We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You'll have to learn Catalan” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tarongeta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Tarongeta
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You'll have to learn Catalan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night only as the next day we started our way to Zaragoza-Madrid. Cadaques is a small town, so it takes about ten minutes to walk from the hotel to the beaches, though it is located "in the suburbs". The room was nice. Still, instead of a double bed we saw two separate beds just joined to each other, which is not very comfortable for a young couple. The shower is really hand-operated, as you may have read in a previous feedback, but for me it wasn't that awful. The room was clean, the walls aren't dirty at all and there was no problems with noise from the streets. The breakfast was nice (bread, butter, jam, croissants, jamon, sausage, cheese, yogurt, cornflakes, dried plums, milk, cake, tea, coffee). Parking was OK, they even let you keep it for a while after you check out, which was very helpful as we wanted to sunbathe a bit before leaving. The thing that irritated me was that only one person at the reception desk could speak English. The other staff didn't even say simple English words. There was an old woman who was a kind of receptionist, but she didn't even make any attempt to exchange information with us. We asked her some questions about the conditions of checking out and wanted to pay for the breakfast and she spoke to us in Catalan. We told her we didn't understand and she answered: "But I don't speak English, I speak Catalan and Spanish" (in Catalan, of course; after a week of traveling in Spain you start to recognize some words). Her facial expression tried to explain that it is not her problem if we understand or not. My native language is Russian, so I wanted to answer her in Russian and see her reaction. But I was too polite. So, if you decide to visit Cadaques and especially this hotel, try to learn at least some basic Catalan words and expressions.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Оксана П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    139
    47
    8
    11
See reviews for
27
173
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

The air conditioning worked perfectly, and the car park went really well. A very good choice to visit the lovely village of Cadaques. You should go there! The only thing was that breakfast was not included.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ninasawyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Some refurbished rooms at this hotel are nice, especially ones with balconies, ours was basic, dark and prison-like as the metal shutters did not open. The bathroom had a hand-held shower. The hotel faces a busy main road, there are much nicer quieter places to stay further into Cadaques, such as Ubaldo. We booked through an agency; the hotel took 2 deposits on our first night (NOT procedure) and only refunded one at checkout, charged double tourist tax for one of us. We hadn't realised this until checking our visa statement at home. It took the agency a few days to obtain a refund, and it was less than it should have been.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for three nights. Very conviently located behind the bus station, supermarket and down/old town. Hotel was clean and well kept. As previous people have noted it was at times loud due to the tile floors, but quiet during the night. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cangal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

The room was excellent, nice and clean with a large private balcony (albeit without a view). The staff were friendly enough but didn't have the best English. The hotel is nextdoor to the bus stop which is very handy if you're without a car, and also 2 minutes from the old town and 5 minutes from the beach. Definitely recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieR0bb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We chose this hotel because of the on-site parking and the WiFi in the room.
From this standpoint we were delighted.
But this is about all we can say in favor of the hotel itself.

The rooms are basic and very very noisy because the only window faces the street which goes uphill with cars in first or second gear.
In addition, the air-conditioning system was out of service, not because it did not work, but because the owner so decided. It happened that the day was rather warm, yesterday 31 degrees Celsius today about 25, the room was overheated when we came in and the only way to cool it down was to open the window which increased enormously the noise coming from the street.

I went down to complain at the reception and they candidly said that there was no air-conditioning because they stop it on September 30th. I asked why, and they said that it is because the heat is over. I said, unfortunately, this year summer has not stopped on September 30th and they should have not stopped the conditioner. They said yes, but we cannot open it just for one room. They added that after September 30th people are cold and do not need the air condition, I said, if they don’t want it they can elect not to use, but not because of those who are cold you decide for ALL to stop the air condition.

What is most annoying is that Booking.com, with whom we usually book our hotels, are fairly honest in advertising the positives of the hotels. For this particular hotel, the advertisement on the reservation clearly states:
“This bright, air-conditioned room offers a flat-screen TV”. This is a clear crude lie!

Apart from this gross lie, although the room seams clean, the walls are dirty and can afford to be repainted anytime. The bathroom is also basic. The WC not very clean, the air extractor does not work either. It is fit with a kind of “half bath”, tall people having the feet hanging out of the bathtub. The shower itself was rolled-up on the tap as, if you wanted to use the shower support, the water would be sprinkled horizontally instead of falling on your head.

Had the personnel been reasonable and kind, instead of stating arrogantly that this is it, no air-conditioning after September 30th although it was advertised as the FIRST facility by Booking.com, one would close an eye on the rest, but their suborn attitude is unforgiveable!

After my complaint they didn’t even offer any compensation for the missed but advertised facility!

I do not recommend this hotel, not only after September 30th, but at any time, given the wrong attitude of the personnel!
Roberto.

Room Tip: Avoid room 102 and in any case a room facing the street Ask before booking if aircondition is worki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robertods100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is small but very comfortable.
The rooms are simple but nice, overall the superior one, even if not all of them have the terrace, and the bathrooms are new and clean.
Its position is really easy to find, just out of the centre of the city, which is just 5 minutes walking.
the staff is super polite and friendly.
the free parking is convenient and comfortable.
I can say good quality for a really good price.

L'hotel è piccolo ma molto accogliente.
Le stanze semplici ma carine, soprattutto la superior, anche se nn tutte hanno il terrazzo.
I bagni sono nuovi e puliti.
La posizione è comoda,facile da raggiungere,appena fuori il centro di Cadaques che dista appena 5 minuti a piedi.
Lo staff è cordiale e gentilissimo.
Il parcheggio gratuito è super comodo e molto conveniente.
Bouna qualità per un buon prezzo.

Room Tip: Room on the parking side are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
0.7 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tarongeta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tarongeta

Property: Hotel Tarongeta
Address: Sant Vicenc S/N, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Tarongeta 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tarongeta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarongeta Hotel Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing