We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Marnie Y

Lovely family holiday

Review of Hotel Bernat II
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 16 Sept 2023
Lovely family hotel. We took our three year old and found it great for children without being chaotic. The pools are small but never crowded, a children’s disco every evening with interactive dancing, mixtures of themes and performances etc. The children’s play room is generously sized with a variety of activities. The hotel is within walking distance of the beach/shops/restaurants/play areas/parks,etc. Our room was cleaned spotlessly every day, the cleaners were always friendly. There was a wide variety of food displayed for breakfast and dinner, the only fault being that the food was poorly labelled if labelled at all, so not clear for vegetarians/vegans or people with allergies. Other than that our stay was perfect and would return tomorrow if I could. :)
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II, responded to this review
Responded 22 Sept 2023
Thank you very much, 901marniey, for sharing your comment. We're pleased to read that our hotel is good and that you’ve enjoyed it. We take note of your recommendation to improve the labelling of meals in the restaurant.
We hope you choose us again for your holidays. Best regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£99
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £107
  • Agoda.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
    £107
0.1 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Pool
Beachfront
£66
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £66
  • Agoda.com
    £63
  • Hotels.com
    £66
0.1 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Pool
Beachfront
£103
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
0.2 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Pool
Restaurant
£86
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £86
  • Hotels.com
    £86
  • Tripadvisor
    £86
0.1 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Pool
Beachfront
£104
  • Expedia.com
    £111
  • ZenHotels.com
    £93
  • Hotels.com
    £111
0.5 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Free Wifi
Pool
£102
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £108
  • ZenHotels.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
    £108
0.8 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Pool
Beachfront
£63
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    £90
  • ZenHotels.com
    £87
0.1 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Free Wifi
Pool
£65
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £63
  • ZenHotels.com
    £57
  • Priceline
0.2 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £98
  • Hotels.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Bernat II
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Calella
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
861 results
Traveller rating
318
309
137
55
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
318
309
137
55
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quadruple room public toilets location is excellent your luggage beach bar family room train station half board small pool foam party minute walk from the hotel nice holiday lovely town two double beds town centre each meal rooms were cleaned
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 861 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2023

We were disappointed with our 10 night stay here but, first the good bits. Our bedrooms were cleaned spotlessly; the pool is small but loungers and chairs were always available; beverage prices are reasonable; breakfast generally was fine as were evening salads. Now, the less good. The restaurant was frenetic and not well laid out. Food items ran out daily and was not replenished quickly, if at all. Food quality was variable and a bit repetitive. Most of the waiting staff looked bored with their work, working robotically and showing little interest in their guests. A mum with two small children asked one fellow if he could push two small tables together for her, as was the case throughout the restaurant. "Impossible" he replied and walked off ... when "dad" arrived, the family did it themselves. Food labelling is poor - beware if vegetarian. Beds are firm to hard and no toppers available to soften. There was no English TV ... when we queried this, we were told "There should be ... just keep searching"... there wasn't! All this might have been OK if I'd paid for 3-star; but, I didn't.

Date of stay: September 2023
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ukart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2023

Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry to hear that your stay was not entirely satisfactory. We take note of all feedback from our guests as it helps us to improve our services. Thank you very much. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2023 via mobile

2nd time staying at this hotel. We really can’t fault it. It’s beautiful, chilled and friendly.
We stay on this coastline yearly and if you are looking for poolside entertainment and waiter services then this won’t be the hotel for you. It’s more the peaceful option. The pool is small but effective and never too overcrowded. Last time we stayed in 2018 we had a room for a family of 4, a typical 2 beds in one room, however this year we booked a standard room again and were surprised to be given what can only be described as a mini apartment with two balconies (room 407) it does have a busy street view but it’s such a great space.
The restaurant is amazing. It’s lovely to see they still have the same friendly restaurant manager, he is fabulous. The food is the best we have experienced in all the hotels in the costa brava and one of the main reasons we booked this hotel again. The waiting staff are always friendly and the entire hotel is spotless.
The spa is amazing, you get a free pass for two adults and then we added our 2 children for €8 euros each. It’s a real experience!
If you don’t rely on loads of entertainment then I urge you to book this hotel!
And their beach bar is a beautiful setting, so be sure to pop down!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2023

Emma, it is a pleasure to read your comments about our hotel. We are glad that every time you choose us you are satisfied with our services.
Thank you very much for trusting Hotel Bernat II. We look forward to welcoming you in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2023

We've just got back from a 10 day stay at the hotel. The weather was hot and it was a 1st time in Calella for us. Not knowing what to expect we assumed the area was on par with a Llorets de Mar etc and it was. The hotel was one of the best in area. It was clean, the staff were great, communal areas were great too. Air con was effective (we needed it).. The pool was small and used by the children and older kids and only a few beds are available but that didnt affect us, we went to the beach every day. The beach is a 5 min walk with shops on the way for supplies. The town centre was 5 mins in a different direction. The area is a typical coastal resort. Drinks and food are surprisingly very cheap. We went to Barcelona for a day on a bus that cost 5euros each way!!!! Be careful the sun beds on the beach are expensive, for a family of 3 with a parasol it was 29 euros per day! We quickly purchased a parasol and layed on the beach. The hotel does do a special rate too but we didnt see this til the last day! We were half board and the food was good. They tried to vary it up but did become slightly repetative. Avoid the dinner at opening time, was like feeding time at the zoo as all the children descended leaving their parents presumably to have a nice dinner later, couple this with the fact no one knows how to queue it becomes very chaotic. Overall was a very nice holiday, nice hotel and great weather! Happy family all round!

Room tip: Small pool, ask the reception for offers, beach lovers should just buy a parasol (or ask reception for any that have been left behind).
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank leecN5500KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

leecN5500KH, we are glad to read that you and your family had a happy holiday at our hotel and that you enjoyed the good weather and pleasant experiences such as visiting Barcelona.
We take note of your comments about the variety of the food and the price of the sun loungers.
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We hope you will choose us again in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2023

This was a lovely hotel to stay in. The hotel was kept spotlessly clean. The rooms are cleaned every day with fresh towels. The pool while not huge was a good size when you have small kids. There is a kids pool which is shallow and a larger pool. The sun loungers are stacked at night and so ypu do have to get your own out in the morning but there was no issue in getting space beside the pool.

The food was lovely although after a few nights it becomes a bit repetitive. The dining room staff are lovely and our 3 year old fell in love with Alba who was always ready with a cheery smile and a Hola for him.

While we didn't use the kids club during the day the girls that run it did a mini disco every night in the lobby which the kids loved and there was always some form of family entertainment after which was always enjoyable.

The spa which can be pre booked is enjoyable also.

The hotel is just yards from the beach and around a 15 minute walk to the train station.

We would definitely come back and stay in this hotel again.

Room tip: Avoid going for dinner at 7.30, the queues are long but after 8 it settles a little.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2023

Dear 398cathrynt, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you felt well cared for by our staff.
Thank you for your comment! We hope you choose us again in the future. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2023

Good place to stay, we enjoyed our holiday.

We arrived late to the hotel around midnight and they prepared a packed lunch for us which was nice.

Room - clean rooms and spacious bathroom. Housekeeping offered to clean our room multiple times, it is done to a good standard and lovely to come back to fresh bedding. The beds are really comfy and shower pressure is good. I found the only thing missing for me was a big full length mirror as there was only a small slim one.

Pool - it looks bigger on pictures however for me and my partner it was fine for us. It does say no balls however people do bring them in and unfortunately when we was there, a group of teenage lads took up the swallow part of the pool to play. This wasn’t a problem for us but I seen young kids having to swim in the deeper ends to be able to be in the pool.

Spa - we kindly got a spa voucher for 1 hour, this was nice. The spa was nice however we wouldn’t pay to use it again.

Food - we went half board and unfortunately the food got repetitive which left us going out for our breakfast lunch and tea towards the end of our holiday.

Location - the hotel is in a good location. It is around 1 hour and 15 mins from the airport and there is a bus stop close by. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars. The beach is a good distance with many of public toilets along the beach in either direction that you decide to walk. The train station is also a 20 minute walk from the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kaya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hotel Bernat II Calella, Marketing at Hotel Bernat II, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2023

353kayab, thank you very much for sharing your detailed review of your experience at our hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We take note of your suggestions.
We hope to welcome you again. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews