We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of Hotel Octavia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Octavia
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Firstly this is a cheap hotel with a fantastic location and also free parking. The breakfast is minimal and pretty basic but there is a supermarket opposite and hundreds of restaurants in the area. The town itself is beautiful and would totally recommend a visit. There are not many high class hotels but as we hardly spent any time there it was no problem. The rooms are large enough, clean and as I say great location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plainchoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    123
    69
    16
    7
See reviews for
61
120
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

Hotel Octavia was a welcome surprise compared to other hotels of the same rating. They are perfectly located in the center of Cadaques. The rooms were clean, the shower was great (not always the case in Europe), the staff was friendly and the breakfast bar more than adequate. If you need anything else, the market is directly across the street. Friends came to visit and they were able to park in the hotel's complimentary parking lot nearby. (This helps tremendously, as parking is limited in Cadaques.) The two drawbacks were: 1) the internet access was only available in the lobby; however, it's a comfortable lobby with plenty of room and 2) it's a bit noisy in the mornings due to delivery trucks in town. Regardless, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquasib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel has an excellent location close to everything, but lacks the small touches that could make it outstanding. Whilst clean, there were absolutely no frills that merit the price being charged. The breakfast was barely acceptable and consisted of tea/coffee, cornflakes, a small selection of rolls, a plate of cheese and some sort of sandwich meat, tomatoes, plain yogurt and fruit. The yogurt was the only nice bit and the quality of the fruit was unforgivable (considering that right across the street in the little store you could buy amazing fruit!) The apples were old, soft and wrinkled, the plums were overripe and bruised and the kiwi was underripe. I think this hotel is fine if you want a no frills stay, but I seriously think you could do better.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I stayed at Hotel Octavia for one week. I was in town with friends for a destination wedding. One of my main criteria for rating a hotel stay is cleanliness and this place was pristine. The rooms were in great shape and comfortable for me and the other 2 gals I roomed with. Another plus was that the grocery store was right across the street perfect for grabbing some water or snacks (and very reasonably priced). Breakfast was fine: croisaants, juices, yogurt, ham and cheese. After breakfast, though, we would head down the street to Cafe Casino where they have great cafe con leche and breakfasts such as bacon and eggs.
Anyways, the only downside I would say is that the night shift receptionist would smoke all night, so when I was making my phone call to the states at 2am from the lobby, it was pretty smokey.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shendyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We found the hotel reasonably priced and included a private locked car park. The staff were friendly & the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel is centrally located and near the sea front. we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadaques
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tarongeta
Hotel Tarongeta
#7 of 13 in Cadaques
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel S'Aguarda
Hotel S'Aguarda
#8 of 13 in Cadaques
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
242 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Spa Porto Cristo
Hotel Spa Porto Cristo
#2 of 4 in El Port de la Selva
232 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grecs Hotel
Grecs Hotel
#17 of 36 in Roses
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Octavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Octavia

Property: Hotel Octavia
Address: St Vicenc s/n, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Octavia 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Octavia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing