We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annoying little things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Went on a weeks holiday just me and my boyfriend, firstly the site where we booked the holiday (lowcostholidays.com) misled us into thinking we were getting a sleek modern room with a jacuzzi. Apparently a `superior suite´ is just the hotels name for an average double room since they dont have any `average rooms` - or so theyd like to think. Personally I think this is false advertising and will be complaining to lowcost. We were very dissapointed as the pictures on the website advertised a different room and we payed the extra bit based on these pictures. Besides that a nice hotel, however staff will happily leave you waiting at reception for at least 10 mins. Also the computers for guests use are super old and cumbersome. Just annoying little things. Good holiday overall.

Room Tip: make sure you see the right pic! and a superior suite is just an average room don´t be fooled!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,803 - 2,809 of 5,229 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week at the start of July 2014.

Room
The room was lovely - we stayed in 2212 and had a view of the pool. There was a balcony, fridge and his and hers sinks in the bathroom. The bed however was awful! Two twins pushed together and mattress toppers that were wider than the mattress meaning you were often lying on a slope or sliding off the edge!

Pool
The pool area is fantastic - lots of sunbeds and 3 pools (one is really a paddling pool). The largest is long enough if you want to do lengths. It's also very relaxing - no kids or music playing! The pool bar was also a favourite of ours - the staff here are fantastic. You don't need to bring towels as you can borrow 2 from the spa using a token you are given at check in.

Location
The hotel is in a great location - really accessible to bars, shops, restaurants and the bay and the water park. We booked a transfer from the airport - costs about 12 euros each and worked really well on both journeys.

Food
We didn't stay all inclusive and I wouldn't recommend it - there are so many great restaurants right on your doorstep. Breakfast has a good selection but we opted to visit elsewhere 2 of the days as it was a bit too much of the same thing 7 days in a row.

Entertainment
There was nightly entertainment but we didn't stay in the hotel in the evenings to see much of it. We caught the end of a few acts and those that were there seemed to enjoy it. It all finished up around 11pm.

Drinks
The cost of drinks was very reasonable in the hotel - similar to the other bars.

Staff
We did feel we could have been given more information at our check in (we later overheard another check in and were amazed at what they had neglected to tell us!) - things like info about the towels/tokens, wifi, bus to sand dunes etc. The staff at the bars were really great and reception staff did help us book our return transfer. The maid who cleaned our room was very polite and friendly.

Other
Wifi - there is free wifi for 30 mins a day in the lobby or you can pay 25 euro for the week. This gets you one code so if you want to use on more than one device you can log out and log in with another.
Sand dunes- there is a free transfer leaving around 9.45 and returning about 4.30 (not 100% sure of times)

Overall we would stay at this hotel again but would probably opt for room only.

Stayed: July 2014
7  Thank travellergirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Adult only hotel, which was great mainly for couples. Staff were excellent and friendly. Food quality was excellent and varied. Have a fitness centre and various classes, also provide a couple of handicraft classes each week, which were all very good. The majority of evening entertainment was excellent. Only downside was that the main pool was cold, as it is not heated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Janet530412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First impressions were good, prompt attentive service ensuring we got a meal despite delayed late arrival. Room was too hot on first night, but on subsequent nights was fine, room was west facing and had obviously heated up during evening.
Staff were mostly very helpful and friendly, some were exceptional.
Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss, some good some not so good and sometimes very short - 45 mins was a record.Started at 21:30 finished by 23:00.
Food was good but bland. There was plenty of choice, but not well enough seasoned or spiced for our taste. Drinks were reasonable price, but cocktails ranged from mediocre to ghastly. Stick to beer and wine.
Pool was lovely and quiet due to adults only and despite the rush to down towels once the barriers were lifted at 09:00 we could always find sunbeds later in the day.
The whole hotel including all public areas was spotlessly clean. Our room was a little tired but perfectly acceptable. Beds were exceptionally comfortable. Bath/shower was excellent.
We like to walk locally, but temperature was too high for this and we had mixed feedback about reliability of buses. We don't hire cars on holiday, but this may have been a good idea to get around. The walk down to the harbour is very pleasant any time of day. Lots of good bars and restaurants for drinks and snacks or tapas.
Very happy with the hotel, but probably wouldn't go back to Fuerteventura. I am sure it will be very nice when they either demolish or finish the staggering amount of skeletal buildings.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west/inland on higher floors are quietest. Be sure to close curtains before dinner to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank RetiredBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

ANOTHER GREAT HOLIDAY AT THE BARCELO BLUE BAY!

This was our 5th visit to the hotel staying for 10 days at the end of June over my Husbands birthday and as usual it was a lovely relaxing holiday which was just what we wanted and we are already planning our next visit!The hotel is also kept very immaculate throughout and the poolside is really just lovely. It’s peaceful enough for me to sit and read 3 books – bliss!

HOTEL & LOCATION - The hotel is a 5 min walk from the beach and local amenities. It has all that you could want from a midsized hotel and there is ample to do on the island if sitting by the pool is not your thing. The staff are more than happy to assist and arrange anything for you.

STAFF – In short the staff are wonderful and very welcoming indeed.I have been fortunate to stay in hotels all over the world and I can say hand on heart these folks are the friendliest, most helpful team you could possibly wish to meet and are a fantastic asset ot the hotel. We are always pleased to see the same friendly faces year after year and from the service we received pre arrival from Director Alfonzo and his bookings team, to the daily cheerful banter from the hard working staff at breakfast, lunch and supper you really would be hard pressed to find fault. In our opinion the staff looked happy and relaxed and were happy to chat and help with simply anything (including the delivery of a super birthday cake they arranged for me). The hotel cat is also not to be missed!

SPA - It may not be the biggest spa but we paid for a 3 day pass and it was worth it. The gym and treatment rooms are a great addition to the hotel and the various pools were delightful, best of all it kept my husband very happy!

ROOMS - We have had a variety of rooms on both sides of the hotel over the years and this time we had a nice quiet suite on the spa side of the hotel which was kept immaculate by the daily housekeeping. The treats (as mentioned by Clive R's review) were also a really nice touch that makes it feel all the nicer.

FOOD - my Husband and I feel the hotel have really listened to their customers and worked very hard to improve the food quality as we noticed a much wider variety of foods/themes than on previous visits. It is often easy to forget the hotel is on an island and certain foods have to be flown in at great expense. The restaurant itself has had some amendments to the layout for breakfast and it works much better.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter, suites are worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobbycatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

our 2nd stay at this hotel, where unfortunately our room was above the kitchen, delivery area which therefore caused us disturbances which we did not experience last year - not over noisy however we were woken daily to noise outside, when we asked to move we were advised we would incur a charge. The food also had really deteriorated in over cooked vegetables and pork was the meat available for 8 out of 10 of our nights stay - however the fresh fish and salads are beautiful. The staff were very on edge if we stopped with them as they are not to be seen chatting for too long.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hey123775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you are having any doubts about booking this hotel then don't,book it.We stayed here from the twenty eighth of June for eleven nights.From our late arrival to find the Dining room had remained open in order for us to dine late, it got better.The hotels position was perfect.The attitude of all the staff was excellent,nothing was too much trouble (even the cat on the outside dining room patio was welcoming) The cost of the drinks inside the hotel was comparable to the local bars,House wines were eight euros and a Vodka and Spite five and a half euros.If you can't find something to eat and enjoy in the Dining Room,you must be a very fussy eater.The hotel does keep the swimming pool closed off until just before nine, however people just have to lay their towels out (must be in the mind set) you will always find a bed.We did book a day in the Wellness Centre and also had a massage (very enjoyable) even had paper pants provided to cover any embarrassment? We hired a car in the Hotel,couldn't be bothered to shop around and found that the cost of a Mid range car was thirty six euros a day,all in.We did take in all the holiday spots to see what other choices Fuerteventura had to offer and found that the Barcelona Corralejo Bay and Corralejo in particular had no comparison.If you have strong nerves take a trip to Cofete, high winding roads and no crash barrier,terrifying! But well worth it.Bentancuria and El Cotillo together with Ajuy also worth a visit.The hotel also provides a free courtesy bus to the Hotel Rui and the Sand Dunes every day.All in all we had a fantastic Holiday thanks to Thomson and all at the Barcelo Corralejo.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 45 in Corralejo
1,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#4 of 45 in Corralejo
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Suites
H10 Ocean Suites
#9 of 45 in Corralejo
1,561 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range: £95 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing