We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A beautiful hotel with excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Calina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Calina
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel with excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Hotel Calina is the nicest hotel we've been to, by far. The staff are amongst the friendliest, most welcoming people we've met, and they always aimed to cater for our every need.

The room was spacious, overlooking the pool and the bay, and the bed was very comfortable. The only minor negative was the walk from the hotel to the port. There is quite a steep hill at the entrance of the hotel so if you are travelling with elderly people you'll need a car, it won't be walkable. Anyway, the whole region is hilly so this shouldn't take anything away from this absolute gem of a hotel!

It's hard to believe this hotel is not a 4* or 5*. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    126
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
68
193
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not normally a fan of resorts or resort Towns, but Cadaques surprised, an interesting very pretty town, this Hotel well positioned and nicely appointed, very attentive and helpful staff.
Dali house steps away in this picturesque bay setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ausfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked the hotel from the road the day before our arrival. The location wasn't easy to find, but our GPS got us there by a rather circuitous route. The room we booked was inexpensive, and learned at check-in was also rather small. Perhaps is was an attempt to bump us up, but when we saw the option available, we grabbed it on the spot -- Room #307. The view it what sold us -- overlooking the pool and the bay beyond from an over-sized balcony. The room was also good-sized, and appointed with a sofa. The bed was turned on a slant, backed by a large, low corner space adorned with table lamps in place of bedside tables. The bed was hard, and there weren't enough electrical outlets. The bathroom had a spa tub, but no shower. A hairdryer had to be ordered from the front desk. Everyone on the staff was very helpful and pleasant, and any small inconveniences where made up for by the peace that came from being on the other side of the hill from the commercial side of town.

Room Tip: You can't beat #307.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swingtowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The good:

Perfect, away-from-it-all location right next to Dali's house.
The prettiest mulberry-tree-covered parking lot ever.
Very friendly reception staff speaking every language and giving excellent directions.

The not-so-good:

Breakfast range is wide but food quality is cheap.
The bar serves no fresh orange juice or even 100% juice from a box - the only option contains colour, sugar and additives (not the norm in Spain).
I witnessed people coming in from the outside desperate for something to eat - they were turned away as the 'restaurant' is for guests only.
The pool is unheated (not a problem in high summer) and the main town of Cadaques is a short drive down windy narrow roads away.
The furnishings are a little dated and there was something a little oppressive in the atmosphere, some of the instructions are a little like organized holiday or summer camp rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discovering_the_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rota, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

great hotel in great town. Cadaqués is a must visit if you go to the north-east of Spain. Hotel located beside the Salvador Dalí museum. Excellent staff that were very helpful in making our short stay so memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We had hoped to stay again at the parador in Aiguablava but decided to try somewhere new and over a glass of wine in France a friend recommended Cadaques. We duly booked in to the Hotel Calina for a single night. The staff were very helpful and extremely courteous, the accommodation was lovely and spacious and the pool with views over the bay is fantastic. The knowledgable receptionist gave us a list of restaurants in the village to suit every palate and wallet. This is hotel is of the same standard as the parador with more helpful and less starched staff but it comes in at half the price, get it while you can.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Located in an amazing picturesque part of the town, we were very satisfied with the view from the rooms, the service of the staff, and the cleanliness of the rooms. Also- breakfast had a relatively generous selection of foods.
cons- The wifi signal was problematic in some parts of the hotel, the bed was noisy and slightly uncomfortable, and the teli (much like all of the hotels in spain) has a poor selection of channels in English.
But all in all- we would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Llane Petit
Hotel Llane Petit
#6 of 13 in Cadaques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Calina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Calina

Property: Hotel Calina
Address: 33 Av. Salvador Dali | Platja Port-Lligat, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
#3 Family Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Calina 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Calina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calina Hotel Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing