We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hé aven in one of The mots charming village Of Spain”
Review of Hotel Playa Sol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Playa Sol
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Fantastique location direct l'y on sea front in the typical village of Cadaques
You will really really feel home ,personal welcome by the owner, staff full of attention
The hotel has just been refurbished.
Nice swimming pool in a quite garden away from the crowd
One of my favorite place in Spain
A perfect place for holidays, grill room near the pool, with quality products

Room Tip: Sea front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 655 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

A charming, beautifully decorated hotel on the harbor in Cadaques. Puts you right in the center of this gorgeous beach town. We requested a sea view room and are thrilled. Excellent breakfast included. Nice pool area and tennis court. Hotel staff even provide towels for the beach -- many of which are within walking distance. Excellent choice. Be sure and book early -- this is popular with couples and families.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were very impressed. We had a very comfortable and attractive room with a balcony right on the seafront with a magnificent view. Breakfast was good. The staff were extremely helpful and directed us to some memorable restaurants. Cadaques was one of the highlights of our trip. It was lovely to walk out of the hotel on the seafront and to be able to stroll in both directions both into the town and also in the other direction to the next bay and its waterfront cafes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is in a central location, with excellent amenities and an attention to detail
The room was cool, week-appointed and the cleanliness and comfort was superior. The pool is just perfect and the lunch menu by the pool just lovely. I left something behind and it was posted to me immediately - that's going above and beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheffmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Totally charming, professionally run, best location right on the water at the end of the tiny village. We loved everything about it, including the large swimming pool and jacuzzi in gardens behind the hotel. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. A real gem!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very,very difficult to fault this hotel, it "exactly what we needed" - and we chose it because of the reviews on Tripadvisor.
From your balcony on the front of the hotel you could almost jump straight into the sea!
The rooms are very well designed and fully equipped - there was even a connection from your Iphone into the Hi fi!
Breakfast is very well done, and the staff seem to speak any language you want!
The cherry on the cake is that Cadaques has no mass holiday business - so not a drunk in site!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulofSplott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

First, if you have never been to Cadaques don't miss it. Beautiful town with a lot of charm. Hotel Playa Sol is a fine little boutique hotel. Rooms are well appointed, newly renovated and exceptionally clean. Large bath room with great shower with both regular shower head and rain shower. Balconies overlooking bay or pool/garden area are great for a glass of wine and people watching. Breakfast is very good with nice variety of hot and cold items. Bar and lobby area very cozy and prices very reasonable.
Staff all very friendly and helpful with questions about the area. Pool area is very nice, quiet and private. I promise, you won't be disappointed staying here!

Lots to do in the area if you like outdoor activities. Hikes in the national park are very good. Nice trail going out to Cap de Crues. Also, a nice hike from town out to the lighthouse on the point.

For dining, don't miss Can Rafa and Es Balconet. Front desk can assist with phone numbers and directions.

We plan to return!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadaques
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#3 of 13 in Cadaques
487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
385 reviews
5.2 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 37 in Roses
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Sol

Address: Platja Pianc, 3, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range: £105 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Playa Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been renovating during this last winter two thousend then and eleven quite all of our rooms. Quite all rooms have been completely rebuilt and redecorated changing distributions, creating a complete new atmosphere in our brand new rooms. We have double rooms, rooms for three people, family rooms for four people and also communicating rooms for five to six people. We also offer a brand new Jacuzzi suite and junior suite. All rooms with Internet access Hotspot one hour free.With the beach in front and spectacular views to the village the hotel is well situated in town. The large garden with pool area, invites you also for lunch beside the pool from June to end of September. The hotel offers you two bars, a large open-air swimming pool with Jacuzzi, Hammam and hydrotherapy shower. Sport activities like basket, ping-pong, petanque, kayak rentals, mountain-bikes rentals, tennis-court (paddle size)are free of charge. The hotel offers also surveyed garage places. Hotel closed from middle December to middle February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Playa Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Sol Hotel
Playa Sol Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing