We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Elite
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not bad place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Bit out of way of everything food not great appts big and clean pool area a bit far up a hill . Would also asked with a room with sea view . Reception staff really nice . ................................. .........

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elainemeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    107
    108
    54
    62
See reviews for
130
181
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

These apartments are no 5 star but most people who stay here haven't paid 5 star prices! Clean, basic and did the job for us as a family. Only down side is no air con. But lucky for us we stayed in the main hotel part,where they tend to locate all the brits, and with a direct sea view we kept the window open all night. No security risk at all so felt comfortable doing so. They are currently updating the apartments which is needed but nothing wrong with ours. Although we were all Inc so I can't comment on the cooking faculties in the apartments.
We saw 1 cockroach all week! Again this is nothing to do with the cleanliness. It's gran canaria!! The staff were always around constantly cleaning the resort!
Talking of food, again basic but nobody starved. Breakfast was choice of full English or continental with plenty of fresh fruit and unlimited juice tea coffee etc. Lunch and dinner always had fresh fruit and salad, with either a rice or pasta dish a meat choice and of course chips. This did get slightly boring towards the end of our week's stay but there was nothing wrong with quality of the food. All Inc drinks were served 11 to 11 but we never stayed around the bar area until late so can't comment on what time the bar actually closed. Local beer well known soft drinks available during this time. Most staff friendly enough especially the morning/daytime guy. You will definitely be able to tell the grumpy one people talk about who tends to work the evenings! They appreciate the attempt at any Spanish as they speak little English.
Reception staff the same. They appreciate the effort but are able to speak better English and always willing to book you a taxi or give you any local information.
The pool area is lovely,a little slippery at the end of the day but the kids loved it! Not too big so you can keep an eye on any little ones. Usually no fight over sunbed although the weekends tend to get busier with a lot of Spanish people staying for the weekend.
Definitely not suitable for anyone with a disability with the hills and steps and no easy disabled access to the pool and bar facilities. Definitely kept us fit walking from the hotel to the bar pool and restaurant a few times a day especially when carrying a two year old!
Loads to do locally though. Taxi to Puerto Rico less than 4 euros and a bus stop right outside for access to any other resort which is so cheap. We got on the bus to the waterpark and palmitos park each time for 10 euros for a family of 4! These were 2 fab days out. This is our 2nd time to gran canaria and we knew we wanted to do these trips again and were not disappointed!
Puerto Rico is the place to go for local shopping and nightlife
If you want a lovely beach go to Amadores which is about 5 euros in a taxi. It's got Caribbean sand and has a man made barrier which makes the sea like a warm swimming pool. Beautiful!! You also can't get hassled by touts or sellers here as its a protected area.
All in all our holiday was lovely. Relaxing time with our kids for a week. No hassles. No problems. Basic but that is what we paid for and we were certainly not disappointed by the apartments. We made the most if our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed end of June. Went AI food was good but limited choice of carbs ie chips most nights. Personally for just a week was not an issue to me but 2 weeks may put on too much weight.

A little out of the way but taxi cheap as chips and bus stop right outside. Staff friendly, maid service 6 days a week regular towel changes and sheets.

Nice pool lots of sun beds really good place for quiet break, no night entertainment but suited us.

All in all a really nice holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RhosBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Marina Elite - Ex Balito Beach Hotel

I booked to stay at these apartments as I was visiting a friend who lives in Los Caideros opposite so it was easy for me to get to her.

The apartment was clean but needed to be brought up to date, the picture on our wall had either sand trapped in it or mould and the bath had small rust spots - Prior to booking I had read that these apartments had been modernised, definitately not the case.

We were unable to sleep for the week that we stayed the beds were very uncomfortable.

The rooms did not come with air conditioning and got very hot especially at night. I had seen on the adverts that fans, hairdryers, irons and ironing boards would be provided as standard - they could be provided at an extra cost from the hotel reception.

You will have cooking facilities in your rooms and a few pans, crockery and knifes and forks, little thinsg like egg cups are not there but you will get round this. The toaster was a little enthusiastic it did not toast very well but when it had finished it would shoot the toast out and then would drop onto the floor - this was annoying but did make me laugh!

The most disturbing thing about this apartment was the cockroaches, we had cockroaches everyday, we used the hotel towels to stuff round the windows and patio doors to try and keep them out a bit, we also made sure that we kept the plugs in the sinks, bath and bidet - this also disturbed sleeping through worries of them crawling about. The cockraohes were not there because it was dirty more that they do not treat the outside areas to kill them off.

The maids came to clean 5 times whilst we were there and changed the sheets once.

In your room you will be provided with a television - there is only 1 english speaking channel which is CNN News - we did not go on holiday to watch tv but the option late in the evening would be nice.

I would not recommend staying at these apartments if you have mobility issues as it is up high and the nearest beach is a good 15-20 minutes walk - you could get to town in a taxi for around 5 euros.

We stayed 6-13th July and most people there were locals, I did not notice any other English people. Our room was right by the pool and at times got quite noisey.

We stayed in these apartments on a self catering basis so cannot comment on the food, I will say if you are looking for a nice all inclusive this does not look like the place to go.

I would not recommend staying at these apartments and is not somewhere I plan to return to. On my next visit to Gran Canaria I will pay a bit more and go somewhere nicer.

On your visit to Gran Canaria I would recommend a visit to Palmitos Park, The water Park in Taurito, Las Palmas and Anfi Beach.

Room Tip: Make sure you stuff the windows and patio doors with towels to keep the cockroaches out. Keep the cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Arguineguin hotels

Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hotel was good. I really can't knock it. Yes it's location wasn't the greatest however your five minutes away from a beach along the dirt track at the side of the hotel.
It's not for the faint hearted who do not like walking. But it suited me and my partner fine. Apartments are basic but cleaner came 4/7 days we were there.
The food is fine. Not a buffet because it was quiet when we went mid June this year. You order off the menu and order what you like. There is more selection than chips available. You have to ask. The staff were really friendly and even told us where the beach was and recommended Puerto Rico. It was 3 euros in a tack and we were there daily.
This hotel is perfect for couples who like peace and quiet and not kids running around. The hotels under improvement but I'd gladly return for the price we paid and its location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

we arrived at the marina elite on the 24th june 2013 until the 1st july 2013. Our first impressions were better than what we were expecting as i have seen some awful reviews on this place, but it was clean and spacious, and the man at the reception made us feeel very welcome.

The hotel is right at the top of a large hill with some spectacular views, they have a bench at the top where you can sit to watch the sun set (of which I highly reccomend , its beautiful).

When we booked the trip online we only booked for a 'standard room', however when we opened the door we found it to be a lovely spacious apartment, with a kitchen (oven, microwave, fridge, plates, glasses etc), a lounge with a tv (not that you watch tv whilst on holiday) with two lovely comfortable sofas. You have two standard single sized beds in the bedroom with a good big spacious wardrobe, lots of drawers a mirror and a safe. There was also a nice balcony situated above the pool and restaurant area which was great for relaxing. The maids come to clean your room everyday except a sunday which I think is their day off. Your towels are changed every day and bedding every 3 days. The maids were very pleasant and happy, always walked past with a big smile on their face.

We went 'all inclusive' at the marina and whilst some of the other guests staying at the hotel were quick to moan and complain about the hotel, i dont really have any grumbles. There werent many people staying at the hotel when we were , maybe a maximum of 15-20, but this was probably due to the time of year (just before school holidays). The food was good but basic, as lots of guests were saying, there wasnt much choice, but think about it, the chef cooking isnt going to start cooking lots and lots of food for about 10 people on all inlusive is he? I was happy with the food at the hotel, and on a couple of nights thought it was actually quite nice ( i complimented the chef on how great i thought tea was one night, and then every night after we got to choose from a menu). However, there are no snacks throughout the day so make sure that if you are eating at the hotel that you dont miss the meal times.

The bar was open from 11-11, and although (alcohol wise), there wasnt too much to choose from, i think it was just about enough to suit to everyones needs. If you ask the bar staff politely they can make you a 'special cocktail' which was really good and to most guests tastes :)
Some nights the bar closed early, but this was mainly due to the fact there was either one person or no people at the bar area so they closed early. There were only 3 bar staff during the time I was there, but mainly just two. The man in the morning is lovely and cheerful, quick to help and easy to talk to. He made all the guests feel very welcome. At 3pm they have a changeover when a barman called 'daniel' (i think) comes on. Some of the other guests at the hotel complained saying he was 'moody' and 'never smiled', however I found him to be great! He was very attentive and hardworking, he understood everything you said and didnt ask you to repeat anything. I think if you approach him with politeness and a smile then you really will have no issues with him. I liked him that much I even gave him a tip on our last day and said thankyou for looking after us, for which he seemed very touched. A small act of kindness really does go a long way.

The hotel itself is situated between 'Anfi del mar' and 'Peurto rico'. To get to Perto rico, you have to get a taxi or a bus but it never cost more than 3-4 euros. It is a fantastic place with lots to do, and a cracking nightlife if you want a late one. They have plenty of boat trips available but DO NOT pay and go on the 'DOLPHIN TRIP' on a boat called 'SAGITTARIUS CAT'. It is a bit of a scam and you will not see any dolphins , however there is a boat trip called 'SPIRIT OF THE SEA' which almost garuntees you will see a dolphin or a whale, advertising a free boat trip if you dont.

Anfi del mar, is this amazing beautiful timeshare resort, with its own private beaches, restaurants bars, kids and adults entertainment, markets , boat trips etc. I would defiantely reccomend visiting here as it is only about a 15minute walk through balito beach next to the hotel.

The pool at marina elite was nice and spacious with plenty of sunloungers and parasols to choose from, and was definately a great suntrap for those of you wanting to catch a tan.

The only issues that i had with the hotel was that there was no entertainment (would not reccomend this hotel to families with small children), and they advertise 'jaccuzi/spa' and 'cafe' online however, we could not find a spa, the jaccuzis were broken and the cafe was closed (this may be due to the limited amount of guests in the hotel at the time). However the hotel does have its own spar for anything you need. The hotel receptionists are very helpful and friendly and can order taxis for you or arrange one of the excursions.

All in all, I had a very enjoyable and relaxing time. This hotel was definately a good place to relax , so if you are looking for something livelier then this is not the hotel for you. At the end of the day, this is a good cheap holiday, if you want 5* hotel accomodation and food, then go and pay for a 5*hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Just got back from a week at the Balito Beach Apartments now known as the marina elite apartments,and they are past their heyday but they are clean and functional, the views where nice but the Atlantic ocean was right outside our room and despite being on the 10th floor we still couldn't sleep there isn't a beach as such just rocks but if you walk along the path after going down 80 steps from the hotel you will reach a nice beach in Anfi with water sports,shops and stalls and lovely cocktail bars and restaurants. There is a mini supermarket in the hotel but it is very limited in stock and despite it saying it is open 8am til 8pm it closes for several hours a day. we where all inclusive and the food was terrible all they did was chips everyday twice a day with either burgers, pasta, chicken no vegetarian options and the food never tasted cooked and was always cold, the staff where friendly and helpful and manged to find one tv channel in English which was the world news for a small taxi fee you can go into puerto rico which has a lovely sandy beach and lots of shops, stalls, bars, there wasn't any entertainment in the hotel despite being told when booking that there was three times a week. All in all the only thing that let the holiday down was the food and i will not be going back to the marina elite.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arguineguin
0.6 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,942 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
Dunas Mirador Maspalomas
#61 of 220 in Maspalomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Servatur Puerto Azul
Servatur Puerto Azul
#20 of 70 in Puerto Rico
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Mogan Princess & Beach Club
7.5 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Elite

Property: Marina Elite
Address: urbanizacion Balito S/N | Playa Balito, Bco de Balito, 35129 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Arguineguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marina Elite Resort is situated in a quiet location on top of Balito Beach offering spectacular views over the Atlantic Ocean. You will reach Anfi beach in about 10 minutes by a pleasant walk along the coast. At just a 5 minute taxi ride away, you will find the lively locations of Puerto Rico and Arguineguin, where you will find a big variety of restaurants, shops, bars, pubs and day or night leisure activities. The Marina Elite offers five types of rooms for all tastes and needs, from simple but cozy one-bedroom apartments to Deluxe rooms equipped with all the luxuries. At the buffet restaurant you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner while you observe the waves breaking on the beach. You can also relax in the two swimmingpools enjoying the sunny weather of the coast of Mogán with a refreshing drink from the poolbar. Children can enjoy the miniclub where plenty of activities will be held to ensure their entertainment. For sportsmen, the Marina Elite offers a tennis court, a gym and a sauna. The Marina Elite is all inclusive, therefore it includes all meals, snacks and drinks that you could desire. You will only have to worry about enjoying your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balito Beach Apartments Hotel Arguineguin
Balito Beach Grand Canary
Marina Elite Gran Canaria/Arguineguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing