We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David Weatherley family visit - Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Calella
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“David Weatherley family visit - Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Hotel Neptuno is a lovely family hotel very well located a short walk from the beautiful beach and Old Town Calella.
We stayed on a Half Board Basis, 2 Adults and 2 Kids. The food selection was impressive and accompanying drinks very reasonably priced.
Our family room was quiet, spotlessly clean with an impeccable clean shiny bathroom. I loved the way the hotel focuses on families and the staff were extremely kind to my kids.
Little things like free use of beach umbrellas and bicycles really made a difference and the hotel even provides free beach activities for the family. Very good value overall and we will definitely be returning to the hotel next year.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff for a quiet room at the back. They were very obliging and the room was lovely an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    124
    52
    13
    17
See reviews for
108
104
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Firstly I should point out that I visited this hotel as part of a school group who were staying there. My experiences of hotels catering for school groups in the past have often been disappointing with a 'like it or lump it' approach from staff towards the students. The Hotel Neptuno was a refreshing experience as from the start to finish the hotel staff were kind and friendly, helpful and considerate. They really looked after us. The rooms we had were basic (lack of plug points for all those iPhone chargers) but clean and comfortable with AC. We stayed full board and the breakfast and evening meal buffets were superb with a huge selection of freshly prepared food that catered for all; including lots of local dishes as well as stuff that fussy children from the UK will enjoy. It really was good. The hotel pool is fairly small and some of our larger students managed to give a few people a good soaking when they jumped in. Calella beach is only a five minute walk away from the hotel as are the local shops, bars and restaurants. I would definitely stay at this hotel again as it provided excellent value and great service.

Room Tip: Avoid a room on the first floor above reception/bar area if you want a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Hotel Neptuno is the ideal family hotel if you want a family holiday and a bit of culture. It is well priced, comfortable with excellent helpful and well established staff, some of whom like Romano and her husband have worked there for twenty years or more. Its size is perfect, geared towards families and small enough to have no more than two or three school groups at any one time. Its location is superb - 5 minutes from a fabulous beach, 5 minutes from the excellent Tourist Office (have a chat with Jaume), 10 minutes from the station and around the corner from the main 'catwalk' high street where families, locals and teenagers amble up and down every evening shopping and munching on ice cream. The hotel has two very nice little pools - after a sweaty cultural excursion in Barcelona or elsewhere I preferred to flop into the warm sea. The staff behind the counter patiently handled my frequent interrogations ranging from public transport to car hire, where the company collected me and the family from the hotel and took us back to their office to sort out paperwork and hand over the car. The hotel also laid on fun nights like a flamenco show or a mexican theme meal. Food was a buffet with plenty of choice for all ages. But there are also lots of well priced good restaurants in town just minutes from the front door if you want to try local specialities.
Location is essential if you want to avoid expensive car hire and Hotel Neptuno has it. We did it just for one day in order to visit place north of Calella like Girona and the Dali Museum in Figueres. It really could not be easier leaping on a train to Barcelona and exploring the city on foot and metro or taxi.
So yes I would book Hotel Neptuno again. I recommend the larger 'suite' rooms to give yourself extra space especially with a family. I teach French in Newcastle and intend to bring 40 boys aged 11-14 to Calella in Spring 2017. So you have been forewarned!
July is normally gasplingly hot but we found it very bearable. We stayed on the beach all Saturday under our parasol dripping in sun cream and we survived.

Room Tip: Poseidon and Neptune are family size rooms with extra space - good to have the parents book this typ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesdrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed for 1 week in July 2013 - Neptuno is a lovely hotel, fab food and reasonable prices at the bar. Would love to go back! Excellent base for visiting Barcelona. Callela is a great resort for beach holidays!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here for the second year running and were just as happy. Due to a mix up with our booking we had been allocated a room with two single beds instead of a double but the very kind reception staff moved us to the Poseidon room which was lovely, very spacious with a balcony overlooking the street outside.

The Neptuno is a very nice family style hotel, very pretty and perfectly situated in the older part of Calella and within easy reach of the beach and the many shops and restaurants. The very reasonable rates charged mean that if you want to pay to use the safe in your room, or rent a fridge, it doesn't add too much to the cost.

Although the pool itself is quite small, the terrace area surrounding the pool is a lovely place to eat your meal, or just chill out with a drink. I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Might be worth asking if there's a school trip staying - if so, ask to be away from their rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nemish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed in the same hotel for the third year with year 9 on the school trip. Hotel was excellent and bedrooms were cleaned every day and the food was excellent, plenty of choice for every taste. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The location was in the old part of Calella with plenty of restaurants, coffee bars and shops near by and the most important was that beach was only 200 m away, Every room had an air conditioner, hair dryer and a safe (4 euros a day). The whole place is very safe for children. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid room 105,205,305, no view at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Didi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We arrived at this hotel in the middle of the night and unfortunately, found our names were not anywhere to be found on reservations (not hotels fault). The night porter found us a room which we were grateful for. Next morning the receptionist knew all about our predicament and said that she would move us to a better room with a balcony which was great. Room was extremely clean and shower was great. Beds were very comfortable. Restaurant can get a little overcrowded, but the food was fine (could have been hotter) and varied daily. Drinks at bar are reasonably priced and the cocktails were yummy. Me and my partner were the only english people in the hotel which was a little disappointing as not many people really spoke to us. Overall this hotel is perfecly placed for beach and shops and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had rooms on front of hotel and round pool and slept well in both
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackier214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Miami Park
Aparthotel Miami Park
#14 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
ALEGRIA Espanya
ALEGRIA Espanya
#6 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neptuno & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptuno & Apartments

Property: Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Address: c/ Sant Josep 84, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neptuno & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, in the town center of the nice city of calella, not far from the train station to the city of barcelona. Very confortable hotel specialy for beach holidays, families, couples,... All the meals buffet, all the rooms with air conditioning, tv sateleite, telefon, hairdryer,... Free entertainement programm for adults and kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Neptuno & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing