening.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We went here on the recommendations of other Trip Advisor reviews and I'm so glad we did, tucked away by the Harbour this restaurant is a pure delight! We were the first ones in and the waiter got to work, a glass of Cava was offered on the house. Then the menus were explained We chose the starter, main & dessert for €25 each. For starters I had the buffalo mozzarella with tomato, onion and a mustard hollandaise dressing this was fantastic, then for main I chose the dish of the day which was what they described as chicken stew, this was chicken in a cream sauce with Asparagus and roast potatoes again, this was fantastic, then for the dessert, I chose the chocolate cake, this was like a brownie texture with Lemon sorbet & a berry jus. The food in this restaurant is fantastic, considering there are only the two owners running it, one cooks and one waits the tables they do an amazing job of getting the balance right and we didn't wait too long between courses. If you're in Corralejo and can't decide on a restaurant then go to The Ugly Duckling. No doubt we'll be going again before we leave!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best we found in Correlejo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Great little restaurant food excellent and matched by the service. Had dinner here twice and consistently good. Do 3 courses for 25 euros. Would highly recommend the prawns in sour cream for starters, the steak for main and can choose what potato and garnish you want. Finished off with chocolate cake. Had some good meals in corralejo but this was our favourite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cfox23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“There's nothing ugly about this duckling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Ate here tonight after we happened to be passing by and my dad noticed the fact it was a Scandinavian restaurant, after a quick chat with the man outside who we later learned was Henrik we decided to give the restaurant a go. The menu is small but the choice is good and the dishes were all cooked to perfection! I had the caprese starter and the mozzarella was some of the best I have ever tasted, for the mains my sister and I had chicken and the rest of the group had the Danish special which was a casserole with pork and sausages in a creamy tomato sauce. I finished off my meal with the incredible chocolate cake! The food was so fresh and full of flavour and the portion sizes huge - nothing worse than getting a tiny bit of chocolate cake and there's no fear of that here. Everything from the food to the attentiveness of Henrik was just brilliant. I cannot recommend this place highly enough and will definitely be back before we go home! Keep doing what you're doing guys this place is head and shoulders above the rest!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missmc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ugly Duckling also viewed

Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 
Corralejo, La Oliva
Corralejo, La Oliva
 

Been to The Ugly Duckling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing