We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Residencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Residencia
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Charming place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We chose this hotel after visiting several others. At the very entrance we were delighted by the interior. We decided to take more expensive room with a balcony and sea view. It really was worth the money. The atmosphere and excellent breakfast next morning moved us back to the time of Dali who once stayed in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are especially worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janusz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    64
    23
    11
    13
See reviews for
24
87
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This is one of those hotels that you're happy to have stayed at but don't particularly need to come back to. It's very well located, two minutes' walk away from the beachfront of Cadaqués and opposite a good bakery. The staff were helpful, though not exactly smiley, and the room was clean and had a bowl of strawberries waiting in it for when I arrived - much better than a chocolate on the pillow!. All the public areas are crammed with Dalí-related objects, which you'll like if you like that sort of thing.

On the other hand, the room wasn't much more than functional, and I didn't enjoy breakfast. Non-vegetarians looked as if they got some nice charcuterie, but I didn't get much more than some factory-produced croissants and pains au chocolat, which weren't great. I would have liked to have been offered cheese instead of meat, or some decent bread. Not a great hardship, what with the bakery across the street and a hundred other places in the village to sit and have coffee, but not a plus point either.

So all in all, fine, but if I came back to Cadaqués, I'd probably try somewhere different.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellow_Ackee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Quite a charming hotel, full of character with lots of interesting Dali related photos and paraphernalia. The room was perfectly adequate and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast, however, was pretty basic. The young gentleman at reception on our arrival was extremely helpful and accommodating in stark contrast to the older man who dealt with us at departure: he was very unfriendly and unwilling to communicate.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyland,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very happy to have stayed 4 nights at this hotel. We came out here to see the area where Dali lived and painted so if your anything like us youll love the atmosphere of this place. the manager ( a real Daliesque character who certainly knows his stuff ) has filled the place with interesting Dali pictures, books, photos, statues. Its like being in your own Dali world for a few days. The hotel is a easy 10 minute walk from the bus station and is right on the seafront at the back of the small square. Our room ( the suite ) was a little pricey but did have the superb view over the med. The reception staff were very good ( particularly the Rumanian lass, well done to her for always being so cheery and chatty ). breakfast was served to you and was fine for us. croissants, buns, jams, ham, tomato and really good coffee. Cadaques is a lovely place for a few days visit. interesting and relaxing with plenty of little streets, bars and restaurants to keep most people happy. visit the Baroch church that sits above the town and make sure that you put a euro in the slot which then lights up the interior. stunning. The view from up there during the morning is the best in the town. Its only a half hour walk to Port Lligat and the old waterside home of Salvador Dali and his wife Gala. Well worth booking the tickets to go and visit this extremely unusually decorated home. This place does get booked up and its very easy to book tickets online. The good thing is that small groups of only 8 people are let around the house each 15 minutes or so. So id well recommend a visit to this small town, altho be warned that it will be heaving with tourists july / august. thanks for the stay it was well enjoyable. spikeyian.

Room Tip: if staying at the resedencia id definately ask for the sea view. well worth the extra cash we thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpikeSeasider50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midi-Pyrenees, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel at last moment,and we were very happy to stay there for two nights .we found the staff very hospitable,the rooms,though basic,very comfortable,and the breakfasts excellant.the ambiance of the public areas are full of very interesting Dali memorabilia ,a real pleasure,we will go again.Cadaques is a gem of a place,and the hotel nicely situated.good value too!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

From the minute we walked into this hotel we knew we had picked the right place for us. The young woman behind the counter was cheerful and helpful and entertaining. It is obviously a family run business and plays tribute to the reputation of the local artisan community. The walls are covered in beautiful art and how lovely to see so much more than just the favourites of Dali, Miro, Picasso and Gaudi. To be fair, this is not your classic high-class joint. It is a little rustic and a lot bohemian; the beds are a little hard and the stairwell creaky, but if you have come to relax, and enjoy and feel the nature of Spanish coastal living this place is just the place to be. And the young man came and took up to a secure locked up facility for the car overnight just a block from the hotel. To wake up with a sea view above the village square is gorgeous. This hotel epitomises a holiday in Spain. Oh, and the waterfront less than a minute around the corner has a great selection of tapa bars and nice eateries. Glad to be here.

Room Tip: You pay extra for a sea view, but it is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpainGermany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We (three adults) stayed in Hotel Residencia for one night. There are good things to say about the hotel and not so good things. Our stay was not a bad experience, but I had hoped for more, especially regarding the rather high price we paid. The location of the hotel is very good. Our room was on the third floor, with a nice sea view (which I had asked for - so this was perfect). The room was a bit crowded with furniture, but this is what I had expected after having looked at the photos published online. The room smelled a bit funny but it was clean. I slept on the sofa and would not recommend this experience (ouch, my back!). But the beds upstairs were okay. We had a kitchenette in the room which obviously was not to be used, seeing that there were no plates or cutlery. It occupied a good bit of space and should really be taken out of that room. The fridge was a bit noisy, especially during the night.

The breakfast was bad. We got a plate with a croissant that didn't taste good, one bread roll, zwieback wrapped in plastic, some butter and two sorts of jam. I don't eat a lot, but I left the breakfast room feeling as hungry as before. The only good thing was the fresh orange juice.

As for the treatment: Good treatment by email, quick answers to my many questions. The person who served the breakfast was very nice. The person at the reception was a bit ... don't know how to say. Sometimes nice, sometimes not really willing to help (I had problems to find a parking space and did not receive any assistance apart from "Park behind the hotel on the street". Those parking lots were obviously full already, and besides they were marked green. When I asked about the meaning, he said: "Parking might be allowed there or not. I don't know." Which was not very helpful. Finally I parked the car in the big car park where I had to pay 20 EUR, but at least the car was safe there. When we checked out the next day, we asked if we could leave our luggage somewhere. There was no storage room available, we were told to leave it next to the stairs, where everybody had access to it. I didn't like the idea, so we got permission to leave it in a sort of living room, also open to the public, but so crowded with things of all kind that our luggage happily fit into the setting without attracting unwanted attention. When we picked it up in the afternoon, the room was secured with a "don't-pass-rope", and someone was sitting close by to keep watch. That was a very positive surprise.

Still, I did not feel comfortable in Hotel Residence and I would therefore not recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiMilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cadaques hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Sol
Hotel Playa Sol
#1 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Octavia
Hotel Octavia
#9 of 13 in Cadaques
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sol Ixent
Hotel Sol Ixent
#2 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
Hotel Blaumar Cadaques
#5 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Horta d'en Rahola
0.5 mi away
Hotel Calina
Hotel Calina
#4 of 13 in Cadaques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residencia

Property: Hotel La Residencia
Address: C/Caritat Serinyana, 1, 17488 Cadaques, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Cadaques
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Cadaques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Residencia 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing