We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit”
Review of Dali Museum-House

Dali Museum-House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$117.36*
and up
Private Tour: World of Salvador Dalí from Barcelona
More Info
US$1,375.11*
and up
Figueras and Girona Private Day Trip from Barcelona
More Info
US$142.25*
and up
Dalí Triangle: Figueres, Cadaqués and Portlligat Guided Day-Tour from Barcelona
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 1930s, this was the summer home of the famous artist Salvador Dalí.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A visit to Dali's house should be a must on any trip to this area even if only for the drive there across the mountains which afford spectacular views of the Bay of Roses.

The house itself is fascinating and very intimate although I would have preferred a little more time to have a look around I can fully appreciate why the "tour" is moved along at a pace. The interior of the house is so small that it would very quickly become uncomfortably crowded. Whilst not a "guided tour" the guide was very knowledgeable, interesting and helpful - not least in repeating the information on each room in three languages!

Once out of the house and into the grounds you are free to wander about and it is easy to see why an artist would want to live in such a place - very idyllic.

Whilst in the area do try to fit in a trip to Cap de Creus - what an amazing landscape!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,466
    587
    139
    36
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Insight into Dali's Life”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Okay, even if you're not an art-guru, this is a wonderful opportunity to gain some perspective on one of Spain's most influential artists. I also visited the Dali Theatre Museum, but I found the Dali house tour to be meaningful and intimate. The house has been virtually untouched since Dali's wife, Gala, died in 1982. Much like the museum in Figueres, I expected the house to be completely avant-garde; however, I was pleasantly surprised by the more subtle Dali-esque touches. You absolutely need reservations to come here, so try to make them at least a few days in advance on the website or by calling the office directly. This is also a great day-trip from Barcelona, as the drive into Cadaques is beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoCalGirl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
258 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A truly memorable visit, The groups are small 6 0r 8 people, the guide assigned will speak whatever languages are required. This really gives you an insight to Dali and Gala's life together.
The house itself is a wonder. A true experience.
Jeremy T

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“House is interesting but organization is poor and guided tour is a joke”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This house is certainly worth seeing if you'd like to get a better understanding of Dali and just for the beauty of the surroundings. It is very unusual and full of interesting details, many of which start making sense if you visit Dali Theater Museum in Figueres afterwards. However, I found the organization of the visit very poor. We had to book time in advance and booked the last visit of the day, maybe that was a mistake. We were told we would get a tour when picking up our tickets, which they mandate you do 50(!) minutes prior to the start of the visit (btw, there is absolutely nothing to do around the museum in this 50 minutes, even the cafe was closed). The "tour" we got was a joke. The guide didn't know anything. She rushed us through all the rooms of the house giving us 1-2 minutes in each. Meanwhile every detail in the house is meaningful, so this kind of run through the museum does not give you even half of the experience you could have there. And as soon as we left the pool area of the house they locked it right behind us. So I do recommend that you visit but try not to book the last tour of the day and beware of the limited nature of the "tour".

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pitergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth planning a visit”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Probably good to visit out of season as having pre-booked there was no hassle. An insight into Dali and Gala, well explained by a helpful guide. Worth walking from Cadeques.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dali Museum-House also viewed

 
Figueres, Province of Girona
 

Been to Dali Museum-House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing