We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erm........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Staff brilliant !!! And rooms cleaned daily , Food good and tasty breakfast great although we spent the day at the beach which was great so didn't have lunch there dinner was @ half seven and was like the charge of the light brigade ...........

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ravydavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

just returned from a weels stay, was with a large family group, including two twelve year olds and a toddler and small infant, the hotel was ok, rooms need updating but couldnt falt the cleanliness,wich is the most important thing, location great, staff really nice, pool little small but clean, and well maintained, room overlooked really busy main road, but that doesnt bother us, but really lets its self down with the restaurant, it doesnt open untill 7.30, we went down about 7.45, amd omg, the queues,w ere snaking up the stairs, no kidding 40 mins just to get to the servery, you had to queue to be allocated a table, then join a queue to get your food, but also people queing to get desserts in front of you. and people queing to get the drinks, all in the same area, the kids were crying, people were pushing, and barging in, its a total farce, and the food wasnt worth waiting for, hardly anything for vegetarians, in fact nothing really except chips, and the odd deep fried courgette! no cheese, or anything, i complained to the rep, who tried to say i was the only person in the hotel who had a problem!! but this was the main toic of conversation round the pool. with nearly every one saying, it put them off returning, as it was like feeding time at the zoo, also tj the rep. claimed that this was normal in in spain, and it was 7,30 in every hotel all over spain as people like to sunbathe!, did point out that we we were away end of may, in spain and this was not the case, but she dismissed this, and suggested we eat later!!! why should you have to wait to eat, and also could not keep the little ones waiting,all they need to do is open earlier, and maybe move dessert counter, problems nearly solved!!! iv allways found every where else usually has two food counters, allowing guests to get served quicker, think only having the one, contributed tom the queues,so all in all hotel ok but wouldnt bother again, not when so many others to choose from, they need to up there game catering wise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the popular Hotel Santa Monica in Calella.

We are pleased to hear that in general you and your family were very happy with the standards, service and value for money offered. Many of our guests return to this hotel year after year because of the warm welcome they receive.

We are sorry that the food and food service gave reason for some dissatisfaction. It is very difficult to arrange dining times which suit all of our guests of different nationalities, but we do try our very best to ensure that the restaurant is open at the best time to suit the majority, and we advise all of our guests that the best option is to stagger dining times in order to avoid the need to queue. We thank you for your comments as all feedback is very useful to us.

We are pleased that your overall stay with us was an enjoyable one, and hope that we can welcome you back to the Santa Monica or one of the other Med Playa Hotels in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here in June for the first time. Our room was a bit dated but we had a sea view and it also has airconditioning and safe in the room which you can rent. The beds were comfy and the air con was very efficient. The pool was quite cold but sunbeds were plentiful and we never had a problem getting one even later on in the day and there were plenty of parasols. There was good entertainment during the day and they didn't hassle you if you didn;t want to take part such as giant jenga, darts etc for kids and adults. The reception staff were friendly and the bar staff were very efficient, I never had to wait to be served. The breakfast didn't have the best choice, there were no proper sausages, we had chorizos one morning and the bacon was dry and not a wide range of pastries. The dinner was a bit of a bun fight, we went down to the restaurant 15 mins before the start of service otherwise you had to queue up the stairs and wait for a table. The choice of food in the evening was good, lots of different meat dishes and lots of nice puddings with great choice of ice cream. You get an allocated table which made things easier.
Calella has a large beach which is fine shingle always plenty of room to sit, the sea does shelve away quite quickly so you need to be careful with your children. There is a nudist beach further down which was a bit of a surprise!! There is plenty of shops if you like shopping which we do, we didn't even get to the end of the shops. There is a nice square with a fountain and an old church which you can light a candle in. There are loads of bars and restaurants and even a mcdonalds! There was also bowling and crazy golf which our daughter enjoyed. Jimmiz's bar is good with lager at 1.50 a pint & really tasty milkshakes.

All in all we loved the resort and are thinking of going again next year, if they could sort out the dinner problems by maybe having 2 sittings then it would have been a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sezy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

always stayed in 4/5 star but after reading reviews thought we would give it a try. big mistake .enening meal nightmare unless you were there at 7 to queue 7.30 you had to queue up 2 3 or 4 flights of stairs not good. meat never cooked properly other food cold lived on salad and chips. had to search for clean plates as were always dirty with food on.the room nice view clean bed. dirty everywhere else. had new slippers only used in room they were that black had to leave them there. going back to resrurant asked for butter one night staff asked chef who said no i couldnt have any from then i had to get it in the morning to bring back at night.the reception and bar staff were all very nice the pool bar food was better than the resturant. the entertainment staff were far too good for that hotel they worked very hard.top line if you dont like your food and dont mind a bit of muck you would enjoy. for me and my friend never again will stick to 4/5 star.

Room Tip: ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathleenseventeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the popular Hotel Santa Monica in Calella.

We are sorry to hear that the Hotel Santa Monica did not meet with your expectations. This Hotel is a 3 Star hotel and is promoted as 3 Star in all travel publications and on our website, we are sorry if you were expecting it to be of a higher star rating.

The majority of our guests rate this hotel very highly, with many returning to stay with us year after year because of the warm welcome they receive.

We are disappointed that we were unable to ensure an enjoyable stay for you in our hotel. The Hotel Manager and his staff are always very keen to resolve any problems our guests might ave during their stay and we are sorry that this was not possible in this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Strange title for a review you might think..let me explain. Spent 10 days on this hotel late June early July and first impressions very positive. The entrance is through the pool terrace which is compact but clean. Into reception which has been recently refurbished to a good standard as have all the public areas and, I believe, some of the bedrooms. The welcome at reception was warm and genuine as it was from almost all of the staff. Top marks to reception staff, cleaners, dining room and most bar staff. The bar staff were short handed at times and some guests can be very demanding which have led to there being one rather grumpy employee. Almost forgot the animations team led by the flamboyant Orlando. Very hard working and some of the evening shows were very good. Felt sorry for the girls during the day trying to get guests to become involved in poolside games as they didn't have much luck sometimes. Back to the hotel itself, the bedrooms are undergoing gradual refurbishment although our room was a bit tired looking with chipped and peeling paint on the balcony. The room itself was clean and comfortable which is all I really ask, the cleaners doing a great job. One of the best poolsidesI have ever sprawled around as there was no evidence of loungers being claimed at 5am. It was easy to stroll down after breakfast and get a lounger. Behaviour in the pool was also first class with little or no bombing and splashing of the poolside guests. So far so positive I hear you say, what could possibly be wrong with this hotel? Well here goes...the restaurant is a disaster of biblical proportions despite the food being of a general high standard both in quality, variety and quantity. The problem lies with the layout and the queueing which results. The dining room has seating for 176 guests but there can be over 500 people wanting fed in the high season. There is a system in place where each guest or group of guests is allocated a table by the maitre d' at each and every meal. Unfortunately dinner only lasts for 90 mins so there is a log jam at the entrance and also at the servers where the desserts are laid out on the servers BEFORE the main courses. This means that once the dinners are in full swing, people queueing for mains have to join a queue behind those waiting for dessert. This means that there are queues forming for the dining room 30 mins before it opens and they are still queueing to get in shortly before the dining room closes. Apparently the dining room was open for dinner for an hour longer last year and there were no problems. This is something which must be addressed by management because I spoke to a lot of the UK guests and none of them intend to return. This is a great pity because in all other respects this could be a really good hotel. It also has the benefit of a great location, minutes from the beach and the bustling heart of the town, yet in a quiet street which leads to a restful nights sleep. There has been reference on this site to rowdy teenagers in the hotel but I witnessed none of this. The only unruly behaviour was caused by some people who felt that they had no need to join the queue at dinner and boldly marched to the head of each and every queue. Sometimes they were put in their place by guests, but this is the responsibility of management who were posted missing when needed. A great shame.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the main road which didn't bother me but some guests might prefer to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

we stayed at this hotel from 5th july till 19th july.There were five of us three adults and two children.We had booked two rooms and had asked for rooms together with a sea view but on arrival we were given keys for room 825 for my wife and myself plus one of our grandchildren,this room was to the side of the hotel overlooking a derelict building site.My daughter was given the key to 215 which is on the rear of the hotel which overlooked an enbankment and on a busy main road.We went back to reception and asked if we could have a room change but were told the hotel was full,but I will give the hotel their dues they did move us three days later to much superior rooms.The thing that really bugged me about this hotel is that the restaurant opens at 7.30pm for dinner and ever night we were there everybody had to queue and the queue always backed up the stairs,then when you finally got into the restaurant you had to queue to get your dinner (and of course you always had the queue jumpers) which caused a bit of friction between a lot of the holidaymakers.So be prepared!!!!!!!.As for the food most of it is preformed meat and the veg is frozen prepacked.Do not try the so called gammon steaks!!!!.The only meat i enjoyed was the roast beef,it was really good.The location is good.I do not understand why they do not do two sittings at dinner time as i think this would help the dinnertime fiasco.I can put up with a lot but i will Not go back to or recommend this hotel.In all my years of going abroad i have NEVER had to queue for my dinner.

Room Tip: sea views are good,the rear of the hotel has a busy main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the popular Hotel Santa Monica in Calella.

We are sorry to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations. Many of our guests return to this hotel year after year because of the warm welcome and the standards and value for money they receive.

We are sorry that this was not your opinion of our hotel. The hotel manager and his staff are very keen to resolve any issues our guests have whilst they are in the hotel, we are sorry that this was not possible in this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

My friend and I visited this hotel beginning of July. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few minutes stroll to the seafront and plenty of shops nearby.
Our room was basic but very clean, would advise you ask for a seaview room. The maid came in to clean the room every day and gave us fresh towels.
Food was very nice, there was always plenty of choice but do expect to queue at tea time as it gets very busy.
There is entertainment both day and night for adults and children and the entertainment team were excellent. The hotel staff were all very friendly. If you go to Barcelona by train, it does get very busy so be prepared to stand.

Room Tip: Would advise a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gemma U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
458 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#10 of 43 in Calella
1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#3 of 43 in Calella
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#8 of 43 in Calella
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Volga
Hotel Volga
#1 of 43 in Calella
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica

Address: Avda del Turisme 72 - 78, 08370 Calella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Calella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £36 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Hotel
Santa Monica Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing