We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, hot and good food”
Review of H.TOP Amaika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H.TOP Amaika
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, hot and good food”
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I have just returterned from the Ameka Holiday and after reading the reviews on here was dreading it..... However it is not as bad as what everybody has said. The hotel is very clean and well maintained.. the bedding smelt but after a spray with body spray wasnt too bad, they are so clean that the towels did smell of chemicals. The reviews on the food are not true, we had breakfast, lunch and dinners and everything was pipping hot, the key is to wait for them to bring out the food and then go up and get it and the choice was very good. The pool is very small and didnt open until 9am, however again the clue is to be at the pool doors at about 8.40 and you would have no problems at all with getting a bed, however there are only 32 sunloungers. The only other thing is that your all inclusive finish at 12midday in the bar and 15.00 in the resturant, but I went up to the snack bat at 16.00 and had no problems. The Europeans are very very rude so just stand your ground and dont let them push in, they also have the habbit of putting their towels on the bed and dissappearing for the day, so would receommed you get down to breakfast for 8 and ten the pool for 8.40. This is the flag ship for the HTOP hotels and you can go to any of the hotels in this chain and get all inclusive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJDOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    478
    277
    90
    77
See reviews for
418
498
33
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We have sayed at 2 H top htels in the area both on 2 occassions and had a great time at both. This hotel is beautiful, clean, food good and could be reommended appart from the bar where you have to get your own individual drink, i.e. you go then your wife then your friend and children disabled etc. had to be displayed at the bar for you to get their drinks for them.when at the bar a kind of close up magic took place if you drank shorts, 2 pieces of ice are put in glass your spririt appears to be added your mixer is added, you taste and the spirit seems to have disappeared magic. Shall'nt go again along with many more. Hope other H Tops have not gone the same

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dendim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

My partner and I went here for a cheap week away, the rooms are clean and big enough. The drinks included in the AI are good. The food is terrible im sorry to say, we only ate in a couple of nights ( I suggest to go in and check it out if these isnt anything you fancy eat out), There are some good reataurants nearby and if all else fails there is a MC'Ds accross the road, breakfast is fine the usual run of the mill choice, bread, jams, continental meats, warm bacon etc. Sunloungers round the pool are minimal, have to be up early to get one, we went to the beach which is close by most days. If you are like us, you will probably get your moneys worth with the room and AI drinks ( vodka, kiwi liquor and lemonade was my tipple).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozza020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Stayed here with 16 members of the family, food was great, kids club the girls that run it are fantastic and 7 kids really enjoyed it. No problem sleeping the pool is a bit on the little side but beach is only a minute walk away. We stayed for 10 days and no problems whatsoever,really enjoyed it and we all will be returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coalvillecomeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We have stayed in Calella twice before, and the Amaika once before. We were very disappointed as the hotel is definately not as good. The rooms and the whole hotel is immaculately clean. If you overlook the pool you are fine, our friends balcony was over the main street and have had hardly any sleep all week due to german students going out any time afternoon 10 and coming back any time after 2, shouting and being rowdy all the way up the main street. This can go on until 5am.
The breakfast - egg and bacon was cold and the other meals were luke warm, we were lucky on the odd occasion and managed to find something hot. The choice was poor. Every day was some sort of grisly fatty meat, and grilled fish full of bones! Sometimes there was even a slice of ham with a pineapple ring on top! this is not 4* food, boiled potatoes with one veg which did not look appetising, the soup was called something different every day but tasted exactly the same! cold pasta and bolognese which if you catch at the right time may be warm Sometimes there is a bit of nice plain salad, but the rest of it is all mixed with strange stuff. On the positive side between each meal time ther restaurant is open for snacks, and you can make yourself and nice ham and cheese roll! Sometimes they have nicer meat at this time too. Bar staff and reception staff are not the most friendly people - Im not sure they know how to smile! There are few sunbeds which people put their towels on early in the morning and half of them dont lay on them for very long! So you have to go to the beach, this costs 2 euros for each sun bed and you are only allowed one all inclusive drink. Istanbul Kebabs are the best (3.50 euros), as half the time we were starving we would have one of these. Barcelona is excellent, it only costs 7 euros return, and is well worth a visit, you need to get off at Barcelona Catulunya. We decided to go out for a late night drink after the bar shut one night and thought the brit bar alcatraz would be good, but I guess we thought wrong - magners 4.75 euros, pint of beer 3.50 euros (I think), hardly anyone in there, no atmosphere, the same 2 people singing karaoke, we were told there was midnight bingo, but I dont think they could be bothered the night we went there. We thought we would have a nice meal on the last day - we went to Casa Carlos and had chicken and chips for 7.80 euros but if you want steak its over 15 euros and a soft drink is 2.70 euros, the food was OK but too overpriced, and dont have the bread they offer you as you will get charged 1 euro each. We will not be going back to Calella for a long time, it way too expensive now.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandidandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calella hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Leicester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights relaxation and chillout time in Oct 2008. It had received some poor reviews regarding noise and overpowering smells of cleaning fluids. I cannot agree with those reviews. Although it made our minds up that mainland spain is not "our cup of tea" I can't fault the hotel. The titanic theme was interesting, food was excellent, the hotel was spotlessly clean. Being all inclusive was a refreshing change for us too, not having to choose a restaurant every night. The AI card was valid at the beach bar too for a couple of drinks. The pool is small, but I don't like swimming or lounging by it so that was fine by me. We walked up to the ruined castle and wandered round the town, as it was October, there was a munich style beer festival off the promenade, which was fun. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a massive balcony (overlooking the storm drain, well you can't have it all) and we could see the sea while sitting out enjoying the late afternoon sun. It had good storage, bathroom was clean and adequate with toiletries supplied

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyjoyceuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Have just returned from here with a group of other girls (hen party). The rooms are basic, but big enough, clean. There is a TV, mini fridge, hairdryer in the room. TV has about 3 english channels, including itv. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changhed if needed.

The food was hit or miss. No way was this 4* standard, I have been on many all inclusive and the food here is like your typical 3 star hotel, not much choice and pudding was usually some liquid mush or little spanish cakes.

The pool area is tiny, would hate to have been there peak season as there is only about 20 sun beds around the pool.
The hotel itself, is clean and tidy. Service at the bar is ok, they get through the que pretty quick but are very strict on your two drinks per person rule.

There is a smoking room with internet and comfy leather sofa's, very nice for a chill after a night out.

Found it handy that there is a shower cubical and a shower over the bath, great as we were 4 girls sharing.

The entertainment was pretty much non exisitant but they did put the odd show on and day time quiz, but as a group we made our own entertainment.
Something I noted is that the spirts (alcohol) is alot weaker over there then here, the vodka was only 25% vol where as here it is around 40% vol so it takes a few drinks before you even feel like you have had one.

All in all the hotel is ok for a cheap get away, nothing special and is set in a great location 5min from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charliearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#23 of 43 in Calella
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#1 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.0 mi away
H.TOP Pineda Palace
H.TOP Pineda Palace
#5 of 17 in Pineda de Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#7 of 43 in Calella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#2 of 43 in Calella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.2 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Amaika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Amaika

Property: H.TOP Amaika
Address: Carrer de la Diputacio 2, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Calella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#9 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — H.TOP Amaika 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star superior H•TOP Amaika hotel is a thematic hotel inspired by “The Titanic” and the ideal place for couples. It is located in a lively area of Calella, in the Costa Maresme-Barcelona (north-east of Spain), positioned just a few metres from the beach and very close to bars, restaurants, shops and the city center. The 229-room provide amazing town and sea views and many facilities and services for adults and children. It is situated 65 Km from Barcelona – El Prat Airport and 35 Km from Girona Airport.Calella is a family tourist destination where you will find plenty of things to do including water sports, cultural activities and nightlife. Clients from H•TOP Amaika can visit Blue Bar Beach Club which offers sun beds and parasols with special rates for clients with All-Inclusive service. FACILITIES Rooms • Social room (ping pong) • Restaurant • Bar • Swimming pools ( one for adults and one for children; unsupervised pools ) • Sun terraces • Laundry room Children • Miniclub (really is children's activity room ) • Baby cots and chairs Spa area* • Hot tubs • Sauna • Fitness room • Staff • 24 hour Front Desk services • Multilingual staff • Housekeeping • Tour desk Others • Facilities for guests with disabilities • Meeting & banqueting spaces • Currency exchange • Car hire* • Fax & copy service • Medical service (external service)* • Air-conditioning • Heating • Safe boxes (in each room)* • Wi-Fi* • TV • Luggage storage • Lifts • Bikes* • Parking* *Some of these services are extra or require a deposit (ask at the Hotel) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your H.TOP Amaika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Amaika Calella
Hotel h Top Amaika
Amaika Hotel Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing