We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food Lets It Down”
Review of Hotel Les Palmeres

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Les Palmeres
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food Lets It Down”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a very comfortable (superior) room at Les Palmeres with wifi, safe and drinks-making facilties included. The cleaning service was excellent and we enjoyed the rooftop terraces for relaxing in peace.

Don't know if our trip (23-30 September 2013) coincided with a 'wind-down' following the main season, but the food on offer (we stayed half board) was very poor for a 4 star hotel. Breakfast was adequate - no more. But dinner offered a poor choice and very low-quality food. There were two meat choices most nights, but cheap cuts and poorly-made dishes. The 'show cooking' was slow, with supplies frequemtly exhausted and the chef apparently otherwise engaged. The meat dishes were augmented by one or two generic, unlabelled "fish" dishes - always unsatisfactory when you don't know exactly what you are being offered.

It's disappointing to see such a comfortable hotel, with friendly and helpful staff let down by an apparent attempt to economise on the food offering. We feel pushed more towards self-catering options when we feel unable to trust a '4 star' badge and a Best Western association.

Room Tip: The superior room was good value, with many extras included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orsen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    92
    40
    6
    7
See reviews for
64
81
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poltava, Ukraine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is situated in front of the railway crossing, so the way to the beach takes 3 minutes. Dishes in the restaurant are varied and delicious. Wi-Fi works in the room fast and without problems. The staff is friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovikovaOlga1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

It is a fanatic hotel a true 4 star! Room was comfortable - well equipped,immaculately clean and well maintained.Restaurant very good - we had breakfast and dinners - all very good and plenty of choices.The staff are all friendly and helpful.
Convenient for the beach - reached by an underpass on Seafront. Hotel is in heart of a busy cafe/restaurant area - but we had no noise problems! We will definitely be back!
Best hotel Ferris Holidays offer!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pooler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Have stayed at the Les Palmeres Hotel on many occasions. The rooms are large, with air conditioning and kept extremely clean. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. I have had my birthday in the hotel and the chef kindly baked me a cake and the staff sang happy birthday, it was so unexpected but made it a day to remember. There was also a beautiful bunch of flowers in my room from the staff and management. The food is great with plenty to choose from. The nicest thing is that you do not have to fight for a sunbed or put towels down to reserve one. You are also close to all amenities and the beach is 2 minutes walk away. We love it that is why we are going back in August 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jean59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I was so unfortunate as to book (and fully pre-pay) a room in this hotel for my August vacation. One of the obvious reasons why I chose it (besides discounts) was the promised free (i.e., included in the price) in-room Internet and the famous brand. My previous two stays in the Miami Beach Best Western hotel at the 42nd street left only pleasant memories. After two nights' stay in Les Palmeres I'm feeling like a victim of a scam. First, the free Internet in the room was so slow you could watch YouTube only with minutes' pauses after each several seconds. But o.k. with that. On the second evening, neither my iPad, nor iPhone were able to connect to any of the many formally available hotel Wi-Fi options except the reception hall Wi-Fi not strong enough to be visible anywhere outside of the reception hall. The hotel has a security system consisting of two passwords (one to access the hotspot and another on a pop-up web page to testify you will comply with the hotel's rules). And since the second evening after entering the first password, no window popped up to allow entering the second password, my iPad and iPhone trying to connect for as long as my temper allowed, with no success. The only Wi-Fi option, which was not protected (from the hotel's guests) with a second password, allowed Internet connection in the reception hall. What astonished me the most was the reaction of the reception staff. The reception lady (I very often stay in hotels for both business and recreational purposes, but have never seen so unfriendly it's-not-my-problem hotel employee) with no other clients at the reception at the moment most of all wanted to get rid of me as soon as I told about the issue. With a thick accent and unfriendly irritated look, she said to me something like: you need keep trying. The other reception gentleman told me the issue had persisted for a month, and when I suggested he report it to get resolved, I saw a genuine surprise in his eyes. I tried therefore to find a way to report the issue myself. I was again surprised to find Best Western chain not having any tool to communicate any issues besides the survey you can complete no more than once a month and which definitely doesn't suppose quick response and resolution of the problems the chain's guests happen to deal with. But next day I learnt the Wi-Fi issue was a pretty insignificant event compared to what you may face staying in this hotel. Next day during a short period of time I was absent for a lunch, my room was both cleaned and deprived of my personal quite expensive towel (I usually take it to a beach), which was kept in a separate bag on the room's floor. When I returned and didn't find it, I went to reception again (I felt literally pissed off at the moment). The other reception lady promised to talk to room service employees who could clean my room at the lunch time. She called back some time later to tell that the room service lady said she hadn't taken anything from the room (only white towels from the bathrooms). I asked if they have a standard procedure to report theft. She was surprised. Why am I writing about this stuff here - only because there is no other tool in Best Western hotel chain to report what happens in their hotels with their clients, with you guys after you have payed the full price of your stay, then separately the local taxes, then 35 euros for using a safe in your room for 10 days - perhaps they'll read the feedback here. No need to say it all ruined my vacation and left me contemplating why I didn't "overpay" for the HTop Amaika across the street where I had no problems staying last summer...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alexander_Moscow_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We booked Volga hotel with travel republic but on arrival was transferred here. The hotel was brill, very clean,really large room,excellent air con and food at breakfast and evening meal was great. Wine only €9 a bottle too.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frizziep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It is a lovely hotel in every way! a true 4 star! Room was comfortable - well equipped,immaculately clean and well maintained.Restaurant very good - we had breakfast and dinners - all very good and plenty of choices.
We had Superior Room so had free safe! 2 x hours in Spa included - just the right side of Useful extras!The staff are ALL friendly and helpful.
An only downside -hotel is NOT on Seafront BUT it IS very convenient for the beach - reached by an underpass on Seafront! Hotel is in heart of BUSY cafe/restaurant area - but pleased to say we had no noise problems! We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: High up room was excellent for us - as mentioned - no Sea Views though as Hotel is on a back street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#9 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#12 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Palmeres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Palmeres

Property: Hotel Les Palmeres
Address: Diputacio, 1, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Les Palmeres)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Palmeres 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Palmeres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing