We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, reasonable value for Cadaques, better than expected”
Review of Hotel Octavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Octavia
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable value for Cadaques, better than expected”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed for two nights with our two sons 12 and 9yrs as part of a road trip around Catalonia. Wasn't expecting much as had read the reviews and had a tough time finding a place with a quadruple room on budget in Cadaques. Usually stay in 4 star but no options on budget in this town! However, very pleasantly surprised. The quadruple room was the largest we had all trip as was the bathroom, no need to clamber over eachother to use the bathroom in the night and plenty of space for luggage. Seriously, spotlessly clean (I'm picky!) lovely balcony overlooking a small public square.
Air conditioning unit is around the corner from where you sleep and not always effective at circulating air around that corner!
Check in simple, manager looks slighty harassed. Parking literally at the side of the hotel, locked and costs 8 euros per day, book it, not worth the hassle of trying to find a spot.
Breakfast was very simple continental but the first hotel we stayed in that had 'real' juice and all was good quality and replenished immediately.
The best thing about this hotel is the location which is literally a stones throw from everything. Cadaques is an amazing town, will definitely return and would definitely stay at the Octavia again. Only down side is the lack of pool, while there are lots of little coves in Cadaques and the sea is exquisite the sand is unpleasant.
In conclusion probably a good 2 star, only offers b n b and no pool but clean spacious rooms, excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuggyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    116
    61
    13
    7
See reviews for
58
108
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Clean, good central location, reasonable value. If you drive, it's worth paying in advance for the hotel's nearby car park as parking near the hotel in central Cadaques is almost impossible without this.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our 20 yr old daughter. The rooms are basic with a balcony. They are big for Europe. The breakfast was included and there is secure parking nearby. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is less then a block from the water. This was a wonderful experience in a beautiful village!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We were in Cadaques at mid-tourist season, so the hotel was not very full or (as a result) very noisy. I think in high season, noise from other rooms might be a problem. The air conditioner was extremely weak and the room was a bit stuffy -- again, not a problem in May but likely a problem in mid-summer. But it had some good strengths: balcony on street side offered a nice view toward the water and of the city commerce; excellent location in central Cadaques, close to everything and opposite a big grocery store; spacious, very clean room with decent beds; black out curtains made sleeping in easy. During high season I would not recommend this hotel, but in the off season it was perfect. Also, the hotel has a locked parking lot for cars, free to hotel guests. Staff weren't particularly warm, but were very helpful when asked.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfchefmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

First the good points: the Octavia is only a very short distance from the seashore, and a stone's throw from all amenities (including a supermarket handily located across the street). The rooms, (large) bathrooms and common areas are all spotlessly clean.
However: I agree with the remark made by another reviewer to the effect that the hotel lacks those little touches that should come with a three-star rating. In fact, it looks and feels more like a good, if characterless, two-star hotel. Also, breakfast was completely tasteless (I think they must have organised a call to tender for the most insipid croissants to be found south of the French border), and coffee was basically black water.
The worst aspect, though, was that one definitely felt the absence of anybody that could be described as the person(s) responsible for the running of the hotel: this was left to a handful of South American girls who were quite polite and performed their routine duties well, but who were not exactly hands-on and gave the impression of not having a great deal of initiative. I am not blaming them: it is up to management to make itself present and pro-active, and I'm afraid in this particular case management was nowhere to be seen. Perhaps they were too busy attending to their two other businesses in Cadaqués (a hostal and a restaurant) to bother with the Octavia. If such is the case, I suggest they downsize.
Would I recommend this hotel to a friend? It depends on what they'd be looking for. I suppose it's fine if you just want a clean place to sleep and are not too bothered about breakfast, but I do think the wonderful place that is Cadaqués deserves a lot better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We loved our time in Cadaques staying at the Octavia. We had trouble finding the hotel, driving across a 'square' to get to the street to the Octavia seemed unusual. However once there all was good. Car parking was easy and it was a very good central location.
Rooms were very clean and the staff were relaxed and helpful. We had a little balcony, you could see the sea to the right down the street. Here we enjoyed drinks bought from the supermarket over the road. Breakfast was adequate.
There were better hotels in Cadeques right on the water but I would guess they would be quite a bit more expensive. Octavia was good value for money and we had a great stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailaway007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The first thing to know, is that Cadaques has the most confusing street layout of anywhere I have ever driven. Street names are difficult to find or read. Maps are useless. That’s not the Octavia’s fault, however, and once you find it, it is easy to get back to.

The hotel is clean and simple. Our room (3rd floor, front) was large, had a comfy bed and large bathroom. From the balcony, it was possible (just) to see the sea at the end of the street. Street noise was minimal and the shutters were very effective. Breakfast was good.

Two recommendations while you’re in town: do not miss the interior of the church. It is boring on the outside but, boy, do they make up for that inside. It is stunningly ornate. The food at Casa Nun (turn left onto the seafront) was outstanding and the tempura appetizer was one of the best dishes I have ever eaten anywhere!

Two cautions: our food experience at T’Aronger (?spelling) was not the best – the food went back, but the staff were very pleasant. To console ourselves, we went to the Hostal Bar / Night Club. Great and very famous interior, but stratospheric prices: €24 for one cocktail, a glass of dodgy red wine and a water.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bar2far
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel S'Aguarda
Hotel S'Aguarda
#8 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residencia
Hotel La Residencia
#10 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octavia

Property: Hotel Octavia
Address: St Vicenc s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octavia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Octavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing