We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H.TOP Amaika Superior
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not too bad!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed as a group of 5 friends in June 2013. We had 2 rooms (1 room with 2 single beds and the other had 3 single beds) and we were on the all-inclusive plan.
The rooms were very nice. Clean and comfortable and cleaned regularly.
The hotel itself was also clean and had a nice bar area. The pool was a bit small and it was hard to get sunbeds.
The food was good - lots of variety. The only issue at mealtimes was queuing for drinks. You had to pick up a drink from the drinks table, queue and wait for the waiter to open the bottle for you and scan your card.

Calella itself if great. This was our 3rd visit and we have always loved it. The beach is very close to the hotel as are the shops, restaurants and bars.

Barcelona is easy and cheap to get to by train. We did 2 excursions organised through the hotel. We went to the waterpark which is always fun and we also did the day trip to Barcelona which is nice as you get to see all the major sights.

Overall, we felt the the hotel was good value for money and provided everything we needed.

Our only disappointment was the number of Russians who were all very rude and didn't understand the concept of queuing and waiting your turn.

Room Tip: I would request a sea view room as the hotel is very close to the beach so you would get amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ifty1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    498
    293
    93
    81
See reviews for
442
516
33
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Had a good holiday. For the price paid this hotel really can't be faulted. All inclusive includes use of the spa facilities free of charge which we didn't know on previous visits. We used this twice and it was very relaxing. The food is good although restaurant can get very busy. One niggle, the bathroom could use some bleach. The tile grouting is dirty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Have stayed in Calella before so knew what to expect in the resort, decided to go to the amaika as there was a good all inclusive deal on, however we were worried after reading the reviews about the overbooking of the hotel and being relocated elsewhere.

Arrived at the hotel during the early hours of the morning after a nightmare 2 hour transfer with resort hopper from Girona airport. We were greeted by a pleasant elderly gentleman who checked us in swiftly and gave us our room key and AI card. We made our way to the lifts and the porter helped us into the lift with our luggage.

The room was as requested on a high floor and was spotlessly clean, comfortable and well equipped. However we were dissapointed as we contacted the hotel in advance to advise them that we would miss our evening meal and if they could provide a cold meal with water in the room on arrival. Nothing was left for us and we had to leave the hotel in search of a takeaway for food and drink, so not a good start.

Our first experience of the restaurant was lunchtime and it was rather busy with guests looking for tables although the head waiter did his best to find vacant tables for guests. The restaurant is tastefully decorated and comfortable to dine in, however the food on offer was below par. Being meat eaters we were dissapointed at the dishes on offer, pigs trotters for one which was a turn off. In the other meals there were very little meat dishes on offer, BBQ ribs and chicken wings with hardly any meat on. The same vegetable and pasta soup for lunch and dinner every day no variety at all. After a quiet word with reception about the quality of the food, there was an improvement towards the Holy weekend. There were more meat dishes on offer such as pork chops and chicken breasts. The special meal on good Friday was the best with some Catalan and other European dishes with a roast beef carvery.

All drinks in the restaurant are given to you by the waiter next to the door and consist of bottles of wine, water and cans of beer or juice. Outwith mealtimes hot and cold snacks are served in the bar area and consisted of burgers, bacon rolls and sandwiches.

The main lounge in the hotel is comfortable to sit in and the drinks on the AI package are very good quality branded drinks and not watered down. The waiting and bar staff worked very hard and some were more reserved than others but would allways acknowledge you, enjoyed some banter with Carlos on a number of occassions. Evening entertainment was the usual, dancing to music and live acts, could only put up with it for so long before going outside the hotel for a drink in the town.

Hotel amaika is in the perfect location for exploring the town and going to the beach as they are a stones throw away. If you want to go to Barcelona like we did it costs 9 euro 60 cent return on the train. It is a lovely city with much to see and do depending on your interests. For football enthusiasts, a visit to the camp Nou and museum is a must.

The amika is without doubt the best of the Htop hotels and I hope it contiunes to attract coules and families and does not attract the loud teenagers. The hotel takes the security of its guests seriously as the front automatic doors are locked at night, so no entry for stragglers from the town.

We would definately return to the Amaika again in the near future as it was peaceful and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have panoramic views, rooms on the first floor have larger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Haggis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

stayed for 4 nights all inclusive , the room was cleaned every day and used towels replaced . food was, good being able to have a bottle of wine with evening meal was a bonus staff very helpful and friendly , would recommend this hotel ,

Room Tip: ask to overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, usually stay at Calella Palace, however fancied a change and this is a better hotel! Friendly staff, beach bar - look out at reception you get 50% off drinks at the designated blue beach bar just a 2 min walk from the hotel. Only downsides or advice really - ladies bring a hair dryer, there is one in the bathroom but v poor. Also walls quite thin so if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. Lovely location, near to beach and town.
All inclusive bar starts at 10am and finishes at midnight. However open until 1am (you have to pay for drinks from midnight to 1am). Drinks in the local bars are so cheap! We were at the beach bar all afternoon, bought 6 rounds of drinks (2 of us) and come to €41 - however this wasn't blue beach bar, didn't realise if we went there would get 50% discount!!
Food is ok, plenty of choice. Is nice for one night to go out to eat for a change. Nice kebab place across the road called Istanbul very yummy!
We have booked to come again in September! That says it all really :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ShellyK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is absolutely fabulous.... ,food,rooms,service,value for money,location, all are top class and i defy anyone to find a better hotel in Spain with such character and high standards ,do not have any reservations about booking here as i can tell you your in for a treat and i should know i have been 6 times its BRILLIANT.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tony k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

H.TOP AMAIKA which is near to the beach and 4star. It is a 5 star actually. Every things are very nice. Good food, Good Rooms, Near to beach, Good service, best for all inclusive. Bottle of wine with the food, Jacuzzi, sauna etc., and discounts for all day tours for AI. Its definitely worth to say here. We will go back here. Very clean, looks like a ship interior, its a 5 star facility hotel, good for families. We have paid 350 euro for 4 of us ( 2+2, 3 & 6 years) for 4 nights AI.

Room Tip: Top floor has good view, First floor has very big balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jobin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#23 of 43 in Calella
1,909 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#6 of 43 in Calella
521 reviews
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#6 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Amaika Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Amaika Superior

Property: H.TOP Amaika Superior
Address: Carrer de la Diputacio 2, 08370 Calella, Spain (Formerly H·TOP Amaika)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — H.TOP Amaika Superior 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star superior H•TOP Amaika hotel is a thematic hotel inspired by “The Titanic” and the ideal place for couples. It is located in a lively area of Calella, in the Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east of Spain), positioned just a few metres from the beach and very close to bars, restaurants, shops and the city center. The 229-room provide amazing town and sea views and many facilities and services for adults and children. It is situated 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport.Calella is a family tourist destination where you will find plenty of things to do including water sports, cultural activities and nightlife. Clients from H•TOP Amaika can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces • Laundry room Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area* • Hot tubs • Sauna • Fitness room • Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H.TOP Amaika Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Amaika Calella
Hotel h Top Amaika
Amaika Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing