We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic wellness and swimming pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“fantastic wellness and swimming pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

we stayed for one week in this aparthotel in a large room with a beautiful view ( although the balcony was the whole day in the shade); from the restaurant you had a lovely view over the swimming pool and looking to the sea but the food itself hasn't much variety and the presentation doesn' t give you appetite! The service at the reception was ok. We loved the heated swimming pool ( 27 ° c) and especially the wellness - complex downstairs and the solarium with jacuzzi on the 9th floor ( all free in all inclusive!)

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVMBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    188
    45
    13
    12
See reviews for
189
180
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We booked this hotel through Holiday Gems with no previous knowledge of the hotel. When we arrived we were very impressed as soon as we arrived at reception. The gentlemen behind the desk explained the resturant was about to close so he put our wristbands on said hurry down to the 1st floor so you get a good feed then we'll check you in afterwards. The next morning we woke to a lovely sea view on the second floor which was a perfect spot as we were close to all the facilities. The hotel caters for many nationalities and during our stay there was mainly Dutch and Scandinavians and everybody got on great. I would recommend this hotel especially for families and couples of all ages. The real hidden gem is the newly refurbished wellness centre in the basement, it has so many health features, too many to list and is all totally free, children are currently allowed to use it between 9-11am each day. Also on the roof they have a very modern Solarium with jacuzzi which was a lovely sun trap especially early mornings when the main pool was in the shade. The food was highly professional with lots to choose from although the chefs did like to add bucket loads of salt to every dish. overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definately plan to return within a few years.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robperry77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, Wielka Brytania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed in Dorado Beach in the last week of October, weather was sunny and warm every day. We got room 412 and it had amazing views and lots of space, there was no English channels on TV but you could spend time elsewhere.Room was very clean with a frigde and cooking facilities if needed. Pool- lovely with 2 jacuzzis,water temp 30 degrees. Lovely padling pool for kids. On the roof there is a solarium with jacuzzi, sunbeds and hammocks and also shower and water to drink. All inclusive service-food excellent, always hot and fresh with lots of choice for eberyone. Bars- very friendly staff, branded alcohols also included in all inclusive. Well equiped gym, nice gaming room and outstanding spa(free when all inclusive)with 3 pools,sun room, sauna etc. At the lobby pianist playing every evening 20.00-22.00. Sun terraces on 5th floor.Kids club with another small pool. And much more... You can rent a car from the reception and they will also organise your trips. Special thanks to Marina, Maya,reception staff, bar and restaurant staff and other people working in that hotel- you are doing a great job!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

My husband and I went to Dorado in October 2009, and we were so impressed we came back on 20th October and bought our 7yr old grandson, Its the first time we have ever returned to somewhere we have stayed before. Since last year they have extended their spa facilities with a wonderful indoor pool with jacuzzi jets in corners and a lie down version which came in useful as my back had gone into spasms whilst I was there so this helped. Also they had done a new computer room that was a relaxing atmosphere with low light lightning and good quality Apple computers free of charge, so one can keep contact on skype with family back home. The quality and offering of food was wonderful, I am a vegeterian and the fresh salads I enjoyed, the only thing would be to put what was in some of the mixed salads as I thought some had fish in so I did not touch. The offering of meat and fish my husband was impressed with, everything was nice and hot, and regularly replaced with fresh. Plenty of sunbeds, very clean everywhere, even the maids we would watch of a morning sweeping the drive and pavement outside of the perimeter of the hotel. Our grandson loved the pool, and the mini club which had moved and had also been updated, they allowed children in between 9 and 11 of a morning into the spa which he thought was great too. I could say so much more but there isnt enough room on here, I would just say 1 negetaive is that the bedrooms are very warm to sleep comfortly in as the ceiling fan was not adequate. We will be planning to go back again next and our granson would like to come too. Please be aware there aren't a lot of english guests here but this was not a problem to us as they were friendly enough and some did speak english, and the entertainment was spoken in all guests languages, although of an evening the entertainment was quite basic. Go to Puerto Mogan on the bus and get the boat back, and also trip to Palmitos Park which is set in the mountains, almost felt like King Kong was going to appear.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2007

I have just returned from a one week stay at this hotel and had a very enjoyable holiday. The hotel rooms I would describe as basic but comfortable and very clean. The baloncy was really spacious with a beautiful view over the sea. I found the staff to be very helpful and the one problem I had when the hair-dryer didn't work was sorted out immediately. The pool is a good size and the whole area was very clean and tidy apart from other holiday-makers leaving empty plastic cups lying around instead of using the bins provided!! Very few English visitors so expect lots of Germans and Scandinavians. Contrary to prior reports about the food I actually found the food very edible indeed. I had stayed in a premier hotel Sept 06 all inclusive and the food was dreadful. So to arrive at this hotel which cost a lot less I wasn't expecting very much but was pleasantly surprised. The entertainment was announced each day and the team actually walked around the pool area asking people to join in but of course no one did but it looked as if they were really trying.
It is a very quiet resort but if you just want a holiday where you can lie by the pool, have a meal and a quiet drink at night then I would definitely recommend it. If you want lots of fun and entertainment then it would not be for you. My rating would be 6-7 out of 10.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank bc13cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2007

We stayed here for one week in februar. The beds were very poor and we got to stay three adults in one flat with just two beds and one sofa(bed). After three days our back was hurting. Still we payed for 4 ordinary beds. Our travelagency booked our room wrong. Sleeping room was just two beds and four walls, thats it. Living room was ok but we couldnt use it because we used the bedsofa. Cleaning was also ok but not specially carefully cleaned. Still there was nothing else to do, it was quiet and you couldn't play with anything in the pool.It was forbidden. There was a lot of older people so I wouldnt recommend it to families. I thought it had to be quiet for the older people. The food was ok but it did'nt taste anything special.
After a week it was boring because the breakfast was always the same, cheese and ham. Food was various but nothing special,but ok. Althoug if you wanted fruits and vegetables it was ok, and the dining room was clean. (But I didnt like the cat that went in and out.) It's a ok hotel but not much more. And to stay in the village was either nothing to do. For me it was expensive if you look to the facts that one adult has to sleep in a caoch. I wouldnt recommend it if you have large expectasions for quality in your room,and wan't some good food made with a bit of love.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — No playing in the pool and the beds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DivaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2006

There were 10 people who went on this holiday ages rangeing from 14-52. We regularily choose all inclusive holidays but rarely go back to the same place.

The resort was situated right by the sea which gave all rooms the most beautiful sea view. The rooms were very pleasent and kept clean. Towels were changed every two days and bed sheets every few days. There were only a few sightings of cockroaches in the hotel but most were not alive as if the hotel had some sort of insect spray/powder down.

The pool area was also kept very clean and there was never any problem finding a sunbed or a bit of shade. There were areas around the pool to sunbathe or away from the pool depending on what type of holiday you are going for. Very close by just outside the hotel was a small manmade beach and pool which the sea would come into when the tide was in. One day this was cornered off with police tape because there was a sewage problem as the tide had brought it in (although this could happen anywhere to be fair).

The hotel food was varied but it did become tiresome after a while because it's all similar dishes (but thats how you get with most all inclusive hotels not all though). Plenty of fish and meat dishes...not sure about any vegetarian alternatives though. The meat was never cooked through but that doesn't tend to bother most people. They have a wonderful chocolate fountain but as we discoverd they have it on every day with the same fruits and the sweets never tend to change. Always the same cake, fruit and rice pudding.

However in the daytime they had a snack bar by the pool which was great for a change. They had pizza which was made in front of your eyes, spring rolls, hot dogs etc. But again it was the same every day.

By the pool and in the resteraunt drinks were help yourself. Lager, Wine and soft drinks. I thought it would have been nice for the evening meal to have being served drinks but that didn't seem the case. It was also help yourself to a table and the most you could get on one table was six and the tables were not allowed to be moved. So it was disappointing for a family of 10 to not be able to have one meal together at the same table on holiday. (It's just a little thing but these things make a difference).

There were three bars: a piano bar with comfortable chairs which only ever had one person serving. This was only open 6-10 so after 10 drinks were only available downstairs in the main bar where the kids entertainment was. So you couldn't really have a relaxing night up there all night unless you like early nights. There was the pool bar which shut at 6. And the main bar which opend 6-12.

The pool bar was very satisfying exept for a couple of days out of the two weeks when the help your self soft drinks (which weve already paid for dont forget) didn't work so only hot drinks or water was available. The main bar was far too small to cater for the whole hotel. The room itself wasn't big enough and there were tall chairs round the small bar area which blocked people from being served. There weren't enough seats outside and inside for everyone on a night time some families were sat on sun loungers. At quarter to twelve it was last orders but they didn't call last orders you were expected to know. And at ten to twelve the bar staff were ushering you out of the room to the small area of seating outside which i wouldn't have minded. But then the hotel security gaurd would come round and "shush" everyone every 10 minutes because the noise would travel from an ordinary conversation. Which became increasingly irritating and you'd finally go to bed which was there aim.

The entertainment was said in many different languages during the day and a night but there was only one act at night out of the 14 days which was english. The kids entertainment looked brilliant in the daytime with their own little gym and computers. However we felt at first there was nothing for the adults to join in with. We then realised a couple of days on that there was water polo and shooting but the entertainment team never came round and asked if any of us wanted to join in if you wern't there when it was happening by chance then you wern't asked. Another family there were English and one day the dad of that family asked to join in water polo to which the entertainers reply was "no its holland against (another country)" not sure what it was. But he couldnt join in because it wasn't his country playing but there wasn't one day when it was england against another team.

However there were plenty of places close by to travel to for night entertainment for little money in taxis for the whole family's entertainment. An overall view of this place would be very basic and kids orientated not family.

  • Liked — The great sea views.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MeghannMarie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arguineguin
2.3 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 70 in Puerto Rico
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
6.2 mi away
Cordial Mogan Playa
Cordial Mogan Playa
#1 of 2 in Puerto de Mogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
3.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
6.3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa

Property: Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa
Address: Crrta. Arguineguin, s/n, 35120 Arguineguin, Mogan, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Mogan > Arguineguin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Arguineguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorado Beach Aparthotel Hotel Arguineguin
Aparthotel Dorado Beach Arguineguin
Aparthotel Dorado Beach Hotel Arguineguin
Hotel Dorado Beach & Spa Gran Canaria/Arguineguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing