We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Customer Service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in Corralejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No Customer Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice before when it was Atlantis Palace & was really looking forward to going back......how disappointing it was.. the hotel was just as nice and the rooms were clean & comfortable but there was no greeting when we arrived just 'yes' ??? I explained to the extremely off hand man behind the reception desk that we were on Thomas Cook booking for a week, once he found our booking he thrust 4 pieces of card at us and stared as if we knew what we had to do??? anyway eventually he pointed to where we had to sign and gave us the room keys...we then proceeded to carry our own baggage to the rooms as no offer of assistance was offered..when we got to the room it was obvious it was not overlooking the pool area which is what I requested so I went down to reception and asked if we could change rooms etc to which i was told it would cost an extra 20 euro per day (we had 2 rooms) i asked why when Thomas Cook had said they would request these rooms (bearing in mind the hotel wasnt even half full) the unfriendly chap said Thomas Cook did not have access to these rooms as they were an upgrade, talk about feeling like a 2nd class citizen , anyway I refused to pay it so he told me to take it up with our rep...it was 10pm by this time , we had been travelling for 12 hrs best to be left till morning.....the upshot was we stayed in our allotted rooms which were clean & comfortable as i really didn't want to spoil our holiday by arguing & getting in a state, there was no pool side service so if you wanted a drink you had to get up and go to the bar, which was manned throughout the day, but you try juggling 4 drinks with no offer of a tray...not easy, there was no atmosphere in the lobby bar where they had a couple of 'acts' on throughout the week, even dimming the lights might have helped and a few candles on the tables...everything seemed too much trouble, all in all a disappointing stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,497
    1,291
    308
    71
    46
See reviews for
407
3,171
97
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

10day stay mid July. Hotel very nice, clean and quiet. Adults only. Great location for beach, bars and restaurants, all a 2 minute walk away - but never noisy in the evenings.
Poolside always very quiet and relaxing, and always available sunbeds, never over crowded. Poolside bar had a great selection of drinks and ice creams. Only had lunch there one day and was a little disappointed but otherwise very nice.
Breakfast and Evening meal buffet always good with a lot of choice. Always tables available and waiters very helpful and friendly. Drinks inexpensive.
Lobby bar very nice and good choice of cocktails on offer. Daytime and evening entertainment on offer every day, but never forced upon you. We never attended any but a good variety day to day.
Room very clean and spacious with a private balcony. Maid service very efficient, normally been by the time we returned from breakfast. Sounds silly, but good choice of uk TV channels in the room too.
Reception staff always very friendly and efficient, our queries were always dealt with quickly and never felt like a burden.
Overall a great hotel, we had a fab relaxing holiday, just what we wanted!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
9 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The staff were all warm and welcoming, the hotel looked like the photos online. The atmosphere was peaceful and restful, just what I had hoped for. There is no dawn patrol competing for sunbeds by the pool - the area is closed until 9am, a lovely leisurely approach which was appreciated by all the guests I spoke to. The food was lovely and plentiful, although I would have preferred more variety of vegetarian options as I don't like cheese. I loved that I could join in activities with people of a similar age and (lack of!) fitness - stretching, yoga, pilates, aquagym to make up for the extra calories I was eating.

The Spa was great - lovely steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi, with showers and pools and its own sunbed area to lounge in. The real highlight for me was the treatments given by the warm, kind & knowledgeable Raffaela Caafa. She is an extraordinarily talented masseuse and managed to free up many of the knots of stress in my muscles, accumulated over a number of years. The facial she did for me was amazing, a visible difference. I came out looking years younger, and feeling it too. Highly recommended!

The reason I didn't give an excellent rather than very good was that I had to pay 3 euros a day for the use of the safe in my room, and the air conditioning unit leaked one night and I almost slipped over on the wet floor when I got up - that could have ruined my holiday, but thankfully it didn't. It had obviously happened before, I could see where the wet had stained the wall around the unit. The staff were quick to apologise and send someone to deal with it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KES194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

If you are looking for a club 18-30 holiday this is not the place for you but if you want a grown up relaxing experience then look no further. We have just returned for 10 days in the Barcelo Corralejo Bay. This was our second visit and if anything it has improved since the perfection of 2012. On arrival we were greeted professionally and despite the late arrival (after 10:00) caused by a delay at the airport we were able to get a full evening meal from the restaurant. Talking of the restaurant this was excellent and we managed to eat our fill on several occasions and both of us are now on a diet! The room was clean and well appointed it even had tea making facilities that were an extra in 2012! The entertainment was mixed but then it is catering to a wide age range the Lady Singer on Wednesday was very good and even sung “our song” as it our anniversary. The Rock group was also great it was just a shame it was limited to 1 hour. They again played a request number a rocking AC DC number The pool was very good if a little surreal to be sitting there in almost library quiet but is was nice to have an near empty pool with no dive bombing and screaming kids Finally the hotel is very well placed far enough away from the strip to limit the noise and we were on the town side of the hotel (Room 2133) and like to sleep with the door balcony door ajar, but only 10 minutes walk to the main restaurant and bar area around the harbour..
We will be back again, god willing, next year.

Room Tip: We had a room on the town side it had late afternoon sun and was not affected by hotel nosie or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralejo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

A warm welcome was given at this lovely hotel, the room was in a great location overlooking the pool area. the very comfortable bed was a relief as this can spoil a holiday. the pool was large clean and sunbed area spacious and plenty of beds which was good as the local beeches were nice but the strong currents in the sea made swimming dangerous, food excellent, staff wonderful. Visit Murphy's irish bar for a good night out!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralejo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had booked a Superior room with a sea-view and king size bed ( or 2 doubles ) only to find that this wasn't happening . We had only made a REQUEST according to hotel staff at reception on our arrival upon which I showed our booking confirmation and suddenly our original room had upgraded itself to what we had booked ! We had travelled for 10 hours so we reluctantly took the room only to find loose floor tiles and leaking sinks ! We received a token for a pool towel which could only be changed once during our 7 night stay !! We also had to request bed linen changes on a daily basis otherwise the bed was made up with the old linen . Bath towels had to be left on the floor otherwise they weren't changed neither . Room safes available at a cost is something we found totally unacceptable too !! 30 minutes free Wi-Fi a day is a nonsense as nothing would load up as the service was unbelievably slow ! One comical remark made by staff at reception on our checking out about our room issues was , " Did you expect to see the sea when you opened your room drapes ? " errrrrrrr YES , as we had booked a sea-view room ! This same member of staff informed us the Barcelo Corralejo uses only the best room photos to advertise their hotel and upon arrival the unsuspecting guests get what room is available ! 200 characters is not near enough for my complaint ... AVOID AT ALL COSTS PEOPLE !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
14 Thank Crossman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corralejo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

The Rooms were lovely and the Entertainment was excellent. It was peaceful and near to the Beach, which is a great advantage. There were also shops close by. The beauty of the holiday was that we didn't need a car. The only downside is that the hot food and the hot plates in the Restaurant were not hot enough. The food was the only bad point of the resort. We enjoyed our stay and found it very relaxing. The Pool area was lovely, with towels provided. However, we enjoy the Beach more as you get more of a breeze from the sea, as by the Pool it can be very hot. It suited us as it is an 'Adults only' resort. Overall a great holiday, would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corralejo
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
Barcelo Corralejo Sands
#7 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel Boutique Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bahiazul Villas & Club
Bahiazul Villas & Club
#2 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
23.2 mi away
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
0.3 mi away
H10 Ocean Dreams
H10 Ocean Dreams
#5 of 46 in Corralejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Corralejo Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Corralejo Bay

Property: Barcelo Corralejo Bay
Address: Avenida Grandes Playas 12, 35660 Corralejo, La Oliva, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly BlueBay Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > La Oliva > Corralejo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Corralejo
#3 Green Hotel in Corralejo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Corralejo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Corralejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Corralejo Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Barcelo, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Barcelo Corralejo Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Hotel Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Corralejo
Bluebay Palace Hotel Corralejo
Barcelo Corralejo Bay Fuerteventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing