We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you like Pork!!”
Review of H.TOP Amaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Amaika
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great if you like Pork!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Stayed for 3 nights AI middle of April. Hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are lovely, with a separate shower cubicle and bath. The rooms are made up every day with fresh towels if needed. Rooms have tv with ITV and CBBC (no BBC1) and a fridge although the walls are paper thin and everything can be heard. The food was in our opinion not very good at all. There was limited choice, same food either side of the counter. Every lunch and dinner service offered pork, pork and more pork, either pork kebab, pigs cheeks, belly pork, pigs blood sausage, pigs kidneys etc etc for the duration of our trip the only other meat offered was rabbit one lunchtime. There is salad and pasta and always chips!!! You can hire the steam/jacuzzi room on the AI for an hour free per day, which we highly recommend. The bar staff were rude, just the odd grunt. We feel that the hotel is highly geared towards the elderly Spanish guests, which made up about 80% of the hotel guests. The train station is a short walk along the beach, the beach is a very very short walk from the hotel. There is alot of roadworks but luckily our room was not facing this. Overall I would say that the AI is probably good value for money as some of the restaurants were quite expensive due to the poor value of the £. Would probably not return to the hotel due to the food.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRBCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    478
    278
    90
    77
See reviews for
418
500
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stoke-on-trent, england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amaika for a week, all inclusive, at the beginnning of April and found it to be absolutely faultless. The room was spotless and quite spacious with everything that you could want, and we had a massive balcony, although not everyone's is the same size. Food was fantastic every day and we always went up for seconds. There is always plenty of staff to wait on you in the restaurant and when it was full one night and we couldn't get a table straight away, the next night the staff remembered us and seated us as soon as we got through the door. Facilities at the hotel are great, it has a private sauna and jacuzzi that can be booked out for an hour at a time, although we recommend booking the day before you want to use it as it got really busy when the season kicked in. The all inclusive facilities are fantastic, especially the bar and we didn't find the 2 drinks per person per time rule hard at all, there was only 2 of us. Everyone was friendly and we also booked a really good barcelona city tour at reception, but I recommend finding out the times and days for the tour at the beginning of the holiday because it would be a shame to miss out on it. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels and bedlinen and the hotel really does offer amazing value for money, especially as it is only a stones throw away from the beach - we got a week's all inclusive with flights for £236. There is some work being done to the road outside, but this didn't affect our stay in the slightest. The weather was also really good and we can't fault our stay in the slightest. Can't wait to go back, had an amazing, romantic holiday :D

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annyapple90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Just returned having had 3 days a the Ameika. Hotel Spotless, rooms comfortable and staff were friendly. Not much happening around Calella but took this as read still being out of season. Great location 200yds from beach. Pool a bit small and was freezing cold !! Although food was heavily weighted towards the spanish guests we didn't go hungry and didn't need to survive on salad !!. Definately recommend the AI option as outside the hotel everything seems really expensive due to the current poor exchange rate. All in all a great place to stay and the AI option is value for money.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
argyll & bute
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My friend and I spent a very enjoyable week at this hotel. Food was varied and plentiful and there was entertainment provided every night. Rooms were clean and comfortable, bed linen changed three times during our stay and clean towels provided on request. Real value for money - we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizabud_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside, UK
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2009

We booked our stay at the Amaika in January via teletext holidays and were amazed at the cost, £250 pp all inclusive for 4 nights (that included flights with RyanAir). We had never flown with a budget airline as we usually have package holidays, however it was a pleasant surprise. Flight was very comfortable, plenty leg room etc.

The hotel is situated c.200 metres from the beach in Calella and is central within the resort. There are lots of shops nearby (some independent boutique types and the usual souvenir shops) and the train station is only a ten minute walk from the hotel. We visited Barcelona, the train was only 6 euros for a return ticket to the centre of Barcelona (placa de Catalunya) which was fantastic - the journey was c.1hr. A stay in Calella is a cheaper alternative for those intending to visit Barcelona without paying city centre hotel and food / drink costs, definitely recommended. If we had been staying longer we would have made a few vists to Barcelona as it was so easy to get there. The trains seem to operate up and down the entire Costa Brava at regular intervals meaning it's pretty easy to visit the area. Plenty to do in Calella though for those who want to stay close to the hotel, the beach is fantastic and you can walk along the coast to the neighbouring resorts.

We found that on the whole the hotel was of a good standard. The grounds and rooms were very clean and tidy. The all inclusive buffet was nice with lots of choice (a lot of people have complained that the food caters for the Spanish guests, but you are abroad after all - if you want to eat English food then why not holiday in the UK!). There were lots of different foods to try such as shark steaks and pig cheeks, which we both really enjoyed! We have been on many all inclusive holidays in the Caribbean and they tend to be bigger resorts hence more food choices. The choice of food was fine considering the small size of this hotel.

The entertainment usually consisted of some elderly hotel guests dancing, which was pretty inoffensive but not great. We tended to wander out into the town at night as the shops and bars stayed open pretty late - although the place was not as lively as it would be in the height of summer there was definitely a good atmosphere and we felt as though we were on holiday abroad. Calella has definitely retained some of its local charm unlike some other resorts.

Although we found the hotel to be very good, the bar staff are a bit hostile towards foreigners, they tended to do a fair bit of grunting at us. That came as a surprise as we have always found staff to be friendly and welcoming on previous holidays. I am not sure we saw any of the bar staff crack a smile during our stay. That said, we found all of the Spanish guests to be much the same. Not sure if that's just their way or whether there is a genuine dislike of foreigners. We didn't really let that bother us to be honest, it shouldn't put you off staying at the Amaika.

All in all, we would visit Calella again and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAndMrsBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

My friend and i had agreat holiday at this hotel, food was fine, there was entertainment every night, we had a gret holiday with lots of laughs.......... we will be going back next year

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowEsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

We returned to the Amaika after just two weeks for another 4 day break. I was hoping that I had'nt been lucky the first time due to some negative reviews I had read on this website. I must say that everything was just fine and maybe a bit better food wise than the previous visit. We met some really friendly people and just felt comfortable, this helped alot as the weather was truly abysmal. We were given a superb room and to be honest felt a bit embarressed considering the low cost of the break. I must say we are a bit hooked on this hotel having stayed in others in the area that are not a patch on this one. I really can't think of anything detrimental to say about the hotel, maybe a small shop would be good just for the bare essentials however the 2 minute walk to the shop outside was'nt too much of a problem! Going back again May 11th for a few days, hope the weather is better. Love it here, thanks to the Amaika and all their staff, great job.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeRomsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#23 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Amaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Amaika

Property: H.TOP Amaika
Address: Carrer de la Diputacio 2, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#3 Spa Hotel in Calella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — H.TOP Amaika 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star superior H•TOP Amaika hotel is a thematic hotel inspired by “The Titanic” and the ideal place for couples. It is located in a lively area of Calella, in the Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east of Spain), positioned just a few metres from the beach and very close to bars, restaurants, shops and the city center. The 229-room provide amazing town and sea views and many facilities and services for adults and children. It is situated 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport.Calella is a family tourist destination where you will find plenty of things to do including water sports, cultural activities and nightlife. Clients from H•TOP Amaika can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces • Laundry room Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area* • Hot tubs • Sauna • Fitness room • Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Amaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Amaika Calella
Hotel h Top Amaika
Amaika Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing