We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Agents view”
Review of Hotel Volga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Volga
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Calella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Yes Iam a travel agent and I would like to give an honest opinion of this hotel. I arrived just in time to go in to
dinner as this was a 3 star hotel my expectations were not high. The dining room has a light and airey feel and the food was excellent. Plenty of choice hot or cold as the days went by I was suprised by the changes in
the options given with each meal time. The staff in the whole of the hotel were pleasant and always helpful .
The rooms are a little bland but clean with a good bathroom .The shower was a bit odd it went hot and then a little cold but not extreeme so more annoying than anything, On the whole a pleasant hotel and well worth the
money and I would go back. I always ask my clients if they would go back and if they say yes ,I am happy that they had a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paris027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Nice hotel. Everything is clean. The rooms are spacious. I stayed here with school. Together with 3 other girls I stayed in a 4-person room. Those rooms had the smallest balcony, but it was nice anyway. The food was absolutely delicious! There's a lot of choice, especially the breakfast! The only negative thing was that you had to pay for real orange juice. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A very good hotel for the money.Pleasant staff,nice bar,pool small,shaded in the day.Mainly spanish people who tend to be older age group.No problems with noise.We asked for a room with a seaview but were disappointed with the balcony, as very small and on the side of the hotel overlooking the street.I suspect the best rooms overlooking the pool were more expensive.The hotel is located in the old town and although near to the beach, it is a 10-15min walk to the new town,where it is more lively. Calella is very spanish,full of spanish restaurants, with only 4 english bars,mainly spanish holidaymakers and eastern europeans.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool have better balconies,more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hotel has good location, perfect cousine and polite staff. Sometimes there was a night noise from railway station. The nice town, kind people, a great weather! A lot of good small cafes and reustarants! Attention! A very deep bottom of sea it's not suitable for childrens

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ROman227930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This Hotel is a great location, 5min walk from the town centre, and 10min from the beach. The Hotel itself is very clean and tidy, but be aware of add extras. The food is a buffet for breakfast and dinner, with a vast variety to choose from. The staff are great fun and friendly. The pool is nice, clean and very warm, but not of a great size, with plenty of loungers to use.
All in had a great stay, and a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank masterkendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel in period 02.06.13 - 12.06.13.
I've booked privilege room. My room look like at photo on the hotel site. It was very comfortable and nice (5th floor).
I really liked the fact that the maid had seen and heard, but in the room was always well cleaned. Just delighted the staff: very responsive and friendly people. Almost all of the staff speak English, which made it easier solution to some problems.
I would love to be stopped and this hotel again :-)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise and have beautiful view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ViktoryiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my wife and 6 years old son.
We arrived late at night around midnight so we didn’t get supper but were greeted with two plates of fruits which was nice.We booked 2 beds standard room and found only two beds in the room although they knew its 3 of us coming ;-(
As it was too late in a day to sort out bed for son we slept all together and 3rd bed was sorted next day after breakfast.
I’ve asked for higher floor for better view, we get 3rd floor with sea view I knew it overlooking Calella trainstation but according to previous reviews it was quiet station and it was throughout our stay.
The hotel itself is generally good condition. All areas are immaculately clean. Rooms were cleaned daily. The rooms are fairly small but not impractical only downsides TV is tiny and fridge extra charge along with safe. Walls are thin, we had a problem with neighbours knocking on a wall and couple of times concierge knocking to ask reduce TV volume as next door old neighbours were going to bed early around 8:30 pm.
We had a sea view room and it had a lovely big balcony. Modern and wonderful area to sit by the pool with comfortable sunbeds. Open air Pool appears quite small but in our experience it was not heavily used and therefore this did not present a problem.
Great breakfast and dinner. The food is good with a lot of choice to suit every taste. Very helpful and nice staff. Mind you drinks at restaurant in evening extra charge too. Staff partly russian-speaking. Most other guests were Russians and Spanish.
Beach 5 mins walk - through the subway under the railways. Sunbeds with discount for the Volga guests. Beach club provided sun loungers for a reasonable €3 per day including towel and sunshade. The hotel is situated no more than 5 minutes walk from Calella beach where we spent most of time. You get three (shampain) cava at The Volga beach bar. Beach itself is very clean with a few nice beach bars along it. Evening entertainment in a hotel was ok but mostly for children, Friday night was fantastic specially evening meal and later entertainment of Spanish flamenco.
It is also only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel to the main shopping area of Calella which also has a number of nice cafe's & bars.
The train station is nearby making it easy to visit Barcelona.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Calella

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms catch the sun. Street facing will be quieter, but shaded most of the time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calella hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Playa
Hotel Kaktus Playa
#2 of 43 in Calella
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Calella Palace & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bernat II
Hotel Bernat II
#9 of 43 in Calella
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
H.TOP Amaika Superior
H.TOP Amaika Superior
#11 of 43 in Calella
1,420 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B El Pekinaire
B&B El Pekinaire
#3 of 43 in Calella
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neptuno & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Volga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Volga

Address: C/ Jovara 350, 08370 Calella, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Calella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Calella
#1 Luxury Hotel in Calella
#2 Family Hotel in Calella
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calella
Price Range: £48 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Volga 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Volga is located in the city center, about 50km from Barcelona and Girona. It is at 100m from the beach and 2 minutes from downtown, with shops, restaurants, bars and many tourist attractions. It's also near the train station, at only 50m, which connects with Barcelona city , the airport and around the coastal area, is the perfect place to relax and explore the area. The hotel has a pool and terrace with sun loungers, sun umbrellas and bar service, WIFI throughout the building, air conditioning, heating and parking (on request). We also have a spacious restaurant, you will find a Free buffet for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as our famous Theme Nights. The hotel also offers a Beach Club on the Beach with special offers and promotions for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Volga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Volga Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing