We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2014 - Calella Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA
Ranked #21 of 44 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed 24 July 2014

First the bad points. Thin walls in bedrooms, also the system for all inclusive drinks was not very good, the soft drinks were by a company called Divine (they were not) syrupy and not good at all; other Hotels I have stayed in have had either Pepsi, Coke, Kas etc and all of those are fine and the worse thing of all during the day time and around the pool the plastic beakers were absolutely awful - cheap and nasty. Good points plenty of chairs/table/sunbeds and never felt crowded. Food was plentiful and varied, Paella, Veal stews, fish, chicken, pork (not much lamb) love gaspacho and had this every other lunchtime. Ballintines Whiskey, Larios Gin, Bacardi. Lunchtimes and early afternoon the cold Estrella Damm was very tasty etc were available on all inclusive. Staff were very pleasant and yes there is one grumpy looking barman but that's just his persona. Easy to get to the beach approx 5 minute walk. Wi-fi connection was good in our bedroom (think it was 25 euros for 1 week). Calella is a lovely town and has history and lovely town square (400 year old church etc). all in all enjoyed it

Room Tip: Pick a room with pool view and you will get the sun in the afternoon on the small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Phil,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.
We’re very disappointed for your experience with the soft drinks, we’re proud to have clients from many different countries and none complains about the drinks.
Regarding the food is a wide offer.
We really appreciate your nice and constructive comments that help us to improving.
We take all guest feedback very seriously. We even use online reviews to retrain employees, because our main objective is to try to make your holidays a happy stay.

Thanks and Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I are between 58-62, Biggest downside for us was as previous contribuents have said, is the noise that could be heard from adjoining rooms. You could hear whole conversations and we lost 4-5 nights sleep due to the inconsideration of our neighbours that stayed up all hours laughing and joking. It was impossible to sleep. We stayed July 5th-12th and the guests were mainly 16-25 year olds, who did not respect the Restaurant dress code or the official written rules regarding no noise after midnight. One night we had to phone reception to stop the noise from next door at 0300, but even after that intervention from the night staff, the loud talking continued. This noise aspect spoiled the vacation, and although money wise it was worth it, I would not return as you become very grumpy through lack of sleep. There were even times when loud music was played from various rooms day and night.
Not 4 star maybe 3.5. Room size brilliant, but with small balcony and poor table and chairs. Good sized quality bathroom. Everything worked ok, all electrics, TV and plumbing although our cistern filling was a little noisy.
Room cleaned every day and was up to a good standard. Pillows not very thick. Corridors wide and good size lifts, even a panoramic one. Stairs were wide and marbled, lovely. Staff were very efficient and helpful, most could speak good english. Various pools, one large one and several smaller ones in different areas that were in quieter locations. Plenty of sunbeds, although around the main pool in the sun it was not easy to find one. Main function room a good size with plenty of seating. Entertainment average, but the animation team do try. The music I felt was a little loud for kiddies. Small shop on site, but do not sell newspapers. Abundance of food and drink, a lot of it very samey and average quality, but definitely edible and you wouldn't starve. Packed lunches very basic. Internet facility payable and very slow. No Wi-Fi. Calella beach 10 mins walk, but pleasant walk with wide pavements and overall clean. Beach lovely, wide plenty of room between sunbeds, either pay or use your own umbrella and lie on a towel. Railway station a 25 min walk, easy to get to Barcelona. Calella is a lovely town, we didn't see any trouble and felt quite safe. There are many shops to brouse along.

Room Tip: Ask reception for one that is not located centrally, that way you may only have one neighbour to one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank campione16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear client,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very disappointed for the all inconvenient you pointed out during your holidays. Coinciding with the dates that you were staying in Calella Place, were some guest who makes more noise than normal, but we have Staff who is around different floors of the hotel, who advised that he has to keep quiet.
We take note to improve, and we apologize for the all inconvenience caused.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good value not four. Star but can't be for the money , rooms good size and clean .food OK could become a bit boring, thought bit mean to charge for wfi. .staff in general were friendly .we All. Inc . wines were drinkable and beers OK. And you can all drinks card at other h top hotels in the resort until 7 pm. Wouldgo back .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookable Holidays
3  Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Martin,
Thank you for sharing yours comments with the rest of travelers. We are glad to read your positives comments.
We are looking forward to welcome you back with us in the next future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Nice hotel to stay at. Around 5-10 minute walk to town and beach and 20-30 minutes walk (through the town) to the local train station that we used to get into Barcelona. I never had a problem with noise from other hotel rooms. Nice, clean and large room with bedding and towel changes daily. Food was a bit bland and the fish dishes were always dry :( one very happy chef though always had a smile on his face. I noticed every other table would have laid on water and wine at meal times but we were never offered (and were all inclusive) do not get a packed lunch to take out for the day half of it was soggy the other half really dry. I never saw any sort of kids entertainment in the day times and did not even know there was an inside pool. I booked under travel republic and will never use them again I had a hotel change a week before I was due to fly and was told take it or don't go simple. As stated this hotel is not worth the all inclusive but would book at b&b level.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adams2479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Adams,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are sorry if you didn’t enjoy the packed lunches and fish dishes, we take note to improve. We take all guest feedback very seriously.
We hope to see you again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed all inclusive in this hotel.

Bad points:
Room walls are very thin, could hear next doors occupants snoring.
During the day were given thick plastic glasses to drink out of - awful
Although the some of the alcohol served at the bar was branded, this was let down by the most awful tasting soft drinks/mixer, from a brand never heard of before named Divine (we brought branded coke/fanta orange in the supermarket at 40cents a can this was hardly expensive).
This is a 4 star hotel and was told we could use the amenities of other Htop Hotels but not the Amaiki Hotel (which is another 4 star Hotel in Calella) this didnt make sense.

Good points:
Room size was brilliant, we had 2 double beds in our room
Amenities, sun roof for +18s with bar and jacuzzi's. Sauna, gym, small indoor pool, games room and 2 outside pools.
Entertainment of a night
Bar served Barcardi and Ballantyne Whisky
Food was plentiful. 3 soups of a lunchtime. Umpteen choices of salad, always a different choice of fish and pasta everyday not to mention at least a couple of different meat dishes as well as the usual chips, rice and vegetables.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Air conditioning

Calella is a lovely town, enough bars, restaurants and shops but not over the top like some Spanish towns. The beach was lovely and clean too.
On the whole we really enjoyed staying at the hotel and would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view - the rooms at the back overlooked a road and didnt have much sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Angiedawnevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Angie,
Thank you for sharing your comments with the rest of travelers. We really appreciate your comments regarding food and the friendliness of our staff.
Concerning the plastic glasses is just one safety reason. The crystal glasses can accidentally break, outside the bar we have a terrace and the main pools for adults and kids on that area they going without shoes. Broken glasses on the floor are dangerous for children and adults.
Thank you to help us to improved with your feedback.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in March rooms were spotless all amazing bar staff could have been a little more friendly would defiantly go back child friendly catered to all needs gym indoor swimming pool etc loved my time here good food spoilt for choice at all sittings would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smile T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear client,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are so glad to read you enjoyed with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you back with us in the next future.
Many Thanks and Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

the hotel was very very noisy i couldnt sleep at night for two days the walls where very thin like newspaper the food was a lot but not very tasty the staff was very polite the hotel was about 40klm from barcelona and i have to walk about 15 minutes in order to take the local train to Barcelona finally i have to say that if i have the chance again i would not book at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EAGLE382014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HTOPHotels, Director Comercial at H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear client,
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are very disappointed for all inconvenient you pointed out during you holidays.
We apologize if you did not enjoy our food, we are proud to have clients from many different countries and we understand and accept that some clients may not like the hotel food, but take all the feedback into consideration to improve.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#8 of 44 in Calella
565 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior Adults Recommended
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 44 in Calella
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 44 in Calella
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B El Pekinaire
B&B El Pekinaire
#4 of 44 in Calella
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA

Address: Carrer Maria Cardona S/N, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#7 Spa Hotel in Calella
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £26 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA 4*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Superior H·TOP Calella Palace & SPA is located in a quiet residential area of Calella, just a few metres away from the beach and very close to bars, restaurants, shops, the old town and city centre. The hotel has two solariums with swimming pool and 2 kids pool, sun beds, parasols, rooftop jacuzzis and sun terrace, pool bar, gym, miniclub, playground, souvenir store, laundry and ironing service, lounge, bar, restaurant and spa with indoor heated swimming pool, 2 saunas and 2 indoor jacuzzis. The hotel is equipped for people with reduced mobility. 339 rooms divided 8 floors in full-equipped: private balcony or terrace, air-conditioning, heating, satellite TV, telephone, safe box (for hire), desk, wardrobe and an equipped bathroom with hair dryer, free toiletries and bathtub. Cots available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your H.TOP Calella Palace & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h Top Hotel Calella
Calella Hotel Palace
Calella Palace Hotel
Calella Palace Spain
Calella Palace Calella
Hotel Top Calella Palace
Top Palace Calella
h Top Calella Palace
Hotel Calella Palace Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing