We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Marina Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marina Elite
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hotel was good. I really can't knock it. Yes it's location wasn't the greatest however your five minutes away from a beach along the dirt track at the side of the hotel.
It's not for the faint hearted who do not like walking. But it suited me and my partner fine. Apartments are basic but cleaner came 4/7 days we were there.
The food is fine. Not a buffet because it was quiet when we went mid June this year. You order off the menu and order what you like. There is more selection than chips available. You have to ask. The staff were really friendly and even told us where the beach was and recommended Puerto Rico. It was 3 euros in a tack and we were there daily.
This hotel is perfect for couples who like peace and quiet and not kids running around. The hotels under improvement but I'd gladly return for the price we paid and its location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Marina Elite
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

we arrived at the marina elite on the 24th june 2013 until the 1st july 2013. Our first impressions were better than what we were expecting as i have seen some awful reviews on this place, but it was clean and spacious, and the man at the reception made us feeel very welcome.

The hotel is right at the top of a large hill with some spectacular views, they have a bench at the top where you can sit to watch the sun set (of which I highly reccomend , its beautiful).

When we booked the trip online we only booked for a 'standard room', however when we opened the door we found it to be a lovely spacious apartment, with a kitchen (oven, microwave, fridge, plates, glasses etc), a lounge with a tv (not that you watch tv whilst on holiday) with two lovely comfortable sofas. You have two standard single sized beds in the bedroom with a good big spacious wardrobe, lots of drawers a mirror and a safe. There was also a nice balcony situated above the pool and restaurant area which was great for relaxing. The maids come to clean your room everyday except a sunday which I think is their day off. Your towels are changed every day and bedding every 3 days. The maids were very pleasant and happy, always walked past with a big smile on their face.

We went 'all inclusive' at the marina and whilst some of the other guests staying at the hotel were quick to moan and complain about the hotel, i dont really have any grumbles. There werent many people staying at the hotel when we were , maybe a maximum of 15-20, but this was probably due to the time of year (just before school holidays). The food was good but basic, as lots of guests were saying, there wasnt much choice, but think about it, the chef cooking isnt going to start cooking lots and lots of food for about 10 people on all inlusive is he? I was happy with the food at the hotel, and on a couple of nights thought it was actually quite nice ( i complimented the chef on how great i thought tea was one night, and then every night after we got to choose from a menu). However, there are no snacks throughout the day so make sure that if you are eating at the hotel that you dont miss the meal times.

The bar was open from 11-11, and although (alcohol wise), there wasnt too much to choose from, i think it was just about enough to suit to everyones needs. If you ask the bar staff politely they can make you a 'special cocktail' which was really good and to most guests tastes :)
Some nights the bar closed early, but this was mainly due to the fact there was either one person or no people at the bar area so they closed early. There were only 3 bar staff during the time I was there, but mainly just two. The man in the morning is lovely and cheerful, quick to help and easy to talk to. He made all the guests feel very welcome. At 3pm they have a changeover when a barman called 'daniel' (i think) comes on. Some of the other guests at the hotel complained saying he was 'moody' and 'never smiled', however I found him to be great! He was very attentive and hardworking, he understood everything you said and didnt ask you to repeat anything. I think if you approach him with politeness and a smile then you really will have no issues with him. I liked him that much I even gave him a tip on our last day and said thankyou for looking after us, for which he seemed very touched. A small act of kindness really does go a long way.

The hotel itself is situated between 'Anfi del mar' and 'Peurto rico'. To get to Perto rico, you have to get a taxi or a bus but it never cost more than 3-4 euros. It is a fantastic place with lots to do, and a cracking nightlife if you want a late one. They have plenty of boat trips available but DO NOT pay and go on the 'DOLPHIN TRIP' on a boat called 'SAGITTARIUS CAT'. It is a bit of a scam and you will not see any dolphins , however there is a boat trip called 'SPIRIT OF THE SEA' which almost garuntees you will see a dolphin or a whale, advertising a free boat trip if you dont.

Anfi del mar, is this amazing beautiful timeshare resort, with its own private beaches, restaurants bars, kids and adults entertainment, markets , boat trips etc. I would defiantely reccomend visiting here as it is only about a 15minute walk through balito beach next to the hotel.

The pool at marina elite was nice and spacious with plenty of sunloungers and parasols to choose from, and was definately a great suntrap for those of you wanting to catch a tan.

The only issues that i had with the hotel was that there was no entertainment (would not reccomend this hotel to families with small children), and they advertise 'jaccuzi/spa' and 'cafe' online however, we could not find a spa, the jaccuzis were broken and the cafe was closed (this may be due to the limited amount of guests in the hotel at the time). However the hotel does have its own spar for anything you need. The hotel receptionists are very helpful and friendly and can order taxis for you or arrange one of the excursions.

All in all, I had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. This hotel was definately a good place to relax , so if you are looking for something livelier then this is not the hotel for you. At the end of the day, this is a good cheap holiday, if you want 5* hotel accomodation and food, then go and pay for a 5*hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just got back from a week at the Balito Beach Apartments now known as the marina elite apartments,and they are past their heyday but they are clean and functional, the views where nice but the Atlantic ocean was right outside our room and despite being on the 10th floor we still couldn't sleep there isn't a beach as such just rocks but if you walk along the path after going down 80 steps from the hotel you will reach a nice beach in Anfi with water sports,shops and stalls and lovely cocktail bars and restaurants. There is a mini supermarket in the hotel but it is very limited in stock and despite it saying it is open 8am til 8pm it closes for several hours a day. we where all inclusive and the food was terrible all they did was chips everyday twice a day with either burgers, pasta, chicken no vegetarian options and the food never tasted cooked and was always cold, the staff where friendly and helpful and manged to find one tv channel in English which was the world news for a small taxi fee you can go into puerto rico which has a lovely sandy beach and lots of shops, stalls, bars, there wasn't any entertainment in the hotel despite being told when booking that there was three times a week. All in all the only thing that let the holiday down was the food and i will not be going back to the marina elite.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

never written a review before but the place and the staff were that bad I just had to warn others. What I couldn't understand and neither could the rest of every other british person that I spoke to was that people had given this resort some pretty good reviews on trip advisor. We were there for one week and got home this morning. In that time,we spoke to practically everyone staying there and they didn't just have the odd complaint they would tell you they hated it and everything about it. Ive always used trip advisor end theyre nearly always bang on with the reviews which was also the main reason we booked this but this place has to be seen to be believed. The staff would look at you sometimes as if they genuinely hated holidaymakers,it seemed like they would go out of their way to be rude and unhelpful,the food was at best just about edible with almost zero choice,there was no entertainment whatsoever and if you did try and complain to the management you were practically threatened as one bloke who was on hols with his young daughter found out when he only complained about not being able to keep his room on. I could go on and on about it but its making me evil when ithink about the much better all inclusives ive stayed in for the same price if not less so just be warned

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is the worst hotel I ever gone all inclusive with, food was disgusting and same set menu every night with not a great deal on. They charge for certain things ( ice lollys, bottle water ect ) although we went all inclusive. They had no entertainment on all week, it says the town is 5 minute walk, it's not and its not possible to walk there, as no shortcuts and you can't walk on the main road. Every person we spoke to in our hotel didn't have 1 nice thing to say about the place. Also we payed for 7 days all inclusive and on our 7 day they said we have to pay as we're leaving that day. I asked reception for a complaint form on my last day to, he said no if I do a complaint get out the room. Discusting

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cassied1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Overall a really nice holiday. Staff were friendly, weather was great, we had some lovely excursions and the food at the apartment was ok. Hope you like walking though because there were lots of steps, but for the money no complaints :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nicole b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel is placed about 10-15min walk from anfi del mar with a Nice sandy beach. 3-4euro with taxi to the citysenter in arguineguin and about 4-5euro by taxi to puerto rico. You can also take the walk to arguineguin alone the sea,talkes about 45min or so. The hotel is clean,remember to Ask for a full seaview. Restaurant and pool at the too. It is not the best location for wheelchairs or others that don't like stairs. Nice restaurant,live ok music for 40+. Breakfast is poor: bacon,egg,beens,bread,jam,butter,ketchup,majo,mustard,salt and pepper,and yes,some Cheese and ham. But,the rooms have a kitchen,the hotel have a supermarked,but there are a bigger shop Spar at anfi del mar where you can buy food and alcohole. Bus ticket to the great palmitos park cost only 3-4euro. You should take the time to go there,the delfine show was fantastic. In Marina elite is it very quiet,but also short distanse to puerto rico and arguineguin. Bus stop just outside the reseption of the hotel. Balcony at the hotel is quiet big.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Guro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arguineguin
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,215 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 216 in Maspalomas
3,045 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Green Field
Hotel Green Field
#50 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Beverly Park Hotel
Beverly Park Hotel
#121 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,725 reviews
1.3 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#24 of 68 in Puerto Rico
1,853 reviews
6.7 mi away
Koala Garden Suites
Koala Garden Suites
#179 of 216 in Maspalomas
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Elite

Address: Urbanizacion Balito S/N | Playa Balito, Bco de Balito, 35129 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Arguineguin
Price Range: £78 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Elite Resort is situated in a quiet location on top of Balito Beach offering spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. You will reach Anfi beach in about 10 minutes by a pleasant walk along the coast. At just a 5 minute taxi ride away, you will find the lively locations of Puerto Rico and Arguineguin, where you will find a big variety of restaurants, shops, bars, pubs and day or night leisure activities. The Marina Elite offers five types of rooms for all tastes and needs, from simple but cozy one-bedroom apartments to Deluxe rooms equipped with all the luxuries. At the buffet restaurant you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner while you observe the waves breaking on the beach. You can also relax in the two swimmingpools enjoying the sunny weather of the coast of Mogán with a refreshing drink from the poolbar. Children can enjoy the miniclub where plenty of activities will be held to ensure their entertainment. For sportsmen, the Marina Elite offers a tennis court, a gym and a sauna. The Marina Elite is all inclusive, therefore it includes all meals, snacks and drinks that you could desire. You will only have to worry about enjoying your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balito Beach Apartments Hotel Arguineguin
Balito Beach Grand Canary
Marina Elite Gran Canaria/Arguineguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing