We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay but. ..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Neptuno & Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Calella
holmfirth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Okay but. ..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of four for three days in July. Our first impression was that it was a really busy little hotel, in fact we were kept waiting for our room for over an hour. When we finally questioned what was happening the staff were very helpful and upgraded us to a junior suite.

Our room was therefore lovely. The rest of the hotel was pleasant, it had a games room, an adults only area, a children's play area (mainly aimed at the very young) and an area that doubled as an outdoor seating area/ pool area.


Entertainment was provided by the hotel most nights and there was also a Kids Club. Another benefit of this hotel is that it is only a short walk to the shops and the beach, and it is really easy to get to by train if you are travelling independently.

Meals at the hotel were served in the dining room which became very busy. When the weather was good some people ate outside, when it rained however it was a bit like trying to eat in a school canteen. The food was European and varied. Even the fussy eaters in our family could find something that they liked, but you have to remember that it's not a five star hotel.

The one thing that concerned me were standards of cleanliness by some staff. Late one night my daughter was ill so I asked for some cleaning materials. I was sent a mop and bucket which was fine, but we had to ask again for some sort of disinfectant. Furthermore, when my husband asked for cloths to clean the bathroom he was given a towel.This worried me as my daughter could have had norovirus and the towel was inadequate to clean with. Not wanting to risk the spread of a virus in a hotel I did the best job that I could, but I feel that more assistance from the hotel would have helped both us and them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dianeslavs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    122
    51
    13
    16
See reviews for
104
103
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I was a little nervous after reading reviews, discovering this hotel catered for large party of students but was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, all staff very welcoming and the hotel very well run.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank legs88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

just got back from an excellent stay here. The rooms were spotless and cleaners come in daily. The staff were very helpful, and location was excellent. Its not 5* accommodation but it is clean and central what more could you want for the great price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holli91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Having been to Calella several times and twice having a drink in this hotel I was looking forward to staying there. Our booking was with Alpha rooms. In our booking it was stated that we were been allocated an apartment, however after checking in we were informed that we were been given a room. Our room was very small with no balcony. When I enquired at reception I was informed that I would have to pay a 6 euro per day upgrade. I have not heard any of the other reviewers mention this. As it was our wedding anniversary I paid for the upgrade. I felt it was an unfair charge as I have not came across this before in other hotels I have stayed in in this area. Also in my booking I had requested a balcony with pool view.
The food was fair, I felt the wine was a little expensive for the Costa Brava.
The staff however were very friendly. It is also very central.
In summary I would not rate this hotel as highly as others, maybe they had a more positive experience than me

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noduwez, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel is convieniently placed: it's near the main road and the beach. The food is simply DELICIOUS and the staff is nice.
Yet, there are several negative points: if you choose a room, be sure to take a "more expensive" one, i.e. a bigger one. I was in a small room with two other people and we barely had any space. The window would barely open and it was simply hot. The A/C would make a hell lot of noise, too.
The bathroom was rather small, but it was enough for our use.

Room Tip: Choose the bigger rooms, avoid the smaller ones. The small rooms are too tiny, the "big" o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just stayed in this hotel. Its a little treasure for the money. Firstly I had problems printing out my confirmation. The receptionist was very patient and very helpful with me and sorted it. Then I couldnt find my room (my own fault!). The big boss went out of his way to help me which I was very grateful for and impressed with. Its spotless, in a great location, great sunbathing areas, excellent prices, cheerful staff, lovely Mediterranean / different feel to the place. Free fast wifi in the entire hotel. Excellent value. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebJo225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Overall a very enjoyable stay. The rooms were spacious and cleaned very well each day. The decor was a bit tired but this is purely cosmetic. Hairdryer in bathroom useless. Would advise to bring your own especially if you have long hair. Good choice every day for breakfast and dinner. Salads not great. Nice selection of wines well priced. Children loved the swimming pool. Great location. Lovely town would go again. Staff very helpful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SandraB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neptuno2009, Director General at Hotel Neptuno & Apartments, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Family,
many thanks for your comments of the hotel. we realy apreciate that the hair dryer is not working well, we will advise and repare for the next clients.
We hope to see you again
regards from Spain.
Marta Hernando
Directora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Miami Park
Aparthotel Miami Park
#14 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#8 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#5 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#24 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
0.4 mi away
H.TOP Amaika
H.TOP Amaika
#10 of 43 in Calella
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Neptuno & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neptuno & Apartments

Property: Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Address: c/ Sant Josep 84, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Neptuno & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family hotel, in the town center of the nice city of calella, not far from the train station to the city of barcelona. Very confortable hotel specialy for beach holidays, families, couples,... All the meals buffet, all the rooms with air conditioning, tv sateleite, telefon, hairdryer,... Free entertainement programm for adults and kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Neptuno & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing