We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Singles holiday”
Review of Hotel Les Palmeres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Les Palmeres
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Grimsby
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Singles holiday”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Here for a week with a friend for a singles holiday. We each got a double room with a balcony, en suite bathroom. and TV though you could only get World News in English.The bedding and towels were changed every day.The staff were very polite and helpful apart fron the kitchen staff who were very unsmiling and repremanded you if you happened to use the wrong implement to serve your food.The breakfast and dinner were both buffet style. The breakfast was fine but the dinner was disappointing not up to four star standard, plenty of different types of salad and cooked meats every night but the hot selection was very off putting, over cooked vegetables and various meats in very unappetising looking gravy, as a consequence we ate out several times.There were several extras to pay for, a fridge (it did say in the brochure that there was a mini bar but this was not so) the sauna ,jacuzzi, tea making items and also for a safe.It was rather noisy some nights, but it was only people enjoying themselves and it didn't worry us.A special mention should be made of Miguel the barman who was very attentive and soon remembered what drinks you liked and if you had sugar or milk in your coffee etc.which was a nice touch.On the whole a good place to stay especially if you like salad every evening!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    92
    40
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
81
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We were for the first time in Calella and it was amazing. We landed in Barcelona, Terminal 1, after that you can take the bus directly to Placa de Catalunya and from there, very easy, you can take the train (RENFE) from the R1 blue line, 1 hour trip to the coast straightforwardly to Calella. When you arrive to the station Calella, from the Renfe to the hotel there is a 10 minutes road back of the train direction and you`ll discover the hotel. The hotel it's very close to the beach, it's very clean, if you don't know Spanish from the reception they’ll help you in English without reservation. The room it's big enough, they change the towels and the bed clothes every day. We stayed at the first floor and even if we've got the balcony to see the pool it was silence.
The food was simply delicious: ham ready for all tastes, salads, steaks, seafood obvious, paella and you can eat as much as you can ... if you can :)).
The pool was cleaned and verified every morning, the water not very deep, 1.40 m, but enough to exercise some jumps :).
The staff very friendly and attentive.
You haven't time enough to stay in your room because outside it's more fun. You don't need to go to Barcelona and see la Rambla because in Calella there is "la Rambla", a road of 2 miles with all kind of shops, restaurants and places to relax. There is a shop for the FC Barcelona fans. We stayed one week and in 5 of 7 days we've got 3 hours program for shopping. Be very careful with those who's trying to cheat you, do not accept first price, negotiation is very important. Prices are bigger than in reality.
Restaurants are very diversified, you need to go at the Top Bar and order a plate of squids with sangria.
The beach it's very clean, very large and the water quite salted so do not keep your eyes open when you'll swim and be careful with little waves because they're very strong.
WE ARE COMING BACK NEXT YEAR, FOR SURE, BECAUSE IT WAS SIMPLY PERFECT !!! THAT`S THE WORD THAT BEST DESCRIBES OUR HOLIDAY IN CALELLA AT THE HOTEL BEST WESTERN LES PALMERES !!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alex_WRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Situated next to the beach,in the centre of the resort and closest to Barcelona ,this pretty hotel can`t dissapoint nobody: we had a variety of very tasty food,the room was very clean ,it wasn`t noisy at all.The only inconvenience was that the hotel didn`t have his private beach and we had to rent every single day the beach chair and the umbrella.
For families with kids it`s important to know that the entrance in the sea is abrupt but choose with all the trust this place named CALELLIA.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gratiela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The accommodation was very confortable and the facilities offered were very good and the staff attentive and very polite. But the buffet Diner was not four star standard in quality or choice. It was a bit noisy outside at night but this is Spain so no complaints there. The food was my only concern

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed there from 24 to 31 may and we had a good time, the hotel is clean, the food was good, fish, seafood, fruits, a little bit of everything. We paid a good price for what we get. The room was a bit small but ok. The jacuzzi from the roof is the best :). There is a free wifi connection, but the speed of internet is very very slow you can stay 1-2 minutes to load an regular webpage. The beach is a 2 minutes walk from hotel and the train station at 12-15 minutes. The train to Barcelona is leaving at every 20 minutes. The trip it is a bit long... 1H and 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Front view rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ge0rge86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have been here for 3 days so far. The place is very clean. The 2 meals included in our deal are buffet style. A lot of good choices. The personel is very nice and helpful. So far a very good experience. To be continued...

Nous sommes ici depuis 3 jours. L'endroit est propre. Les 2 repas par jours sont de style buffet. Beaucoup de choix. Le personnel de l'hotel est courtoi et ils repndent a tous nos besoins. A date, une bonne experience. A suivre...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YannickVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have just returned from this hotel and would certainly not return. Whilst the hotel is clean my room number309 ,overlooked a nearby hotel and consequently was very noisy. Also on arriving
I noticed a very unpleasant smell in the bathroom.I asked the maid what the smell was and she told me that she didn't know but she had told reception about it. When I spoke to reception they said they couldn't do anything about it due to the fact that it was Sunday. They refused to allow me to change rooms as they said the hotel was full.The beds were hard and the walls incredibly thin.
The waiters in the dining room were surly and the food not particularly good.
All in all I would not recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid 309 unless the "smell " has gone !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath0004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#9 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#12 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Palmeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Palmeres

Property: Hotel Les Palmeres
Address: Diputacio, 1, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Les Palmeres)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Palmeres 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Palmeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing