We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved Cadaques! Hotel is Just O.K.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Octavia

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Octavia
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
San Diego
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved Cadaques! Hotel is Just O.K.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This hotel is indeed in a great location as others have said, with ample free parking on the street. The rooms are big, but not very clean. The entire hotel smells so strongly of cigarette smoke it is almost nauseating. We slept with the patio doors open to reduce the smell, but then had to deal with street noise. There is a supermarket directly across the street which is convenient. The breakfast was good. All that being said, Cadaques is amazing!! Definitely stay in Cadaques, even if you have to stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimVelazquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    110
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
105
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Cadaques is a gorgeous little town so much quieter and slower paced than other Costa Bravo destinations. The Octavia Hotel is ideally placed to take advantage of everything this lovely place has to offer. Less than 200 metres to the Mediteranean and main shopping area, the hotel has a supermarket directly across the road.

The rooms are spacious, terrazzo floored and well equipped. Salvador Dali reproductions adorn the walls as this is Dali country. Bathrooms have full size baths, very good pressure and bidets for those who need those sort of things.

Unfortunately no fridges, kettles or toasters though the Continental breakfast is excellent and served from 0800-1045. Staff spoke pretty good English except during afternoon siesta when the office staff are replaced by house keepers (I think). Parking is a short walk away and well worth the €8 per day.

Internet can be bought for €5 per 24 hours and is reasonably strong and doesn't drop out (unlike lots of other places in Spain and Italy).

So close to everything, you can leave the car and walk - although the trip out to the lighthouse at Cap de Creus is well worth the effort. There is a small 'train' which takes tourists out there and back for €16 per adult. The local boat tour to the national park is good value at €14 for 90 minutes.

The hotel is not well identified and diffcult to find - see the tips section for a clue.

Room Tip: Cadeques is a difficult place to navigate.......when looking for Octavia, head to the Centre but tur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dooragan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I visited Cadaques last spring in order to see the Dali House in PortLligat. While some guidebooks say that it really takes a car to get there, we took the bus from Barcelona and had no problem. It let us off in the public square a couple of winding blocks away. As others have commented, the layout of the town makes it hard to find the hotel and maps don't really make it much clearer given the tangle of bridges. We wandered down the main street to the beach, turned around and saw the hotel on the next street that we had just crossed over. It wasn't hard. The staff was friendly, if a bit limited in English, and provided a good map of the town with clear directions to get over the hill to Dali's house. There are a lot of picturesque buildings in the village, but if one were to really just want to get to Dali's place, it shouldn't take more than 30 minutes to walk there. Wandering the winding streets of the town was a lot of fun. I wish we had more time to see the local art museum but we did see the big church and the euro it cost to turn on the lights was well worth it. Back at the hotel, the room was clean and the bathroom was very nice with a lot of marble and plenty of hot water. The street was quiet at night. There are a lot of nice restaurants nearby as well as a very extensive "SuperMercat" directly across the street from the hotel. The breakfast was fine, we had no problems with the freshness of the food or the selection, although I don't recall any hot items. The thing that was really nice for us about the breakfast was that we had to catch the bus to Figueres at 8:30 and while breakfast wasn't supposed to be open that early, I explained our schedule in rudimentary Spanish and the staff turned on the lights and let us in. As I said, a lot of the staff did not speak much English (hey, it IS Spain), but simple Spanish was more than sufficient; at least I didn't have to try Catala. The Octavia was a very convenient hotel for seeing Cadaques and PortLligat, especially if you plan to use the bus to get around. That way you don't have to pay for parking and on the crazy winding road down to Cadaques, it is far better to be in the bus than in a car that has to share the road with that bus.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyrarex2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed for two nights with our two sons 12 and 9yrs as part of a road trip around Catalonia. Wasn't expecting much as had read the reviews and had a tough time finding a place with a quadruple room on budget in Cadaques. Usually stay in 4 star but no options on budget in this town! However, very pleasantly surprised. The quadruple room was the largest we had all trip as was the bathroom, no need to clamber over eachother to use the bathroom in the night and plenty of space for luggage. Seriously, spotlessly clean (I'm picky!) lovely balcony overlooking a small public square.
Air conditioning unit is around the corner from where you sleep and not always effective at circulating air around that corner!
Check in simple, manager looks slighty harassed. Parking literally at the side of the hotel, locked and costs 8 euros per day, book it, not worth the hassle of trying to find a spot.
Breakfast was very simple continental but the first hotel we stayed in that had 'real' juice and all was good quality and replenished immediately.
The best thing about this hotel is the location which is literally a stones throw from everything. Cadaques is an amazing town, will definitely return and would definitely stay at the Octavia again. Only down side is the lack of pool, while there are lots of little coves in Cadaques and the sea is exquisite the sand is unpleasant.
In conclusion probably a good 2 star, only offers b n b and no pool but clean spacious rooms, excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuggyLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Clean, good central location, reasonable value. If you drive, it's worth paying in advance for the hotel's nearby car park as parking near the hotel in central Cadaques is almost impossible without this.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our 20 yr old daughter. The rooms are basic with a balcony. They are big for Europe. The breakfast was included and there is secure parking nearby. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is less then a block from the water. This was a wonderful experience in a beautiful village!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

We were in Cadaques at mid-tourist season, so the hotel was not very full or (as a result) very noisy. I think in high season, noise from other rooms might be a problem. The air conditioner was extremely weak and the room was a bit stuffy -- again, not a problem in May but likely a problem in mid-summer. But it had some good strengths: balcony on street side offered a nice view toward the water and of the city commerce; excellent location in central Cadaques, close to everything and opposite a big grocery store; spacious, very clean room with decent beds; black out curtains made sleeping in easy. During high season I would not recommend this hotel, but in the off season it was perfect. Also, the hotel has a locked parking lot for cars, free to hotel guests. Staff weren't particularly warm, but were very helpful when asked.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sfchefmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel S'Aguarda
Hotel S'Aguarda
#8 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Residencia
Hotel La Residencia
#10 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octavia

Property: Hotel Octavia
Address: St Vicenc s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octavia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Octavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing