We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 October 2008

just returned after a weeks holiday at the blue bay palace, this hotel is fantastic ,rooms are cleaned on a daily basis,food good, pool area excellent,staff friendly,short walk into town good shops,make the effort to take the free courtesy bus the hotel offers to the sand dunes it is great there beach is lovely and water is warm.nothing more to say about the blue bay but to expect us every year now for our holidays....

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy_trev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,774 - 3,780 of 5,158 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2008

Me and my partner have had a great 11 day stay at the BlueBay Palace and in the resort of Corralejo.

Hotel-

On arrival we were greated outside by a member of staff who carried our cases in and showed us to reception. The check in process was quick and informative. The lady on reception was very friendly and told us to go down for our evening meal as there was still 40 minutes before the restaurant shut which i thought was nice of her.

Rooms -
The room was lovely very spacious clean and tidy. The bathroom was again spacious with two sinks. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed if you required them to be. We had a lovely pool view room. The corridors to the rooms are decorated very well and kept really nice.

Restaurant -
The restaurant was great. At breakfast you have plenty of choice from fruits, cereals, cooked breakfast, continental breakfast, pastries and the best were the pancakes with chocolate sauce!! They also had chefs cooking food freshly and making omletes. The evening meals were great again plenty of choice. Every eveing they had a joint of meat and then usually a themed buffett such as Chinese, Spanish etc etc. They also had chefs cooking meats on the grill fresh they had things like kebabs, sausages, chicken, pork. Then the other side they had a veggie opion which was stir fry with different vegetables every evening and the choice of pasta or rice to go with it.

Pool area -
We were a bit worried before we went with all the people saying about the pool been very busy and queuing to get into the pool area. I can honestly say the time of year we went you could get a sunbed at 3 in the afternoon no problem, there was no rush for them in a morning and we didn't feel we had to stick our towels down if we went out for the morning. In previous reviews we read about the slippery pool area it can be very slippy first thing when they have just cleaned the area but during the day it was fine they have put slip proof mats around the pool area so when you get out it's not as slippery around there. The only problem we had the one day was that about 2 we went down to get a bad and all the cushions had gone we thought this was strange due to beds been empty then realised the some peole decied to have 2 cushions a bed which i find really selfish. We only ate in the pool bar once it was ok but a bit pricey, we found a bar down the road and they did lovely sandwhiches and pizza's for half the price.

Gym - Loved the gym for one reason only the Jacuzzi, we went in every day about 1700 when the sun was going down i sat in the jacuzzi and my partner used the gym, lots of equipment to use and also they have a beauty room where you can have treatments.

Rest of hotel - The whole of the hotel was kept very clean in all areas. We didn't use the bars or watch the entertainment in the hotel as we rather go out into the resort on an evening.

Resort - The resort is lovely plenty going on. There are some great bars, the Rock cafe is the most popular in resort people stand outside watching as you can't get seats after about 9pm. They have great music on in there.

The sand dune beach which there is a free bus service to from the hotel is gorgeous, the sea is so clear and the sand is really white it's like paradise.

We did a boat trip on the Ocean Cat which was great they take you to Lobos and you can do watersports and then you get lunch on board which free drinks throughout and it was only €38.00 per person.

We did also take the bus to Puerte del Rossario, the place itself isn't the best but they have a shopping centre which took us some time to find as it is a bit of a walk from the bus station, if you have a map you'll find it. The shopping centre is great bit cheaper then the shops in Corralejo they even have a C&A which closed years ago in the UK.

One thing we had a problem with was Resort Hoppa, they were 25 minutes late picking us up for the airport and we had problems going out and we couldn't sit together so we wanted to get there earlier than the tour ops coaches but this didn't happen, we were the first pick up as well and the driver said only 1 more and there were 3 and we waited for one couple for about 10 minutes but found out they had gone because they couldn't wait any longer, so be aware if you decided to use them!

All in all we had a great holiday and would definatley go back in a few years time.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Traveller021985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Just returned today and very very pleased with our choice, Clean, Friendly, Relaxing, Good food, Good location, the list would be longer if I was not so tired from the return flight, Great hotel to chill out and make friends.
Ignore the sunbed rush, its not that bad just pick an empty spot close to the gym area, always room there even when hotel is full.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StarionKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Just returned on the 20th September after week at BlueBay Palace. Chose the Hotel on the basis we would get good food/accomadation/service etc so that we could just recharge our batteries and, hopefully, enjoy great weather.

The hotel came up to expectations in every area and we would recommend it totally. Not so sure about Fuerteventura and Corralejo in particular - great if you want if you fast foods and don't mind the persistent accosting by promoters of Chinese restaurants! Similarly, most of the retailing lacked any real quality concentrating on the "naff"; and the traditional "tax free" purchases such as perfumes, small electrical goods have lost their tax advantages because of the poor euro exchange rate! (Apart from cigarettes and tobacco). I just worry what effect the current financial problems will have on the island next year as, after speaking to a number of Brits who have bars/restaurants on the island, they are already feeling the pinch.

Only bad situation we experienced in the week was the "hiring" of a car with Thomas Cook. Disaster. If you want to: pay a reasonable rate, be treated with respect, ensure the insurance cover is correct, choose a local hirer such as Martell!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LeicesterOldTimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

When I first met my future husband 5 years ago, we went to Corralejo. I snuck into the Bluebay (then called the Atlantis) to use their loo, and when I came out I told him THIS was where we were staying next time we came.

So when we got married, we couldn't have gone anywhere else for our honeymoon.

We were not disappointed. The hotel is wonderful, and just about everything is perfect. The food is great, staff friendly and helpful, pool area immaculate, rooms clean and the maid service was excellent, clean towels everyday, sheets every other, and little touches like fruit and flowers throughout the week. Like another reviewer said, there isn't a single area of the hotel that looked shabby or dirty or like it hadn't just been painted, everything is so well looked after. We got treated too, a free massage each, a romantic breakfast in bed, and some champagne when we arrived because it was our honeymoon.

And we loved the entertainment. Some people have said it was cheesy, we just thought it was out and out fun. Stanley, Leah and Danny are tireless, and they made a big fuss over us because we were on honeymoon.

We didn't have any children with us but we could see it was very family friendly. That said, we went during term time and although there were a few little ones there, it was all very bearable.

The resort is nice, albeit A LOT busier than when we came 5 years ago. I couldn't decide if I was pleased or disappointed at that. The best food we had was at Poco Loco (chateaubriand mmm yummy), and China Town. My favourite bar was the Rock Island Cafe just off the main stretch and Castaways at the harbour, plus we like the Orange Project just next to the hotel.

We hired a car at Alonso's, decent little Micra for E35 a day. We went to Morro Jable to reassure ourselves we had come to the nicest part of the island (the beach is lovely there though).

The water park is well worth the trip, it's a 5 minute walk, and although quite expensive, you get a lot for your money. I even got hugged by a seal.

The only negative of the whole holiday was the air conditioning in the room. It was fairly ineffective at the best of times and in the night it appeared to stop working all together. It's a must for me, because even if I drench myself in Jungle Fever, I am still absolutely delicious to mosquitoes, so we always go somewhere where there is air con and tightly sealed doors! (They never bother my husband - the injustice!). So the nights were quite unbearable. This unfortunately does mean we won't go back, but they are still worth a 5 star and I would still recommend this hotel to anyone who doesn’t mind sleeping with the doors open.

Yes, all in all, a pretty great holiday

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheYorkWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

Very good hotel in every way, with a sun trap of pool area for when the wind is strong & a lovely part of the beach just over the road. Just a few minutes walk to the resort centre too, much better than having to commute in from the hotels in the sand dunes area.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Just returned from our second holiday at the Blue Bay Palace(10th -17th Sept). Our party consisted of four adults and one child aged 4.
We booked this hotel having stayed there in Sept 07.

The standards have (imo) improved. The cleanliness was second to none, including the pool area, where the tiles were slippy but a little common sense does not go amiss under such conditions.
The buffet style food is better than any I have experienced in similarly rated hotels on other Canary Islands.

The staff,some of whom have many years service at the hotel, are friendly and welcoming..

All in all excellent value for money. My job takes me around the UK and I can assure my fellow travellers that a week at the Blue Bay costs less than many hotels that I use on regular basis.
.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canarycruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#4 of 45 in Corralejo
798 reviews
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,510 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: £102 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing