We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly & helpful staff, quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very friendly & helpful staff, quiet location”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

As we drove up, we first thought this might be too far away from town; however, it turned out to be perfect walking distance after a nice meal and also a quieter stay. We slept with the windows open and enjoyed the nice breezes. Parking was free right in front of the hotel & we were able to rent hotel bicycles to go exploring. An unexpected surprise was being able to walk straight out the hotel entrance, through the small park and down to the water's edge for great seaside food & wine right on the beach. The accommodations were basic, but clean & met every need. We do recommend this hotel & would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txgirl8289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    88
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
45
159
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed two nights at Hotel Blaumar and it is a very basic accommodation. We paid extra for a balcony with a view but the view from the first floor is really just of the trees and the hotel pool and side street. Disappointing and if requesting a view would suggest you opt for the second floor above tree level. We would come back to Cadaques because it is so beautiful but would look for a hotel with a real sea view. The Dali house is close and the town itself charming. The location of this hotel is good but if you are staying someplace this lovely would look for a sea view.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor and a balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JosieJo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajo, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nothing is too far away in Cadaques, so this is a great choice for residing while exploring. Kept my windows open the entire time with peaceful sea sounds/weather, balcony overlooked pool and town. Port Lligat (Dali house/museum) is a short walk through narrow stone walkways & streets. With a bright clean interior, excellent bathroom, TV if you need it, etc... can't think of a better place to stay in Cadaques.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seacub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The Blaumar had a secure, basement car park for our motorcycles and, from memory, the one space we needed was a reasonable 8 euros a day between us. Our twin room was basically furnished but very clean and comfortable. We had a small balcony with a view over Cadaques and it was nice and quiet which made for a good night's sleep with the window wide open. It's only a short walk into the happening centre of the town and the trade-off for a quiet night is well worth it. Service was friendly but beware the breakfast monitor if you are partial to including your packed lunch in with your breakfast bill as your every move is watched! There's also a warning sign as you walk into the breakfast room so it must be a regular occurrence. Breakfast is good and the egg boiler a nice touch. We had booked 3 nights but could only stay for 2. Under the booking conditions they would have been quite within their rights to charge us for the 3rd night but they graciously didn't and we were very grateful for that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
250 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to Barcelona from Collioure, France. The price was 100 euros per night. The location was excellent; just a 5 minute walk to the waterfront and restaurants, but off the tourist area so it was quiet except for the occasional motor scooter passing by. We loved our room, very spacious, and clean. Lots of amenities, nice soaps/shampoo etc. The two things I did not care for was the bed, which had a memory foam top and was so hot that I could not sleep, and the wifi in our room which was very spotty and frustrating. We solved that problem by taking our laptops to the lobby and the terrace. It worked fine in those locations. My wife loved the place; I only thought it was average overall, so we compromised and gave it 4 stars instead of 3/5!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the terrace, swimming pool, and the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstpierpoint
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I began to wonder, having read other reviews of this hotel, whether we had come to the same place! The room was small and only adequately furnished. The 'balcony' only had room for one [small] chair. There was no mini bar or fridge.The bed was, as usual, hard, but the worst thing of all was that the AC was turned off for the winter (in the middle of September, with OAT in the mid-20s and high humidity) which gave two 'sweaty' nights). The bathroom was small, so in order to dry oneself, one had to step outside. The mirror was too far away and the selection of toiletries poor. What was worst of all, was that there was no handle to assist old duffers to step into and out of the [over-bath] shower - someone will fall and break a leg. Everything was 'extra' - car parking, breakfast, and even if you brought your own baby cot that was €10 extra.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lawsyHurstpierpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed in this hotel with my partner and our 3-year old son for 12 days and we were very happy with our choice.
The location is excellent, just 10min walk to the centre of the village with the restaurants and bars, while situated in a very quiet road. The hotel is spotless clean and the rooms basic, but very comfortable. It was during a very hot period, but the room was cool (the air-conditioning was a bit noisy, but this didn't bother any of us). We didn't have breakfast (we preferred to try different restaurants each day - and everything is really 5-10 min walk). The hotel staff was very polite and helpful whatever we needed, restaurant and museum reservations or to pick up milk for our son from the fridge at 1h in the morning.
The only downside concerns the rooms of the ground floor facing the road. They are quite dark and there is no place to hang your beach towels or swimsuits to dry (a good idea would be to dedicate a small common area for this?). Therefore, if you plan to spend some time in the room (for example if you are traveling with a young kid) ask for a room with a balcony, so as you can have a nice drink while the kid is taking its nap.
All in all this is a very nice, comfortable, family run hotel, with very good value for money. undoubtedly you can find better hotels in Cadaques, but they do cost much more as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeDi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tarongeta
Hotel Tarongeta
#7 of 13 in Cadaques
274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel S'Aguarda
Hotel S'Aguarda
#8 of 13 in Cadaques
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blaumar Cadaques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blaumar Cadaques

Property: Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Address: C/ Massa d'Or, 21, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cadaques
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blaumar Cadaques 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Blaumar*** is located in the bay of Cadaques within 10 minutes walk from the centre in a quiet residential area, close to the coves and the sea. It is a modern Mediterranean building where the white and blue predominate. The small family-run hotel has 27 comfortable rooms with air-conditioning, central heating, satellite TV and en-suite bathroom. Most of them have a nice balcony overlooking the village. The Hotel also has a small summer pool, bar, terrace, and breakfast buffet. Secure parking and bike hire are also available. There are no facilities / activities for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Blaumar Cadaques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaumar Hotel Cadaques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing