We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent value for money”
Review of Hotel Les Palmeres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Les Palmeres
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excelent value for money”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed 7 nights in this hotel between April 15-April 22 and I can say only that it was excelent; big rooms very clean, excelent food (swidish boufet), staff friendly...close to the beach and to the main shopping street; 20 minutes to the train station (if you want to visit Barcelona); if you want to go to the indoor pool you have to pay 8 euros/hour for 2 persons and to make previous reservation. I warmly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lumidobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    95
    40
    6
    7
See reviews for
67
82
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

This medium sized hotel is located approximately 550m from the station at the south side of the town in an area with some bars and restaurants and close to the main shopping area. To keep cool station to taxi is 6 euros. The hotel is tastefully decorated and the rooms well furnished with a good multi channel Tv and hairdryers not requiring deposits for controllers ect. Meals were varied and of high quality and choice per sitting excellent. The pool area is small but there is a solarium and spa at extra cost. We found the staff were superb being both friendly and helpful and all spoke English. The drinks purchased in the bar were reasonable in price. To sum up I would say that you would find this Hotel difficult to beat in this area of Spain. We will be returning and always travel on the superb coastal train service. 3.75 euros each from Barcelona Airport with just one change required.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honcomment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We booked through travel agency a different hotel, Tropic Park in Lloret del Mar but by mistake they booked Les Palmeres in Calella. At first we were angry and wanted to move immediatelly, but arriving on Sunday nothing could be done so we agreed to stay one night and then move. But when arriving in the room we never wanted to leave. The room was the cleanest room I have ever seen, not even at Marriot or Hilton I'ven seen this. Bathrooom appliances were shinning everyday, cleaning staff was very friendly and helpful, big room and huge bed, sheets changed every 2 days. But you should ask for a room at the higher floors with view to the street. The back view is to another hotel and garbage, lower floors are very noisy from the street and bars downstairs. Restaurant is good, variety fo food at breakfast and dinner, but to the end of 7 days staying started to repeat. Location is good, on the second line from the beach, 5 min walk to to the beach, close to the main street in Calella with most of the tavernas and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madalina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Room was clean & comfortable with good bed, tea/coffee, TV and WiFi; it was quiet and had a small balcony. Dining room and bar area were very pleasant. Did not use the pool as the lovely beach was a two-minute walk away. All staff - front of house, dining/waiting staff, maids and bar staff - were very attentive & friendly. Miguel who runs the bar is a fantastic guy; made my wife and I feel very welcome each evening. Made use of the secure, underground parking which is available a short walk from hotel at 8euro/day. Hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed in the hotel for one week in Aug., 2009.
Receptionists and all the stuff are qualified and polite (one of them is Russian-speaking). Rooms are rather big and clean, there's one Russian Channel.
Bathroom is comfortable, towels were changed dayly.
There was very good choice of food for breakfast and dinner (we took half-board). One day there were even oysters.
There's another hotel opposite Best Western which is very noisy and some repairing works take place on the road nearby! These are the only small lacks.
Free Wi-Fi is available in the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deniska336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

stayed here in June. rooms cleaned each day and towels changed. beds not brilliant. quite a small hotel which seems to be dwarfed by the other larger ones around it, but the pool got the sun for most of the day. lots of nationalities stayed here. myself and my partner stayed bed and breakfast only, which was buffet style and varied, probably to cater for all nationalities, with hot and cold drinks (including sparkling wine at breakfast!) and one night paid 8 euros each for buffet tea. my parents stayed half board. we did not as there are loads of restaurants in the resort and ate somewhere different each night.

close to the beach (under an underpass because the railway line is on the beach). the pool was nice, but small, but this did not matter as it did not get busy, and sunbeds were always free. there was an indoor pool, saunas, massage and gym but did not use these as had to pay. the jacuzzi on roof was nice. hotel entertainment really cheesy but there are so many places to go at night we always went out

the only complaint was (not the hotels fault) the resort can be taken over by rowdy germans staying nearby that were shouting all way through the night at the weekend,

one day we could not get into our room as they had activated the card for one day instead of ten, but this was sorted stright away.

a 15 min walk to train station so could go to barcelona and other places for day trips

i would stay here again and recommend it to others. not a family hotel as theres no activity clubs, probably more for couples

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny_BCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I had a week here in June and had booked in as a vegetarian but the hotel didn't seem to cater for the likes of me. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff very pleasant and helpful, except for the head waiter.
Their Vegetarian Dish of the Day every evening was a turren of plain boiled pasta in one side(that had stood for goodness knows how long) and some veg on the other eg peas, or carrots and green beans, No sauce for the pasta until I complained. Next nigh,just as I was starting my soup, he brought a plate of pasta, with a sauce, which meant it was cold when I got to it, and the sauce was obviously shop bought. Another night after I had asked for something other than boiled pasta I got a veg. lasagne- pretty tasteless but a hot meal for a change. The salad bar looked very nice but every dish contained meat or fish.
I know I am in a minority but I've never had a problem in any other hotel or country before.
As others have said, the hotel facilities were good but the nightly noises from the Amaika were annoying.
Calella is a bit of a one horse town too and no perceptable local bus service to get to somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgana60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#9 of 43 in Calella
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#6 of 43 in Calella
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#13 of 43 in Calella
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Palmeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Palmeres

Property: Hotel Les Palmeres
Address: Diputacio, 1, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Les Palmeres)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Palmeres 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Les Palmeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing