We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Holiday again”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have recently got back from our third year here. The entertainment team are great - run by Fernando who is very funny and when we were there assisted by Amy and Tatti who are great and also Albert who mainly did the children's activities. For adults there is rifle shooting, pistol shooting, archery, darts, sjoelen, shuffle board, water polo, bowling and jenga and for children there is darts, crossbow, jenga, bowling, water polo, sjoelen and shuffleboard. The entertainment is done mainly in English and then translated for the other nationalities that are there.
They have a mini disco and games for children in the evenings and then the main entertainment follows - the in-house shows were definitely best (and funny) but the ones they brought in were also good.
The bar staff are very friendly, especially Ray, Monica and Jose - and they are also very helpful about the local area.
Reception staff were also very helpful and all spoke English.
The rooms are basic, but spotlessly clean - the ones overlooking the pool are best as they are quieter than the ones overlooking the road.
There is a wide range of food in the restaurant which catered for all nationalities there and the salads and puddings were especially good.
The pool and site in general are quite small but this is great for families as the children can have independence without getting lost.
There is a five minute walk to the town and the beach - although water shoes are recommended for the beach as the sand is very rough.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for families with children and teenagers - the staff are very friendly and make sure everyone has a good holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Val G
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Hotel Santa Monica.
We are pleased to hear that this popular hotel continues to offer your family an enjoyable holiday and that you come back to stay with us year after year.
We hope to see you again in 2015!
Kind regards
Sue, Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    279
    150
    48
    39
See reviews for
339
213
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I would like to thank all the staff at the Santa Monica for making us feel very valued as guests. we stayed for 14 nights and had a very enjoyable time. my grandson ( sten ) had a fantastic time joining in all the games provided and he really enjoyed the pool and is now able to swim. my son also had a great time and though we went on a five star brake in February he thought this was better value for money and he also enjoyed the entertainment. We have already decided that we would visit again. Though the food wasn't always to our taste that wasn't a problem as we would either go out to eat or order a takeaway. the evening entertainment was good, plenty of clubs to go to in the evening. once again thank you for such a great time.

Room Tip: always ask for a room above the fourth floor if you want a sea viwe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bustterboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A no frills hotel offering great VFM. Excellent location being 5 mins from both beach and shops. Restaurant is self service with a good choice of food for all tastes. Rooms basic but clean. Reception staff (all English speaking - even the Scottish one) excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor (above restaurant) have an extended balcony with sun beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BazandShaz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServiceMgr, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear BazandShaz2010
We are pleased to hear that the Hotel Santa Monica ticked all the boxes for you and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to this hotel or one of our other Med Playa Hotels in the future.
Kind regards
Sue, Guest Relations Team, Med Playa Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here from the 1st-15th july, what a fantastic hotel with great staff and great food choice, this was our first time in calella and would defo return, we had a fantastic time and would like to thank all the staff from the cleaners bar staff and reception, well done santa monica.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neilanmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thought we had stayed at some of the best hotels...but this one has been the best so far. Room was clean, tidy with balcony over looking pool area. room cleaned every morning .Meals were varied and plentiful.....eaten far too much!!!! Reception staff friendly and patient....needed the spare key!!! Definitely stay there again!!!
Top tip: Definitely take the train to Barcelona 27 Euro.......hour train ride with three open top bus tours included around Barcelona

Room Tip: All rooms had balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Babediana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
runcorn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

stayed here a few times now nice staff very friendly , asked for room on first floor good room and neil arranged it for us. thank you neil. only complaint dinner is served a bit late six thirty would be better, but had a great holiday and will go back, never heard any noise at night, plus you only have to ask for more bedding and they always provide it for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

As a regular visitor to Calella, I have become very used to some very average hotels being described as 3 star. Well the Santa Monica is the exception to the rule. Although a fairly old hotel it has been well maintained. The cleanliness is immaculate and the service provided by the staff was first class. The food was of a very good quality and well presented. Although there could be a wait to get into the dining room early evening this could easily be avoided by going down slightly later. The rooms were adequate and the servicing of the room was excellent. I will certainly be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for poolside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#8 of 43 in Calella
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#4 of 43 in Calella
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar Blau
Hotel Mar Blau
#5 of 43 in Calella
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace
H.TOP Calella Palace
#25 of 43 in Calella
1,919 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Maritim
GHT Hotel Maritim
#14 of 43 in Calella
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica
Address: Avda del Turisme 72 - 78, 08370 Calella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Calella
#8 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Hotel
Santa Monica Calella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing