We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A right SHED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Garden Beach Mate
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Bodmin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A right SHED”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

What a joke!! Very basic, I've stayed in Travel Lodges that are better than this place. We booked through Interval International time share and I cannot believe the standard was sooooo low. Broken toaster, tiny telly with only Sky news in english, three of us staying in the "shed" but no extra towels or bedding for the sofa bed (well sofa plank would be a more acurate description!) Didn't get a cleaner until we complained and ran out of towels, promised one but none came so we complained again the following day and late afternoon one arrived. We checked in on Sat but no cleaner until Wed!! Very basic utensils in the kitchen and the bathroom was really tiny. Staff not very helpful and extremely dismissive. OK I suppose if you get it really cheap on some sort of deal but if you are expecting anything with a bit a class - forget it!! Very little in the way of food availability but found lovely restaurants & cafes in the town. Had to pay extra for electricity, water and Wi-Fi so be prepared for hidden costs that you wouldn't normally expect especially when using time share. We made the best of a bad job and had a good holiday but no thanks to The Atlantic Garden Resort. Very VERY VERY disapointed with the whole place which is looking and feeling very tired.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    288
    164
    69
    49
See reviews for
150
382
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Atlantic Gardens in Corralejo. Having booked the apartment at the last minute I was a little apprehensive because the price was one of the lowest available. The complex was really lovely with the apartments set in tranquil gardens with two swimming pools and a separate kiddies pool. There were always plenty of sunbeds which were comfortable as well - a real bonus for me. The one bedroomed apartment was clean and well equiped. We would have easily been able to make a meal had we chosen to do so - not always the case with budget accomodation. The complex has a lovely poolside bar with happy hour from 3.30 to 5.30 each day - lovely! Food was available during the day but we didn't try it as we prefer to go for a wander. The bar-b-q evening and paella lunch looked really nice though and was obviously popular. If we had been there for two weeks we would have definitely given it a try. The location was excellent as the main street with all the bars and restaurants was a 10-15 minute walk and similar to the nearest beach. The sand dunes of the national park were probably a 30 minute walk but well worth the effort. Some fantastic restaurants and bars with live music day and night. On our arrival on Tuesday night it was a little cool and raining - what a disappointment. However, by lunch time the next day it was bright sunshine and the days just got hotter until we left. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Higher floors get better sunshine on balcony. Apartments overlooking pool looked really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Recently returned from Atlantic Gardens and to say that we loved it would be an understatement,everything about our trip was fantastic with the exception of the worlds most uncomfortable beds.
As has been stated on other reviews this is budget accommodation and the rooms are quite spartan,but comfortable enough for our needs,you don t go on holiday to sit indoors now do you.
The grounds themselves are beautiful,the pools though cold were clean as a whistle and the lifeguard is always attentive and polite.
The bar areas are clean and bright and fresh ,manned by ever diligent and friendly staff,they really were exceptional and nothing was too much trouble.
Now we all know that when reading reviews there are going to be some who you will never please ,but thats okay,take it from me Atlantic Gardens is a fantastic place to stay,and we can t wait to return.

Room Tip: We had an upper storey room next to the shopping complex ,which is also fantastic,and we were not di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We arrived on the 29/03/14, picked up are rental car from auto risen in the airport with no problems.Never been to this island before and so we was looking forward to our visit.The apartment was great value for money .Clean with basic but adequate crockery .The staff were very nice and helpful.I would definitely stay here again the complex ,gardens and pool area was very nice .There are some great places to visit and eat at very reasonable prices .I would like to mention that lack of air conditioning i feel these apartments would not be adequate for hot and humid weather.The location is very god near to the beach and all night life ,everything is in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dillydogBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed for 4nights from the 29th march but due to good flight times we had 5whole days!

We were a little anxious as to what to expect due to some of the reviews I read but on arrival we were very pleased!

The pool area is amazing with plenty of sun loungers, the bar is staffed by really happy people especially Andreas!

The rooms are what you get on holiday... Basic but clean, with new towels every other day. Very spacious however the beds aren't the most comfortable but they were fine! But I'm not over fussy!

The gym is amazing with beautiful shower facilities and due to a late flight we used these facilities so we could make the most of a last day by the pool!

The paella and bbqs looked amazing and so cheap!

The location of this hotel is amazing, direct walk to Main Street which leads to the harbour, lil walk to the dunes and supermarket next door in a lovely lil shopping courtyard which has some lovely lil cafés.

Overall I would highly recommend this accommodation for its location and facilities and it's cleanliness, perfect rooms for storing your stuff and sleeping!!!

The weather was amazing at this time of year and will definitely be returning, beautiful island!

Happy holidays people...

Kelly and Charlie
Hertfordshire, England

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Princesskellyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I've stayed at these apartments, both as a couple and a family, four times over the last few years. This year I was pleased to be appointed one of the slightly refurbished apartments, those apartments that have not yet been refurbished are old and tired and in much need of some TLC to improve the overall standard of the complex. However, we could see the exterior improvements around the complex taking place during our stay, which was encouraging and not at all disruptive. The complex itself is gnerally well kept, clean and tidy and for the money is good value, afterall it is a 2 star property and you get what you pay for. For us its location to the local supermarket, beach, harbour and main street is ideal. My one complaint, which would make me think twice about going back were the beds (defintely not an improvement), they were the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on - the pool side sun beds were more comfortable! In general, a very enjoyable break with lovely weather and friendly, helpful staff - what more could you ask for - other than a decent nights sleep!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyA_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived on the 26th March for a week looking forward to exploring one of the islands that we hadn't visited before. This is how it went :-
We picked up our pre booked hire car from the airport with no problems at all, No queues, in fact next to nobody at the airport! And drove assisted by 'Satnav' direct to our Hotel/Apartment, checked in, got wifi ( one device for a week is 20 Euro, two devices is 27 Euro, make sure if you want two devices to do this initially, it can't as far as I'm aware be added on, so with two devices it's 13 .5 Euro a week (each), not bad, better than a lot of places we have stayed, on the down side, if you don't use your device after about ten minutes you have to login again, this applies at least to iPhones and iPads, so don't loose your login codes. Room safes were two euro's a day with a five euro deposit for the key.
This Hotel doesn't do pool towels which was a bit disappointing. Our room as requested was on the first floor/top floor as requested, with afternoon evening sun, again as requested, so all good there. Apartments are quite sparse but enough if you aren't planning on cooking a three course meal. The only issues we had were the security of the apartment, on our second morning we went out and when we came back the balcony doors were open, although no cleaners had been in the room???, however I put it down to me having forgotten to lock them, however that night I woke about 2am and again they were open, spooky!, we reported this to reception and they adjusted the lock which wasn't working properly, since then they have been fine. The room was sparsely furnished as mentioned by other reviews, the beds were metal framed and squeaked like mad every time you moved on them and there were no lounges on the balcony, although they are shown in the professional photograph section of trip advisor, as well as various other items that didn't exist, i.e. Room telephones, still we aren't complaining, budget hotel that did very nicely for what we needed and expected.
The pool areas are nice and plenty of available lounges, there was a BBQ on a Tuesday and Thursday which looked great value for money and was well attended. In whole a nice relaxing break although it was a bit windy, make sure you bring a jacket for the evening. Weather was changeable and on our Friday night it rained and rained, with the walk to the old town taking about fifteen minutes there was no way we were going their, however next door to the hotel there is a very nice shopping centre with a partially covered main square where you can get meals and drinks all day and during the evening, in this shopping centre they have craft markets twice a week and there is a bell tower where you can see some fantastic views in all directions. Overall we had a great time, great town, great food, the weather could have been better, i.e. the wind, but it's known for it, so don't be surprised. Enjoy, we did, could say more but this review is about the hotel. Will be going back!

Room Tip: We asked for first floor (top floor) and afternoon sun and that's what we got!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimGilliland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Corralejo hotels
0.4 mi away
Fuentepark Apartamentos
Fuentepark Apartamentos
#9 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel  Dunas Club
Hotel Dunas Club
#18 of 46 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 46 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Bristol Playa
0.2 mi away
Oasis Duna Hotel
Oasis Duna Hotel
#31 of 46 in Corralejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alisios Playa
Alisios Playa
#30 of 46 in Corralejo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Garden Beach Mate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Garden Beach Mate

Property: Atlantic Garden Beach Mate
Address: Calle Gran Canaria 4, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Garden Beach Mate 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Garden Lanzarote is located in the popular tourist destination of Corralejo and is conveniently situated in close proximity to the beaches with their golden sands and the protected nature reserve, Corralejo Dunes.The complex has excellent connections to all of the main beaches of Playa Jandia, El Cotillo and Costa Calma and is conveniently based near to the town centre. If you love to explore, then the nearest bus stop is just a 50 metre walk where you can catch connections to all major parts of the island.The hotel complex houses 101 one bedroom apartments and 6 two bedroom apartments. All apartments benefit from a private balcony or terrace with table and chairs so that you may dine outside or relax with a cocktail or two before venturing down to the terrace where you can enjoy the live evening entertainment.The ever-popular pool bar at Atlantic Garden serves snack and refreshments throughout the day and also hosts a weekly barbeque where you can relax and meet new friends. There is also a daily buy one get one free happy hour at the bar which is extremely popular and very well priced.Atlantic Garden apartments are fully equipped for self-catering and feature an oven, hob, fridge freezer, and microwave, plus all the utensils, cutlery and tableware you would need to cook a meal inside the apartment. The complex sits right next to a new shopping centre (El Camponario) where you will find a major supermarket stocking Spain and European foodstuffs.The shopping centre El Camponario is highly rated by holidaymakers and tourists alike, and houses designer style boutiques, gift shops, a popular delicatessen and more. The commercial centre is built to resemble a quaint village, and one of the most striking features is its beautiful bell tower with views over the whole of Corralejo.The nightlife in Fuerteventura is centred around Corralejo, namely the Centro Comercial Atlantico which is to be found on the main strip (Avenida del General Franco). Here you will find plenty of bars and evening entertainment ranging from live music to discotheques. Further along the main strip you can find traditional English pubs and with a little exploration you will uncover hidden gems nestled amongst open air-bars and restaurants where you can relax and listen to Spanish and Latin music. For the adventurous, a bike ride to the stunning Corralejo Sand Dunes is a must, and reception at Atlantic Garden will be only too please to assist you in hiring bikes. For the less active, it is also possible to arrange a bus ride however, the dunes are just 20 minutes away on foot. Other local activities include a trip to the island of Los Lobos via a mini cruise on the popular ‘El Majorero’ and surf and windsurfing schools are rife. The dive centres are always worth a visit, whether you are interested in learning to Scuba dive on one of the comprehensive beginner’s courses or you prefer to snorkel in a group. Corralejo has activities and excursions for all ages, and can cater for the hyperactive to the positively lazy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Garden Beach Mate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Garden Corralejo
Atlantic Garden Hotel Corralejo
Atlantic Garden Beach Mate Fuerteventura/Corralejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing