We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A pearl in the bay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Calina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Calina
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A pearl in the bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Located in an amazing picturesque part of the town, we were very satisfied with the view from the rooms, the service of the staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms. Also- breakfast had a relatively generous selection of foods.
cons- The wifi signal was problematic in some parts of the hotel, the bed was noisy and slightly uncomfortable, and the teli (much like all of the hotels in spain) has a poor selection of channels in English.
But all in all- we would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    126
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
68
193
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A 15-20 minute walk from the centre of town is the only drawback. Set in a quiet bay next to Dali's house this is a nice hotel. Nothing spectacular, nothing bad. Great for a family holiday with the lovely pool. We stayed one night and it was good, but closer tithe town centre would gave been better. Good staff.

Room Tip: Family rooms have a kitchen. Other rooms are just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahameHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Service- great.
Room - varity of rooms from small to Big with difftent price & very quiet.
Cleanses- very clean.
Matres- good but not great.

Breakfast- include in some deal , nice menu and the the view amazing.
Price - change from Fair to expencive depnd on the season rate.
Location—GREAT, 10-15 min from the center But on the bay, near Dali House, great View.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Summarizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Service- great.
Room - varity of rooms from small to Big with difftent price & very quiet.
Cleanses- very clean.
Matres- good but not great.

Breakfast- include in some deal , nice menu and the the view amazing.
Price - change from Fair to expencive depnd on the season rate.
Location—GREAT, 10-15 min from the center But on the bay, near Dali House, great View.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dudu e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Affrique-les-Montagnes, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

as said in a lot of advices this hotel will be noisy in summer time when crowdy
we had a splendid room 203
the location is outstanding
trees with fruits will be a nuisance

i suggest to reduce noise; to create an other door in each room to prevent from the noice of the corridor
this will not redice noise fromceilling and poor walls but will help

Room Tip: room on the swimming pool 201 202 203
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lepetitjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked a junior suite and got number 307 that has fabulous sea views and a nice big terrace.
At the time of booking the hotel also reserved tickets for the Dali house next door, a MUST see.
The only thing I would suggest is that the hotel also has some milk next to the coffee machine and two bathrobes would be nice in the junior suite. Outside season the hotel is very quiet and we could have the door open to the terrace at night getting the sea breeze.
It can be quite windy, our terrace was well protected from the wind however I would recommend to take a wind proof jacket etc.
We also went to the old light house restaurant at Cap de Creus on the recommendation of the hotel. Don't be afraid of the drive two cars can easily pass just be a bit careful with the edges that has some holes. It was very windy when we arrived however the restaurant has a beautiful protected big terrace. The sea bass curry was just delicious and the best we have ever eaten. Yes why not eat curry in Spain the climate can sometimes be very hot! Price was also very reasonable. We will never forget that lunch.
The hotel also recommended a nice restaurant in Cadaques and my dog was well come. A tip,
remember that they eat very late in Spain we arrived at 9pm however the locals did not start to arrive before 10pm. and then suddenly the restaurant became very lively indeed.

(The hotel restaurant is closed outside season so you need to go to Cadaques for dinner)

Room Tip: Junior suite 307 or other junior suites and rooms on that floor, all has terraces but of different s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solstua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were given a sea facing room on the third floor - this ensured that we had the best possible view! We chose this hotel because of the reviews and we found them to be reliable. All of the staff were most helpful and especially friendly. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was well equipped.
We were warned that the walk into Cadaques involved a steep climb and advised to park the car at the top of the hill, where there is a very large car park. You then have a 10 minute walk down hill into the very attractive town. It is like an upmarket Spanish St Ives!
If you drive north you come to the wild Cap de Cruz with some lovely views. (about 20 mins)
If you go south there is a stunning walk the other side of Cadaques to a lighthouse. This was very pretty, and all sorts of wild flowers were in bloom.
We had looked into Roses on the way to Cadaques, no need to spend too long there!!!
Cadaques is a special little resort with atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Llane Petit
Hotel Llane Petit
#6 of 13 in Cadaques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calina

Property: Hotel Calina
Address: 33 Av. Salvador Dali | Platja Port-Lligat, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Cadaques
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Calina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Calina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calina Hotel Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing